We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Westbury in the heart of Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Westbury in the heart of Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Westbury during our visit to Dublin. As other's have mentioned, the location is central and right by Grafton Street. An easy walk to Trinity, Temple Bar, St. Stephens Green, and the national archives. We only needed a taxi for one dinner during our stay, everything else was easy access.

We stayed in a suite room and the accomidations were large and very comfortable. The hotel staff were very helpful. We did not try the resturant (as we had our own favorites in Dublin) but the trip back will include dinner as well as Sunday High Tea.

I strongly recommend the Westbury when you visit Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Travelvagabond,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to us and for your great recommendations.

I am delighted that you had such a positive experience and that our service really stood out and exceeded your expectations.

I am glad that you are planning a trip back to visit us and I hope that you manage to dine with us & take in our wonderful afternoon tea.

Thanking you for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’ Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,416
    644
    171
    54
    35
See reviews for
563
1,455
132
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

after lunch today we visited the Westbury lounge upstairs for a quick drink, we alway's make a point of calling there as it is right in the heart of the busy Grafton street.the staff are all very pleasent and attentive. its just what you need after a busy shopping trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flex43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Flex43,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to The Westbury Hotel.

I am delighted that you had such a positive experience and that our service really stood out and exceeded your expectations and that we were able to help you unwind after your shopping trip.

I hope that you will visit us again soon and thank you for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Westbury on a trip to Ireland, Staff were all so welcoming,helpful and cheerful, especially Hasel at the front desk she was a gem. Rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean. Location is perfect - although it was hard to find initially. Would definitely recommend this spot if in Ireland! We loved our stay, thank you to everyone who works at the Westbury hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_cobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear J_cobyn,

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your recommendations.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your time in Dublin and that our location was convenient for you to visit the many shops, restaurants and bars that are all within walking distance our hotel. I am particularly happy with your positive comments on the service you received from the team here at The Westbury..

It was a pleasure to have you with us and thank you for choosing the Westbury I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2nights to celebrate my birthday and had a fab time. The service was excellent and our room was beautiful. The location of the hotel is brilliant. Shops, bars & restaurants are just on your doorstep. I also had champagne & a card from all the staff in my room on arrival as I was celebrating my birthday. It was a lovely touch. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C1are
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear C1are,

Thank your for your wonderful review and we are thrilled that you had a fabulous stay with us and thank you for your recommendations.

We were delighted to welcome you and to make your birthday a memorable occasion. I am glad that the special touches like the champagne and card helped to make the celebrations that bit special.

I really appreciate your recommendation, and we are delighted that you plan on returning. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just to say I would highly recommend this hotel, fine old world yet modern, silver service with a smile! You know that feeling when you feel good leaving hotel? Well yes got it here.
Hazel at reception was very professional and helpful, super friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triggerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear TriggerIreland,

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am glad that you experienced our silver service with a smile.

I am delighted that you though so highly of us and that all my colleagues managed to exceed your expectations. I hope that you will return to visit us soon again and thank you for choosing the Westbury.

Kind regards

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night recently. We had an absolute fab weekend. The hotel is at the centre of everything. Close to loads of lovely restuarants and pubs for late night entertainment. Any staff we met in the hotel were all so pleasant and friendly. We would highly recommend this hotel. Everywhere was spotless and well decorated. Our room was perfect and we heard no noise from outside. We will definitely be back. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandA112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear AandA112012,

Thank your for your wonderful review and we are thrilled that you had a fabulous weekend with us at The Westbury Hotel.

We were delighted to welcome you and to make your anniversary weekend a memorable occasion. We here at The Westbury strive to be part of your special experience and especially enjoy being part of our guests’ experiences, particularly so when we have guests celebrating special occasions.

I really appreciate your recommendation, and we are delighted that you plan on returning. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
249 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at The Westbury our last night in Ireland on Holiday. It was a relaxing experience. I want to buy the pillows. The location is superb and the staff was outstanding. The bar help was a little slow but that seems to be the standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbythegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Robbythegreat,

Thank you for choosing the Westbury on your recent visit to Dublin. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience.

I am delighted that you had a relaxing time and that the pillows were a big hit with you.

Our location just off Grafton Street is so convenient for shopping, dining and visiting the many bars which are literally on our front door and I am glad that this helped to make your stay enjoyable.

I apologise that you had an issue with the service in the bar area, our aim is to have consistently faultless service and we certainly can learn from all feedback to achieve this and thank you for your comments.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury in the near future.

Kind regards

Vincent O’Gorman,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,687 reviews
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marker Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,070 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Grafton Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing