We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveler rating
203
318
138
53
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
318
138
53
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house leave your key b bs temple bar sitting room o'connell street central dublin trinity college flights of stairs airlink bus north side few minutes walk two nights yogurt late at night rental car across the river
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 735 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

We are here on vacation and found the owners, staff, and facilities to be very good value . The room was clean and the management was efficient . The location is very convenient to most attractions . Dublin is a prohibitively expensive place to visit but I found this accommodation to very reasonably priced, clean and comfortable, and ideally situated .

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank ustraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joan c, Owner at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here in the Anchor and hope to see you here in the near future.

Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017

We were put in a very small room that was up the stairs, thru narrow halls, up a small elevator and around the corner. Don't bring large luggage. The breakfast service was too late in the morning and slow. This B&B is way overpriced vs all the other hotels we used during an eleven day trip. Find something else!

Room Tip: No good rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJFKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joan c, Owner at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience in our B&B. Unfortunately, these issues could have been resolved if brought to our attention during your stay. If you had an issue with your room we would have appreciated being told and would have done our best to accommodate you. If we had been informed also, we could have facilitated an earlier breakfast, which we do regularly for our guests on a tight schedule.
Thanks again for the review and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a very nice stay at the Anchor House in Dublin. The welcome and attention from the management here was second to none, everyone was very helpful and pleasant from arrival to departure and couldn't do enough to help all through our stay. The accommodation was very well maintained and well equipped with huge Georgian rooms and comfortable beds and the breakfast was plentiful and good quality served up in the dining rooms downstairs. There were just two issues for us which prevented the full 5 stars, both of which were out of the hotels hands to be fair, but necessary to mention. First was the location, whilst excellent for the heart of a Dublin just minutes away from bars and shops it was also surrounded by hostels and some of the lower standards of hotels meaning walking around late at night was not one of the most comfortable experiences. The other issue was noise from the street in the morning which made it quite difficult to sleep much past 6am as the noise from traffic out the front was quite loud and the Georgian sash windows did little to keep it out. We were in a lower front facing room so probably bore the brunt of the problem, but did have some trouble sleeping in. Neither of these things would prevent us from stopping here again, as we felt the hotel was excellent value for money, but think we would take some ear plugs next time and perhaps use taxis late at night to get back to the hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank gino71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joan c, Owner at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Dear Gino,

Thank you so, so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly in our B&B.

As you mentioned these issues are out of our hands but we do try and recognise these issues and help our guests as much as possible.

We are really looking forward to seeing you here soon again.

Thanks again Gino,
Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017

Friendly people, quick breakfast service, speedy wifi were the pros of this place. Our room was #15 in the house in the back. It was clean with white linens and 4 pillows per bed. But is was dark, and overlooked a creepy alley-type space. We did not feel 100% safe here the first night due to the noise. There is no air circulation, and we had to sleep with the french door to the outside open, which is not safe.

The location is good, walking distance to most places in Dublin. Front door was always locked, and needed to ring the bell to be let in. Also, every time we left the building they asked us to drop off our room key, and then pick it up when we came back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tartan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joan c, Owner at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your review of the Anchor. We appreciate your feedback. We do request the room keys from our guests and a locked front door for extra security for our guests as security is our number one priority so we hope you understand how necessary this is on such a busy street in inner-Dublin city.

The lack of air circulation was not brought to our attention during your stay, if it had we may have been able to help. Overall, I hope you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you here again soon in the Anchor.

Best wishes,
Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

This B&B is located 1/4K from the Connolly Train Station, around the corner from the bus station (with reasonable, direct service to the airport), around another corner from the tram line, a short walk to O'Connor St and the Temple Bar area. Plus it is on a City Bus line! It is walking distance to numerous restaurants and tourist attractions.

The staff are helpful and do all they can to make sure your visit is pleasant. There is someone at reception all night.

There are 20+ rooms. The ones in the 'newer' building are much quieter than those in the original Townhouse.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joan c, Owner at Anchor House Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2017

Dear Sarah,

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here in the Anchor and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews