We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“How I love the Irish People and this wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westbury
Ranked #7 of 149 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“How I love the Irish People and this wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a special birthday so my husband decided we would spend three days in Dublin to catch the sights and do some shopping.
This hotel is simply perfect. Because they knew it was my birthday our suite was ready very early in the day.We were staying with friends and they were in a basic room. The check in staff booked us all in leaving us the whole day to sight see.Every single person we encountered could not
have been more helpful. If you happened to sit in the wonderful lounge admiring their exotic display of orchids, within two minutes staff were asking if you needed anything and if you just wanted to sit, were so polite and helpful.The Irish People are known to be friendly but the staff here exceed even this. The general manager was made aware it was my birthday. I had a lovely card and some lovely gifts from him. The lounge staff also sent me a gift to the suite because they asked why we were drinking champagne.. I LOVE everything about the place.Our flight was later in the day. They were happy to look after our luggage and allowed us an extra couple of hours to check out.It was perfect from beginning to end. I wish all hotels across the world was as good as this one. Well Done!!

Room Tip: Our Suite 527 had a lovely view of Grafton Street. Quiet, and large with a fantastic bathroom.Lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Mandy Donald,

Thank you for having stayed with us on this special occasion of your birthday and thank you for having reviewed The Westbury Hotel in such a favourable light on Tripadvisor.

It is truly delightful to note in your review that you were met at every turn by our dedicated team's relentless determination to provide only the very best of service and hospitality.
Everyone here is most encouraged by your wonderful comments and I would like to thank you on behalf of every one of them.
I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel soon.

Thank you again from the entire Westbury Hotel team for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,565
    688
    186
    58
    37
See reviews for
599
1,556
139
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Westbury. The staff were wonderful from our arrival through our checkout. We arrived well in advance of the check-in time, but they could not have been more helpful in storing our bags and directing us to a local eatery for lunch.

The room itself was very nice, and had the most comfortable bed of our time in Ireland.

I also have to give a special note of thanks to Tommie, on the Bellman's staff, who went above and beyond the call of duty to assist us. This was my first time driving on the other side of the road, and finding the carpark for the hotel was a bit of a challenge. We ended up parking two blocks from the hotel and arriving on foot. Rather than give us directions, Tommie walked with us to our car, and drove with us back to the hotel. Along the way, he gave us tips on which pubs to try and places to have dinner. This was truly remarkable service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear jnklien,

Thank you for having stayed with us and for having favourably reviewed The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

The entire team including Tommy on Concierge are most proud of your lovely comments with regard to the levels of service you received and are most appreciative of the positive review you posted on Tripadvisor.
I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the near future.

Thank you once again for your valuable custom and kind comments on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Last week our Association had its Annual general Meeting at the hotel.
The Westbury felt more like a private hotel and the service was impeccable and the general standards of the hotel outstanding.
The two meeting rooms we reserved one for the Board 10 persons and the other for the members 30 were perfect for our needs.
All the Irish people we met were most helpful and our members felt that Dublin and the Westbury hotel was the perfect venue for our meeting.
John W. Herbert
General Secretary
EDRA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnHCologneGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear johnHCologneGermany,

Thank you for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for having used our hotel facilities including our wonderful conference area.

It is truly delightful to read your kind review and everyone here greatly appreciates your positive review.
I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the near future.

Thank you once again for your most favourable review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great service with friendly helpful staff. The room was comfy and very clean. Go out the front door and start shopping on Grafton St. It's all good!!! We needed some help navigating the remainder of our trip in Ireland as we had decided to give the car back. The gentleman at the consierge, Edward, was so helpful and got us the best means of transportation to each of our next stops. He was a God send for us!! Thanks Edward!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear LaurieR,

Thank you for your most kind review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for being one of our cherished customers.

Everyone here on the team including and especially Edward on Concierge is truly delighted by your delightful comments.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you once again for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are what one would expect at a 5 star. Indeed, it is far superior to the Merrion Hotel which was very disappointing. I had two bugbears however. One was the fact that after a night out, we were interrogated by a bouncer guarding the door asking to see our room passes. It felt like we were underage teenagers looking to gain entry to a nightclub! The second issue was the lack of noise insulation from the next room. Whilst the neighbours were not loud in the least, when I was in the bathroom, I could hear every word of a telephone conversation next door. Noise insulation is the least I would expect of any hotel, never mind a 5 star one. However, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scully1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Scully1234,

Thank you for your favourable review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for your valuable custom.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us over other establishments in Dublin and that you would return to stay with us.
Customer loyalty is something we greatly cherish at The Westbury Hotel.
I am concerned to note in your review however that you experienced some sound insulation issues from your bathroom and i regret not having had the opportunity to hear your comments in this regard prior to your departure from our establishment.
I would urge you to please contact me at joseph_downing@doylecollection.com to discuss your stay in more detail.
I look forward to hearing from you shortly.

Thank you once again for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Won a prize of a night in the Westbury and stayed on the Bank Holiday Monday after the marathon.

The hotel is really central for shopping etc and they have improved the car park arrangement since the last time we stayed there a few years ago.

Grafton St is practically outside the front door which is convenient for men who tire of shopping!

The hotel has nice reception areas, but the rooms are a little dated. Noise can be a problem but in fairness this came from outside the hotel rather than inside, and you are in the city centre.

We had a family room with two queen beds and the room size was adequate. We opted to have breakfast in the room and it arrived on time with everything we had ordered.

We also strolled down to Trinity College to see the Book of Kells etc and the receptionist confirmed that we could stay parked after checkout which was generous considering the cost of city centre parking.

Overall, I couldnt fault this hotel - in that it ticked most of the boxes as expected. However it did feel like a hotel in a chain rather than a smaller individual boutique type.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLeinster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear MikeLeinster,

Thank you for your favourable review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for having stayed with us.

I am delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time at our hotel. I am concerned that you found your room somewhat dated and I regret not having had the opportunity to hear your comments prior to your departure.
I would like to take this opportunity to point out the The Westbury Hotel has undergone a complete refurbishment programme which we feel reflects the needs of the discerning guest and which allows The Westbury Hotel to be a member of The Leading Hotels Of The World.
The Westbury Hotel is part of a small group of eleven hotels located in Dublin, Cork, London, Bristol, Washington and Boston and this group is known as The Doyle Collection.
We strive to deliver excellence to all of our guests in every location and we provide a unique experience at each hotel.
I am disappointed to note that this does not appear to have been the case during your recent stay with us and I would greatly appreciate your contacting me at joseph_downing@doylecollection.com if you wish to give a more detailed account of your findings during your stay at The Westbury Hotel.
I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for one night in one of the westbury's gorgeous suites and from the time we checked in we found the service and staff to be really helpful and attentative. There were lots of nice little touches that made out stay feel unique like no other hotel we have stayed in in the past. The beds are extremely comfortable and love the chocolates on the pillow ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emulkerrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear emulkerrin,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and for your most favourable review of The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is indeed a delight to read that this was your first time staying with us and that our wonderful hotel and dedicated team ensured you had a lovely time.
I do hope that it will not be too long before you return to us and I look forward to welcoming you back .

Thank you once more for recommending The Westbury Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Best regards,

Joseph Downing
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 149 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 149 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 149 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Property: The Westbury
Address: Grafton Street, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing