We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beresford Hotel Dublin”
Review of Beresford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beresford Hotel
Ranked #102 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
“Beresford Hotel Dublin”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is in a great location for accessing all public transport......buses, trams and the DART (train). Buses to and from the airport for 6Euros one way across the way. Staff are very helpful. Room clean and comfortable, and hot showers. Bar attached to the hotel, and restaurant within the hotel. All reasonably priced, although Ireland is expensive.

Room Tip: ask for a room above the first floor ....the noise from the lane to one side and the tram line on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 113MariaGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear 113MariaGG,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. I am delighted that the location suited you well and you enjoyed your experience in Dublin. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Beresford Hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    376
    256
    122
    78
See reviews for
144
457
57
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

On a business trip, Wed 2nd to Fri 4th July 2014. The location of the hotel was great for my business trip exactly five minutes walk round the corner.
I arrived in Dublin early and I asked if I could leave my suitcase until I check in later, the hotel said that was not a problem and looked after my case and checked me in for later.
My room (222) was large with two double beds, very comfortable. I was surprised to see a big box telly instead of a flat screen, the TV worked and I could get BBC1 news. The TV remote did not work, I think the batteries had run out. The hotel and room looked worn but were recently decorated. The wifi stopped working on the first night, the reception said they would contact the suppliers. Eventually the wifi was working and once connected the wifi could be used on all my devices.
The food from the cafe/bar was sufficient, has burger and chips, which was served quickly and was edible. The next night I went to the hotel restaurant and was very pleased with the menu suggestions and the food I ordered.
The staff were very pleasant and polite. The reception staff were very helpful when not overworked or on the phone.
Overall I liked my stay at the hotel but if I were going to Dublin again I would choose a better location for the cafe's, bars and restaurants.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Ray O,

Thank you very much for commenting on your recent stay at the Beresford Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your food experience in our Le Monde cafe/bar and in our Italian restaurant Il Vignardo. I hope your business went well. We all hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Beresford Hotel on your next business trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel has good location with tram and bus links very close by, in fact so close you can hear every movement. I fully accept that the hotel can do little about being next to a transport hub but it makes no attempt whatsoever to mitigate the problem, nor are the staff interested in giving assistance where a little effort would make a difference. The weather was superb (20 C plus) the problem was the windows acted like a greenhouse in the room no problem, I thought, switch on the air conditioning - it did not work. Open the windows - consequence, hear the bus terminus & trams is all their glory ! Have a bath - no hot water ! Well, this is not strictly speaking true; the answer was to turn on the hot water tap only, fill the bath, empty then repeat the process by which time sufficient hot water had arrived into the room to facilitate a bath. I was left wondering the purpose of the cold water tap ! Room TV channels very limited with no directory as to available channels. On the positive side the room size was good & clean. Breakfast good. The big disappointment was that I mentioned to hot water problem to reception only to find they were fully aware but for whatever reason had done nothing to rectify the situation but were happy to take your money for an inadequate facility.

Room Tip: Avoid room 216, ask for a room away from the bus terminus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Gerard H,

Please accept my sincere apologies for your poor experience in Beresford Hotel. I am grateful to you for bringing this to my attention and I would be even in more debt to you if you can contact me directly on my email receptionmanager@beresfordhotelifsc.com as I would like to discuss these issues with you in more detail. Once again I sincerely apologize for our many shortcomings.

Yours Gratefully,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We taped there when going to a concert in the O2.
Hotel from front perhaps a bit dated but rooms were small but fine for a 1 night stay.
Very clean.
Staff very pleasant and really wanted you to have a good stay.
5 minutes walk from train station and O'Connell Street.
Luas and bus station 1 minute away so good base for exploring or heading to O2.
Breakfast pom a bit dull but food fine.
We didn't try restaurant or bar but seemed reasonable.
Can be noisy with DART close by.

Room Tip: Room away from side DART passes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenskier123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Sfc133,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Beresford Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay, all the team was friendly and that the location was convenient for your visit. The team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We were booking last minute and chose Beresford because of its location.

Reception were robotic and didn't really answer our questions.

Room was clean but very noisy all the time and the window overlooked the Luas line and the Garda station.

Shower was unbelievably powerful and the highlight of our stay. Don't know how water charges will effect this hotel

No residents bar so any drink after 11 had to be consumed in the bedroom or the lobby which seemed to upset a few people each evening. We found this very strange as there was obviously money to be made.

Breakfast seemed to suit Europeans more than Irish and bread rolls were stale.

No sign of a manager all weekend anywhere in the hotel.

Would not return in a hurry

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thatsjustmyopinion13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Thatsjustmyopinion13,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. It is through feedback such as yours that we can continue to improve our level of customer service. I am terribly sorry for the experience you had regarding robotic reception staff. This is not the usual high standard of customer care we provide. I ensure you that all your feedback will be investigated and utilized to the full extent. I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you encountered during your stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Needed a hotel relatively central without spending a fortune and this looked ideal. Reception gives a good first impression which is not quite what you expect when looking from the outside and the room was well appointed and very spacious albeit looking a little tired in places.
Had a room on the side street (on the right hand side looking at the front) 2nd floor and for a Monday night it was like trying to sleep in the middle of a railway station......bear in mind that it is right outside the railway station and the trains literally pass the window (2nd floor) about 25mtrs from the room. so between the passing night clubbers, late commuters and bin lorries, hotel supply trucks etc I think I had about an hours sleep in total. if there is such a thing, ask for a quiet room. overall the hotel is fine for a night or two, breakfast was good and staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trek700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Trek700,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that your room was too noisy, as you mentioned we do not have quiet rooms and I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. Guest feedback is very important to us at Beresford Hotel. Please be assured your comments will be investigated and utilized fully.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel has a great location near restaurants and the bus terminal . It is a short walk to the nearby tourist areas. However, it might be a little too close to the bus terminal for we could hear horns throughout the night. Room was small, but comfortable. It was a bit drafty near the window facing the street. Overall, a great place to stay if your room is solely a place to sleep. We would go back.

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room that does not have a window facing the terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoSoxChick1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear BoSoxChick1984,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. I am delighted that the location suited you well and you enjoyed your experience in Dublin. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Beresford Hotel on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#88 of 151 in Dublin
612 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#80 of 151 in Dublin
1,119 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Star Hotel
#63 of 151 in Dublin
2,643 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 151 in Dublin
1,413 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#65 of 151 in Dublin
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Hotel

Property: Beresford Hotel
Address: 21 Store St, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beresford Hotel is a superb hotel in the very heart of Dublin City Centre. Overlooking the magnificent Custom House, Beresford Hotel is the perfect location for anyone who wants the city on their doorstep just minutes from O'Connell Street and Temple Bar and opposite the Bus, Luas and Train stations. The O2 Arena, Croke Park and a host of tourist attractions as well as Restaurants, Bars and Shops are all within walking distance of the hotel. The Aviva Stadium, Dublin Mountains and sandy beaches are a short train ride away. So whether you are looking for a city break to Dublin, are attending a special event or fancy a shopping trip to the city, stay with Beresford Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing