We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Oh, my--very swank!"”
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“"Oh, my--very swank!"”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I'm a fan of small, friendly, quirky hotels, but I will make an exception for The Westbury. It's large, still friendly, but definitely not quirky. In fact, this Dublin Hotel could be located in any large, metropolitan city. Every amenity you might wish for is here in abundance. The room, though not large, was well-appointed, recently decorated, and extremely comfortable. I had a lovely night's sleep all three nights I was there, and that's what important when you're traveling. I like to be on a higher floor (and if you know Dublin, you know buildings are NOT tall there), but the second floor room presented no problems at all as far as noise level. The huge, glossy lobby with truly stunning fresh flower arrangements also had cozy corner tables and plush sofas and arm chairs, some by expansive windows overlooking the streets of the city. I found the desk staff to be businesslike yet quite approachable and always willing to help. I needed to re-book a transcontinental United flight in Business/First Class. This was done with a minimum of effort by the competent concierge who did NOT want to accept a generous tip for his efforts. I left one anyway, which he said would go into the common tip drawer to be shared by the concierge staff at week's end. Very nice of him. Breakfast was both sinful and plentiful, typical of the best Irish hotels. The fresh fruit was beautifully presented in small, perfect, seedless slices. Scones and chocolate croissants were light, flaky, and heavenly. Fresh juice and yogurt parfaits were cool and refreshing. It was perfectly suited to a busy time schedule, as you serve yourself. Coffee was strong and flavorful, frequently replenished. Real cream and Irish butter added to the luxury of a delightful morning repast. None of this luxury comes cheap, but if you want a first-rate experience, look no further than the Westbury. One final note: After dining out on the road so much, I was ready for room-service one evening. If you are an American craving a taste of home with an Irish accent, go for the Angus cheeseburger and fries. Again, it won't come cheap (with a nice tip and room service charge, it ran me 30 Euros), but the ridiculously thick, juicy patty on a sweet, brioche-style roll with all the trimmings and steak-cut crispy fries on the side was almost...well, let's just say I was glad to be alone as I ate so no one would be distracted by the "yummy" sounds I couldn't help making! It even came with a fresh flower in a vase, which I put on the nightstand to remind me of a spectacular meal. If you visit the Westbury, I am confident you won't be disappointed. It's well-situated near Trinity and is a quick walk to a plethora of luxury shops, pubs and dining establishments. And do yourself a favor--spend 30 Euros on the cheeseburger. I promise you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Always go as high as you can and stay as far away from the elevator as possible. I don't think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YourTravelingFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to have you with us, thank you for choosing the Westbury Hotel during your recent visit to Dublin and thank you for your extensive review.

I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and you thought we were perfectly located to explore and enjoy our wonderful city. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your self so much and that the cheese burger was such a hit with you. I will pass your wonderful comments to the team to enjoy.

Your personal recommendation means the world to us here at the Westbury and I am delighted that you took the time to write about your stay.

We hope to welcome you back very soon !

Kind regards

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,837
    741
    197
    67
    41
See reviews for
682
1,699
150
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Interesting hotel, quite amazing bar, spacious great service and a lovely entrance with welcoming staff.

Central location in the heart of Dublin too

Rooms distinctly average - plush, perhaps but not stand out.

Breakfast - oh dear service with a snarl and SLOW

Is it worth over €200 per night - possibly not

Improve the rooms and then yes

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank southbank10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at The Westbury Hotel.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay,however I am disappointed that we failed to meet all your expectations. I would like to assure you that I will take your comments on board and address them accordingly, thank you for your feedback.

I hope we have the opportunity and the privilege of welcoming you back again on your next trip to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

At 6 a.m., the end of a flight from Oklahoma USA, we needed a place to crash. Though our room wasn't yet available, the friendly staff provided more than we needed (couches, food, directions and info, etc.) during our hours-long wait.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review following your visit to us recently,

I am glad that we were able to facilitate your early arrival and that you managed to grab a power nap before heading out to enjoy the city. Our location is wonderful with all the shops restaurants and bars within walking distance to the hotel.

I am delighted that my colleagues were able to offer you assistance and recommendations to enjoy and thanks again for your great recommendations.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our first time in Dublin.... A quaint city with oodles of oomph... And the Westbury only made it better! The hotel is located in the heart of the city... Everything is walking distance.... All the best bars, restaurants and shopping destinations. The rooms are fantastic, the staff helpful and courteous and the service top notch. Definately a hotel to recommend......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelindia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great review posted yesterday and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is wonderfully located right off of Grafton street with lots of shopping,Bars and restaurants nearby.Dublin is very walk able and had no problems seeing all the sights and enjoying all the bars!! The room was very nice and big with a comfortable bed and a very comfortable sitting area. we enjoyed the nespresso machine in the morining and the turn down chocolates at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robashwootton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for the kind review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with others on Trip advisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I have shared your kind words with all the team here at the Westbury and they join me in thanking you.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and thank you again for your great review.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights. The staff is well-trained and eager to please. My family was treated very well. Beautiful and luxurious room with every amenity. Food was excellent. The location is perfect for sight seeing and there are great restaurants nearby. This was our first trip to Dublin. We will stay at the Westbury again on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review following your recent five night stay at the Westbury Hotel.

I was really delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time here and especially glad that you thought the team were welcoming and the service met your expectations.

We look forward to having you back again and I hope that we are now your number one choice of hotel when visiting Dublin.

Thank you again for your great review.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

First time in Dublin. Difficult to find by road as it is in the deep center of the city: walk only area.
However the room where big, nice, clean. Located very well, and quet, and the staff absolutely perfect.
Will get defitively back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the wonderful review following your first visit to Dublin and for taking the time to tell other about your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am genuinely thrilled that you thought the experience was so good and thank you for your recommendation to other travellers.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to what I hope is now your home away from home in Dublin.

Best wishes

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,241 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing