We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor House Dublin
Ranked #24 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

After doing tons of research on where I should stay for two nights in Dublin, I finally settled on the Anchor Guest House and I'm glad I did! The location of this place is great-truly around the corner from the main bus station (which you can easily get to from Dublin Airport via the Airlink bus) and just north of the River Liffey. I got there around 11a after a long flight and, although my room wasn't ready yet, I was greeted warmly and invited to leave my luggage while I left to start exploring. When I did get to check-in a few hours later, I found a nice, clean room with an equally clean bathroom. I was surprised at the size of the bed at first as I thought it was a king, but it turned out to be two twins connected to make a king (or at least that's what it felt like). The bed wasn't uncomfortable, but it was a bit too hard for my liking, but that's a risk you run at every hotel. The en-suite was very nice and clean, but also very small. I'm not a short person, so I found it difficult to use the cubicle-like shower, but I managed. The only other issues I experienced with the hotel were the lack of a lift (stairs are tough with a heavy bag to carry!) and the fact that the wifi didn't work at all. I did bring the wifi issue up with someone on staff, but he wasn't sure what to do, so he asked me to troubleshoot, which I did, but it didn't work. I was able to connect to another network though, so it worked out.

Despite these few smaller issues, I still had a great stay. The breakfast in the morning was good, but not great. And, as others have pointed out, there are no meat options (sausage, ham, bacon, etc.) on the menu. I didn't mind that, but it's worth pointing out. With a great location, a great staff and an overall comfortable experience, I would recommend the Anchor Guest House!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffE1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    272
    112
    43
    19
See reviews for
107
248
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

My sister and I visit Dublin once a year and found this family run guest house by chance several years ago and after our first visit wouldn't stay anywhere else.
We always receive a warm Irish welcome and are made to feel at home.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds are very comfortable.
Breakfast is generous and served until 10.30 every day.
The location is ideal as it's a few minutes walk to the main bus station and 10 minutes walk to Connolly station and being in the heart of Dublin most places are easily accessible on foot.
We always have peace of mind as there's someone there 24 hours a day to let you in so can come and go as you please without a curfew to worry about.
Anyone who wants an Irish welcome should come here as it's a traditional Georgian guest house without the clinical feel of a big chain hotel.
The Anchor is great value and we would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We had a great time at Anchor Guesthouse: our room was very clean and beds comfortable, breakfast very very good, and all people was polite and very nice, always available to give infos. Absolutely my best accomodation in a foreign country. When we're back to Dublin, we'll stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeoTheOne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Travelling with friends following a band on tour, this little guest house was a great place to start. Whilst it was no frills/basic, the staff were friendly and always willing to help.
The main house has no lift so as my room was on the top floor it was a hike, especially after a few drinks. As we were lucky to have good weather, my room was very hot and opening the window did mean a lot of traffic noise.
This place was basic but welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobyloo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

On B&B row near the bus station and within walking distance of all major tourist sites in downtown Dublin! The staff was very friendly and answered all my questions and provided a very clear map of the area. The bathroom was very compact, but it worked and the room was one of the largest of the 14 B&Bs I stayed in on my trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jctcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thanks for you kind comments. Its always lovely to get positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed two nights at Anchor Guest House. Easy walking distance to downtown Dublin (Trinity College/Temple Bar areas). It is a pretty far walk to the Guinness Storehouse. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The breakfast menu was very basic, just enough to get your day started. Situated on a busy street, there is some noise at all hours.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevina994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrahotel, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
THank you for your response. We are located in a very central place in the centre of Dublin close to all of the main Districts. Thanks for your comments, they are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed here for our first night in Dublin before we drove to the west coast. We were able to store our luggage since our room was not ready yet (it was still early). The person who checked us in was very nice. She gave us helpful directions about how to get to the places we wanted to see. When we got back and were able to check in, the room that we stayed in was average. It was spacious but absolutly no view. The breakfast was not worth the money that we paid so SKIP the breakfast. I am sure that you can get something from somewhere else alot better for alot less money. This place felt neutal to me. I did not love it but I did not hate it but I did NOT like the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#85 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Egans House
#26 of 162 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
#51 of 162 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor House Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor House Dublin

Property: Anchor House Dublin
Address: 49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor House Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3* family run guesthouse in Dublin City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anchor House Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor House Dublin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing