We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #6 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for a few nights just before Christmas and were really happy with our stay.
Having requesting a nice double room for our anniversary we were surprised to be offered a twin room on arrival, although they happily changed this for us.
The room was nice and clean with lovely toiletries.
Breakfast was wonderful and all the staff in the restaurant were fabulous.
We met friends in the bar before going out for dinner which has a lovey atmosphere.
The best part was the location, literally just off Grafton Street.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear asty,

Thank you for having chosen to spend your anniversary with us and for having taken the time to favourably review The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and that your every need was met by our wonderful team and luxuriously appointed hotel.
I am also glad to read that your reserved room type was provided without further delay on your arrival after the realisation of a booking oversight.
The Westbury Hotel's location is indeed second to none and being in the heart of Dublin's vibrant commercial, social and cultural life is certainly a plus.
I do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,813 - 2,819 of 4,045 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here several times for business trips. I get to stay in a number of different hotels over the year due to a considerable amount of work travel, but I love this hotel. After second trip was upgraded to an awesome suite, which was just bliss to return to after a gruelling day. Location, ammeneties, staff welcome and help make this a superb venue for business travel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berenice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear berenice b,

Thank you most sincerely for your loyal custom and your having taken the time and the trouble to write your kind review awarding a full five points to the Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is thrilling for the entire team to read that we passed the test with flying colours and that you were pleased with your recent stay.
Your comments of "superb old world charm" in reference to our hotel are greatly appreciated by all and convey our efforts to seamlessly combine the very best of times gone by with those of the moment.
I am delighted that we were in a position to be able to upgrade you during your recent stay, something which is not always possible to do though our wonderful team make every effort to surprise and delight all of our cherished customers.
I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once more for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night while attending an event in Dublin. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The room was a good size, and very comfortable. Room service was very prompt, and the menu quite good value. Free wifi was very welcome - other 5-star establishments should take note... Full breakfast included with the room was impressive, and delivered on time to the room. The bar is very expensive, though comfortable.

The hotel is very handy for shopping in Grafton Street: valet-parking was good, though use of the carpark is €20 per 24 hrs. Negotiating the route to the hotel by car is also not for the faint-hearted!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feline_charm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Feline_charm,

Thank you for recommending The Westbury Hotel to other travellers on Tripadvisor and thank you for having chosen to stay with us on this occasion.

It is most encouraging to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our wonderfully appointed luxurious surroundings and our superb team met with your expectations thus ensuring your enjoyment of our renowned establishment.
I do look forward to welcoming you back in the future and I hope that that will be very soon.

Thank you again for favourably reviewing The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for your greatly appreciated custom.

Best regards,

Joseph Downing
guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very pleasant stay. Excellent helpful service. Very comfortable room. Very helpful concierge - including retrieving car from car park at crack of dawn.
Good enough for me to have booked to return in January with my wife!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Tweaky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Tweaky12,

Please allow me the opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team here with regard to your highly-valued custom and your most kind review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Everyone here is thrilled to note in your comments that you plan to return in January 2013 because of the wonderful service and accommodation provided at The Westbury Hotel.

I do hope that you will get in touch with me directly at joseph_downing@doylecollection.com pending your next visit. Ishould only be too delighted to welcome you back and ensure you have another great stay in our renowned hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Visited Dublin for the first time and stayed in the Westbury Hotel on Grafton Street!!

Absolutely loved this hotel and will certainly be returning.

Check in ran smoothly, breakfast in the restaurant was fantastic.

Top service from all hotel staff and the hotel standard was very high. The rooms were clean and very well presented. Everything needed for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Had a twin room on the 2nd floor, opposite the lift. Contrary to other reviews, had no issues with noise.

The highlight of the stay was afternoon tea, very enjoyable.

The location of the hotel was perfect for access to main shops bars and restaurants.

Have no negative comments at all about this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Scoular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Mrs_Scoular,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us while you visited Dublin this Christmas and thank you for favourably reviewing The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am most pleased to read in your review that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, not to mention our legendary afternoon tea served on The Gallery.
I am also delighted to note that our dedicated team took excellent care of you and that your experience of our establishment was one to remember.
Even better still is to read of your intention to return which I and the entire team look forward to with anticipation.

Thank you once again for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel for Christmas and thank you also for your most kind review on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed in the Westbury on many occassions and have always enjoyed the experience. Recently I stayed with 2 girlfriends on the Wilde experience package and all I can say is that it was perfect. The staff were so friendly yet extremely efficient. The meal in the Wilde restaurant was super and again the staff were excellent. The Westbury would be my favourite place to stay in Dublin - you are right in the heart of everything. Toni

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Toni M,

Thank you for being one of our loyal customers and thank you for your delightful review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

The entire team here are thrilled with your comments and it is truly encouraging to note that you were wowed by our terrific Stay-Wilde Package which not only offers delicious food and luxurious accommodation in the best of surroundings but also offers wonderful value for money too.
I look forward to having you return in the not too distant future.

Thank you once again for your most kind comments about The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and for your valuable, loyal custom.

Best regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

arrived in Dublin for Xmas shopping and stayed at the Westbury Hotel.From the time we pulled up outside the level of service was superb. The staff at all levels could not be more helpful, we received hot towels at reception while we booked in and our bags were transferred to our room with minimum delay.
We will be back for sure as I can say this is the best hotel for service that I have stayed in.

Room Tip: book early and online to get best rate and room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear sean c,

Thank you most sincerely for having taken the time and effort to write such a kind review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is indeed a delight to note that you relished the hot perfumed towels offered to our guests on arrival and that our team whisked your luggage to your room with a of minimum fuss.
Your comments have been shared with everyone here and are greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again for having favourably reviewed The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for being one of our customers.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,414 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
0.1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Address: Balfe Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $313 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing