We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected, disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The positives were the staff were friendly at reception, the room was nice and big as it was a delux room and the location.

The negatives were, we didn't book a delux room but asked for an upgrade when checking in, the delux room was what you would expect as standard room for a 4 star hotel. Our friends didn't ask for an upgrade and their standard room was tiny, they were not a bit happy with that!! The bar was expensive and when we arrived back to the hotel at night, it was like the Spanish Inquisition for us to be able to get a drink from the residents bar. The irish breakfast was cold which was very disappointing.

I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niamh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,772 - 3,778 of 4,530 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2009

I would highly recommend The Gresham Hotel in Dublin city for somewhere the stay. We were greeted warmly on our arrival, the atmosphere and buzz around the hotel was great, our room was very nice, the staff were very helpful and friendly and above all the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank great73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I stayed at the Gresham for a girly weekend and have to say the location is excellent. We were central to everything and could pop back with our shopping every so often. We booked our room on booking.com, we got a great deal however I think this reflected on the room we got. The room was very small and the view was onto a yard. There was no shower gel, shower cap or soap in the bathroom. The room served it's purpose fine for what we needed but I have to say I would have been extremely disappointed if I had paid the astronamical prices this hotel normally charges. The breakfast was not included in and was quite expensive. Also be prepared to pay for your parking which is situated at the rear of the hotel in a different street - it cost us €14 for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidays010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Very nice hotel, centrally located, beautiful rooms. If anything -its a 5 minute walk from Temple bar, other than that I cant put my finger on anything. Well worth its money!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sverre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I stayed in the Gresham after a disappointing check in another hotel in the city centre.
I have to say they did accommodate all our request as my brother is on wheelchair.

Room were nice and confy, I found the staff very helpfull.

I am new in tripadvisor but I do travel a lot for business and I will keep writing review on hotels around the world.

Thanks to the gresham and thanks to tripadvisor for this opportunity

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We had a great time staying at the Gresham. It was a wonderful, old world hotel in a great location that was far enough away from the noisy bar area to be restful but close enough to walk. I would recommend this hotel to friends since for the price it's a great deal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Husband and I stayed two nights in April and everything at the Gresham Hotel was perfect. We would for sure stay again. We did get a break on line and only paid around $115. per night. We were given a side street room and asked to be moved. We were given a lovely front room overlooking the Taxi stands. Rooms were modern and clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. We walked everywhere, so convenient. We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#44 of 152 in Dublin
4,788 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,758 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $110 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing