We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Stay at The Gresham” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at The Gresham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

I recently stayed at the Gresham Hotel with my sisters and Mom during an annual Chrsitmas trip to Dublin. I can't enthuse more highly about our wonderful stay. The staff and service were excellent from our check-in at reception to our departure. The staff were exceptionally friendly and keen to make our stay totally enjoyable.

The Gresham is a lovely hotel which has recently been re-furbished with an elegant foyer perfect for taking afternoon tea (which we did) and people watching. The breakfast was superb and the bar serves fantastic cocktails with staff eager to recommend a new tipple. As the weather was so bad - we tried out Toddy's bistro which was good value for a relaxing meal in a nice atmosphere.

Overall, the Gresham is a great place to stay from the excellent service, fantastic staff and great location - visitors to Dublin can't go wrong if they decide to stay here

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandsand204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    1,149
    554
    266
    125
See reviews for
539
1,746
204
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a few days visiting Dublin and choose to stay at the Gresham Hotel. The hotel deserves every one of its four stars.Excellant staff, beautiful decor and smack in the centre of Dublin city. The food in the Writers lounge is excellent and very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

We were in Dublin midweek for a concert in the Olympia and the hotel is a leisurely 10 minute walk away from the theatre. The front desk staff were very welcoming and friendly.Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean and very well equipped. There was ethernet or wi-fi for internet access. We had a drink in the bar before going out, which had a lively mix of patrons, young and not-so-young. The following morning check out was hassle free. I would highly recommend the Gresham to all types of travellers, business or leisure. Why stay out of town when you can get great rates and all the amenities right in the middle of town?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bossull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fivemiletown, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Fantastic hotel. Great atmosphere. Very clean and breakfast was great. Staff were very helpful. Bedroom was very spacious. Carpark accessible from within Hotel building was really helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LornaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

the hotel is located ideally for city centre shopping and close to all types of public transport. If you choose to stay here included the full irish breakfast (the porrige is the best) and toddy's bar is great for a drink and meal in the evening. I've stayed for a christmas shopping break for the last two years and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

we were greeted by friendly staff, we arrived early in the morning and we had'nt very long to wait for our room we had it before 12 oclock. for the price we payed we had a beautiful room with bathrobes and slippers. Breakfast and dinner was included in our price and both times we had a lovely meal. staff at all times were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eduffyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

The Gresham may not be the the cheapest hotel in Dublin but it is surely the best. It's location is second to none. Perfect for shopping, theatres, restaurants, The O2 and sporting venues, with the vast majority within walking distance. The money you save on taxis compensates for slight premium.
Staff are very diligent and attentive. The rooms are well equipped and very clean. The food is as tasty as the bed is comfortable.
An evening stroll through the cobbled streets of Temple Bar is a must with The Porter House being a great place to wet your whistle.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conorthechemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#46 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#29 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Wynn's Hotel
Wynn's Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €16.50 overnight rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing