We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous City Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous City Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We arrived very tired late at night after a long road journey. The Staff were wonderful. The Manager was in reception and we were too late to order food off the lounge menu so he arranged for the Waiter to bring the room service menu to us. We ate in the lounge with a nice bottle of wine. The bedroom was very comfortable with an espresso coffee machine, we had never used one before, it was very good, we even ordered one when we got home. The reception staff, the waiters and the porters were exceptional. The Porter parked the car in the car park and returned it to us when needed. It is so close to all Grafton Street shops and St Stephens Green. Highly recommended even bottles of water for journey when we left.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Pat204,

Great review thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit to The Westbury Hotel.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and I am particularly pleased that our service was a great highlight and that we impressed you throughout your visit. We are delighted that we managed to deliver exceptional service that was warm and personal and that all my colleagues went the extra mile to facilitate all your requirements with a smile.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again during the year and thanking you again for your wonderful review.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,741
    717
    194
    62
    39
See reviews for
652
1,648
144
586
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great rooms, helpful staff and lovely afternoon tea. This hotel is situated on Grafton Street and close to St Stephens Green so it is very easy to find. Lovely hotel with a feeling of luxury throughout.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Elisabeth M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to The Westbury Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you managed to also enjoy our wonderful afternoon tea. We are indeed blessed with our location and it is great that you managed to get out and about and visit the many boutique style shops and the great array of restaurants and bars and museums that are all in walking distance to the hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again during 2014.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

From the moment we arrived we knew we were in safe hands. The greeting by the doorman was warm and friendly. He helped us with our luggage to Reception, chatting all the way. Thomas checked us in very smoothly again with a very warm welcome. The warm towels were an added bonus. We then met Joseph, Guest Relations Manager who showed us to our room. Have to say Joseph is the face of The Westbury and made our stay very memorable. He soon found out our 4 night stay was to relax and find good old fashioned local pubs. He produced daily lists for us of different pubs to try. Each were fantastic and served the 'good pint' we were after! He even managed to get us a table for Afternoon Tea and left a note in our room that the reservation was made.

Afternoon Tea, breakfast and of course the cocktails at the bar were all first class. Service in all these areas was also faultless. The bartenders make a mean espressos martini!

This was our 6th visit to Dublin, but our first to The Westbury. Have to say we have finally found our Dublin hotel. Can't fault the location either!

Perfection.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDullWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear TheDullWitch,

Thank you for taking the time to post your fabulous review on Trip advisor.

I am so thrilled that you have found your home away from home and I am delighted that all of my colleagues went the extra mile to make your stay all the more comfortable and enjoyable.

Our staff are indeed a terrific asset to the hotel and I am delighted that they exceeded your expectations and that they helped to make your stay all the more special.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Our trip to Dublin was made all the more beautiful and special because of our wonderful accommodation and exceptional service. Our bedroom was well appointed and had a good sized bathroom.

Joseph, the PR manager, along with the rest of the staff, provided excellent, warm service and great travel advice.

Highly recommended!

Vijay and Jörn.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Vijay N

What a great review thank you for telling others about your experience at The Westbury Hotel.

I am thrilled that you are looking forward to visiting us again and that Joseph and the rest of the team were all on hand to assist you during your stay and that they helped to make your stay all the more special.

We look forward to having you stay with us again and thanks again for the great review.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Myself an three of my friends stayed in the Westbury for two nights at the beginning of February. We experienced 5 star treatment throughout our stay in the hotel. We arrived on a busy Friday evening, the streets were full of excitement due to the upcoming rugby match. The location was perfect we were moments away from all the best shops and restaurants, which allowed us to soak up the amazing atmosphere on Grafton Street. The rooms were extremely relaxing and once you closed the door you could switch off from the hustle and bustle of the streets, with absolutely no noise from outside. The staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay and nothing was too much to ask for. We decided to have afternoon tea after a long day of shopping, I would highly recommend this to anyone who is a fan of afternoon tea. The only complaint I have is the simple fact that I couldn't have stayed longer. I am already looking forward to my next visit to the Westbury.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Claire F,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay in Dublin.

It is great to read your review and know that you thought so highly of us and thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westbury again and thanks again for your great review.
Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’ Gorman
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just back from 4 nights in The Westbury Hotel. Could not fault a thing about the hotel or staff. The suite was spacious and very clean. I also like the fact the the hotel does not charge for the use of wi-fi as other 5 star hotels in Dublin do. We did not get a chance to eat in the restaurant but did have some bar snacks which were excellent. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evei25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Evei 25,

Thank you for your great review following your 4 night stay at The Westbury and we are delighted that you had such a great time.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including our service and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and thank you again for your great review.

Yours sincerely

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a top class hotel right in the centre of Dublin, superb staff who make you feel very welcome and valued. You have to pay a premium for this service but I think it is worth it. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PJKNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear PJKNorthernIreland

I am delighted to read your brilliant review, thank you for taking the time to tell others about us and I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit to The Westbury Hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you stay and I am thrilled you were so impressed with our staff and our service. Our team really cares and enjoys being part of our guests’ experiences; we believe this makes all the difference and thank your for recognising them.

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Doyle Collection, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing