We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not be bettered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could not be bettered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a lovely weekend here, truly comfortable, luxurious and welcoming hotel. Friendly attentive service, great food and cocktails, I have never stayed in a better hotel in Dublin. We enjoyed the location, perfect for a short break in this great city. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tricky26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Tricky26,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your visit to us in November.

I am delighted that you has a wonderful weekend with us and that you experienced a wonderful welcome. As a team we strive to deliver the highest levels of personalized service that will hopefully ensure our customers always return and I am delighted that you are planning a return trip.

Thank you for recommending us so highly, for taking the time to write about your time with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,


Vincent O’ Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,740
    717
    194
    62
    39
See reviews for
651
1,648
144
586
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip and must agree this is one of the better hotels I have stayed in. It is well situated, has character and the service is excellent. The room was very well appointed and very comfortable with a massive bed made for lounging in. My only complaint is that I had an early flight to catch in the morning so couldn’t indulge myself more. The staff were attentive without being sycophantic and seemed genuinely pleased to assist. It will certainly be my prime choice for my next visit to the lovely city of Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Godfrog,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Westbury and thank you for taking the time to review The Westbury on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that our location worked for you and that our service exceeded your expectations. We strive to deliver the highest level of service so as to ensure our customers will return. I hope that you manage to come and visit us again and we are thrilled that we are your number one choice of preferred hotel in Dublin.

Thank you again for your review we hope to welcome you back soon again.

Yours sincerely

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at the Westbury this past weekend for 3 nights and was not disappointed. Service was excellent, our suite was well appointed and spacious. Location could not be better. Situated just off Grafton Street and only a short walk to Temple Bar. Also very close to Trinity College and multiple "Hop on Hop off" bus stops Afternoon tea in the plush hotel lounge was wonderful and be sure to grab a drink at bar in front of the fire place.

I would highly recommend the Westbury for your trip to Dublin and we will return on out next trip with out hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Bullins23,.

A pleasure to hear you had such a positive experience and thank you for posting your review and telling others about the Westbury Hotel.

I am delighted that our location works for you and that you felt the style, décor and upkeep of our Hotel ticks all the right boxes for you. I am happy that you managed to take in the ambiance of The Gallery whilst enjoying Afternoon Tea and a drink from the Marble Bar in the evening.

It was a real pleasure to have you with us, thank you for choosing the Westbury Hotel and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again on your next trip to Dublin.

Kind regards

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeyfeale, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I booked this hotel for my husband and me for one night as part of a reward to us (all work related :-) Before we arrived I contacted the hotel, telling them our story and shortly after we arrived, we received a lovely fruit basket and a personalised "Well Done" Card for my husband. That was a very nice touch and definitely made us smile.
Our room was small but gorgeous. The bed was to die for. Our view was right onto Grafton Street so considering that this is a city hotel with limited views, the hotel once again delivered a promise to give us a good room with a view.
We didn't get to spend much time in the hotel as our event was happening in Dublin Castle but the little we saw was fantastic. The staff was always smiling and wherever possible addressed us with our names. These small touches are so important, so again, well done to the hotel.
The breakfast was amazing. If you don't feel like having a fry then you can eat your heart out on the impressive buffet.
We would definitely return to the Westbury and maybe next time we get a chance to have a proper look around this fabulous hotel!
Thanks to all at the Westbury!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Madfailte,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Westbury and thank you for a wonderful review.

It was such a pleasure to read that you had a fabulous time and that our service was excellent.

To know that our team made you feel truly special is indeed wonderful.

We know how important these moments are for our guests and will always do our very best to make these occasions and celebrations as memorable and special as possible.

We hope that you can visit us again soon and thank you for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just spent 5 nights at Westbury on a business trip. The location is fantastic, as it is right on Grafton street which has lots of shops, pubs and cafes. This allows for some after-work entertainment without needing to travel far.

The highlight of my stay must be the breakfast at Cafe Nova. I looked forward and enjoyed it as they served the most wonderful spread - perfect scones and pastries, cold cuts and fruits, and a delightful hot breakfast menu from which you can choose from grilled fish of the day, minute steak, full Irish breakfast, waffles, omelette etc.

My only grouse is the soft bed and the turn taps (hot) and (cold) in the room. Can never seem to get a good mix of hot and cold water. However, the room was cosy and from my room (620) I had a gorgeous view of Dublin city, which looked especially beautiful at sunrise.

Definitely recommend this hotel for the business traveller.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Li_Hui_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Li_Hui_Lee,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review following your recent visit to The Westbury.

We are delighted that we managed to impress you so much and thank you for your comments on our service and our team. I am delighted that you managed to browse the many shops, restaurants and bars which are literally on our door step, and also that breakfast in Novo was a bit hit with you. Our team in Novo will be trilled with your feedback.

We hope that you visit us again soon and thank you for your review.

Yours sincerely

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on business. From the moment I stepped foot through the door the service was impeccable, everyone was exceptionally polite, helpful and professional.

The hotel is in a wonderful location, right in the centre with lots of shops and restaurants nearby.

The hotel is extremely comfortable, well decorated with a lovely cosy lounge area. The room too was very nice and had everything I needed; clean, quiet, nice little touches like chocolates and Nespresso coffee. Wifi was included.

I ate in the hotel several times and was very impressed with the standard of the food, the continental breakfast especially was lovely with homemade scones, breads and a large selection of fruits etc. Room service was also a very high standard which it often isn't even in good hotels.

Overall a wonderful 5*hotel. I don't know about staying here again.. I want to move in!! :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Cathw66,

Thank you for such a fabulous review following your stay with us we could not ask for a better response than a Wonderful 5 star experience !!

It was a pleasure to read that you were so impressed with our staff in particular; I am thrilled you thought our service and our team made your experience exceptional from the breakfast to the coffee machine and the chocolate at bed time. It is indeed a great compliment that you would like to move in.

Thank you for choosing and recommending the Westbury, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a weekend here from Friday to Sunday
The hotel is positioned in a lovely quite street just behind the main shopping area a mix of bars and lovely restaurants
The staff are very attentive and polite,rooms clean and large enough to be comfortable
A little expensive in the bars .
We will return the this little Gem

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigballs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear BigBalls1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Westbury.

I am delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations and that our location worked for you. As a team we strive to deliver the highest levels of personalized service that will hopefully ensure our customers always return.

Thank you for recommending us so highly, for taking the time to write about your time with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,


Vincent O’ Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Doyle Collection, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing