We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF YOU WANT TO BE PAMPERED, SAMPLE THE LUXURY ON OFFER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
n. ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“IF YOU WANT TO BE PAMPERED, SAMPLE THE LUXURY ON OFFER”
Reviewed December 30, 2009

This was the first occasion that my wife and I were away from home and family at Christmas time. It was with some apprehension that we booked the three nights break at the Gresham. Our fears were soon dispelled when we observed the room allocated to us; the very acceptable decor throughout; the most co-operative staff and the great variety on offer for breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner in the evening left nothing to be desired, as the food was excellent in every respect.
The central location of the Hotel was ideal for every requirement.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,921
    1,268
    612
    301
    145
See reviews for
590
1,929
222
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We attended the Lily Allen Concert in the O2 in early december and stayed overnight in the Gresham Hotel. Check in was fast & friendly. Our room was huge and the bathroom had a seperate shower. We ate in Toddys Bar before the concert and found it very good with quick service.
A plus of staying in the Gresham is the Abbey Street Luas stop is a 2 min walk away and this brings you straight to the O2 and is much cheaper than a Taxi! We had a Night Cap in the Writers Bar and again recieved good & quick service.
We had room service breakfast the following morning @ €6.50pp extra but it was so worth it as Breakfast finishes early on weekdays in the restaurant. Great Selection & the cooked Breakfast was piping hot!
We used the covered carpark @ €14 per night and as the doors are locked at night it is very secure.
We enjoyed our over night stay and will stay in the Gresham on our next trip to the City!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gremar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2009

A lovely hotel with dublin charm and excellence. It was a pleasure to stay here. I came here with my elderly father and my sister and brother in law, and we have never been treated with such kindness by hotel staff. The Writers bar is gorgeous and food was a little disapointing but a wonderful waitress looked after us and catered for everything my father asked for, I would like to say thank you to her. I believe her name was Jenny, a bubbly young girl from england. A credit to the hotel trade. She also brought up our room service and had made the effort to bring up some camomile tea bags for my father :) without even having to ask.
The breakfast was terrific with plenty of choice. The receptionist who we were met with could have stood to be sligtly more welcoming, but we did arrive slightly too early and still got a room so no real complaints there.
A brilliant hotel, hole in there the Gresham, your great!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Its the place to stay if your looking for comfort and a central location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squire1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

This is our second visit to the Gresham. We booked the hotel for its central location. This time we took the train from Belfast and saved on car parking fees. The hotel lobby is probably the best part of the hotel. The Concierge staff and reception staff are excellent. The bedroom we stayed in was in definite need of maintenance. The light switches in the bedroom were both broken and unusable. The pillows were really hard and uncomfortable. The room itself was small but adequate. The breakfast was very good although I have had better selections in smaller hotels. The table service was very slow and we had to ask for butter, tea and toast. Would I stay again - probably because of its location. The hotel did however offer excellent value for money at 55 Euros per person per night including breakfast. We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and found it to be a peaceful and quiet place to stay in the heart of Dublin. We found an excellent restaurant to eat in called Elephant and Castle. It is located in the Temple Bar Area. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieAnneBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I stayed for along weekend in December. I was made very welcome and given some sound advice about the best available entertainment available at the time. I enjoyed a lazy breakfast with friendly and helpful staff. After exploring Dublin I relaxed in the lounge and chatted to other residents. A good time was had by all

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

reading reviews here i am startled that some reviewers gave this hotel a 5 rating room rate was okay at 129 euro until i saw the room air con on the blink and was overly warm to begin with so had to leave windows open all night,carpet in room frayed and overall room tired and in serious need of refurb,ok its dublin but bar prices ridiculous and not even a nice bar to boot,didnt eat here as i was in no mood to pay 23 euro for an irish breakfast give me a break , car park 16 euro for an overnight my advice stay somewhere like the trinity capital , the only thing this hotel has going for it is location i will not be stepping foot in here again not that im sure they are worried but plenty of other better hotels in dublin in this price range,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
2,778 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing