We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at the Gresham for a few days en route to the Isle of Man. Excellent central location, very close to main shopping areas, pubs and restaurants. A great cinema a few doors down and also a theatre very close by - all in easy walking distance. Also incredibly easy to reach via the Aircoach from the Airport and similarly the return journey was just as convenient. Although the rooms were very clean and generally well maintained (a little tired in places), I would have to say that the room decor (we stayed in a standard twin), did not match with the impressive façade and communal areas and was a slight disappointment. Our stay did not include breakfast, however we did book the Afternoon Tea (with Champagne) for the day of our arrival which was excellent. Overall, I think that this was good value for money and for convenience and location alone, If visiting Dublin again in the future, I would re-book at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pstone60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,352)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,229 - 2,235 of 4,352 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel on Wednesday evening and could not fault it. I agree that the check in process could be improved upon - please note the lady that checked us in was incredibly pleasant - but both her and her colleague seemed somewhat stressed which was totally understandable as there was a long line of guests awaiting check in - more reception staff would make the whole process a lot smoother for both guests and staff alike! We stayed in a superior room on a bed and breakfast basis. Room was fabulous, spacious, clean and amazingly comfy bed. What really impressed me about this hotel was for its size and number of guests how quiet the rooms were, once in your room you would have thought there were no other guests in the hotel, which resulted in a fabulous nights sleep. We ate dinner in the hotel which could not be faulted. Well priced menu for both drinks and food, lovely surroundings and fabulous staff. Breakfast was also fantastic with a great choice of both hot and cold foods and when I say hot I mean hot not lukewarm. Hotel also fantastically situated although car parking was a little difficult to find but once located again another great service as there is a lift from the car park direct into the hotel. This was my first time in Dublin and I will definitely be returning again for a longer stay at the Gresham. Both Dublin and the Gresham have a fantastic feel about them and I would not hesitate in recommending a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in March. We went to Dublin to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised to hear that Andrew Walker (Front office Manager) wanted to upgrade our room when he heard we were celebrating. Very nice touch and it felt that he truly cared that we had a good time at the Gresham, he met us upon arrival and talked us through what we could do while in Dublin and also made sure he came to the front desk when we were departing, also a nice touch.

All the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Even the cleaning staff were lovely and we were always asked how we were.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we wanted to experience some sort out venues in Dublin but we did have drinks and we looked around at other guest food, it looked delicious.

The hotel is well kept, clean, and has a nice feel about it, our room was lovely, we stayed on the Lavery floor which I believe had recently undergone some renovation and update on the rooms, the bathroom was clean with no black spots on the tiles (hate that), the decor was inviting and was cleaned to a very high standard.

The location is excellent as well, we took the Aircoach from Dublin Airport which was around 20 minutes drive to the hotel (€8 for single trip, you can buy tickets outside of the airport) and we were dropped off right outside the hotel. Fantastic, not getting lost this time! The location of the hotel to Temple Bar is great as well, it's about a 10-15 minute average pace walk to the lovely bars and restaurants.

I would recommend the open top bus tour of Dublin, you can jump on and off at selected sites and the next bus comes along every 15 minutes. Again the tour bus stop is not far down the high street from the Gresham Hotel. It cost €16 per person which was great value as we were out all day.

All in all we had a wonderful stay, we have stayed in many 5 star hotels and paid a hefty price for the privilege. The Gresham was well priced (€105 per night) and a great place to stay but was only rated as a 4 star which surprised us.

Well done everybody, can't wait to come back!

Fiona & Alex

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeeK2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

First time in Dublin. Both my wife and I went for our third wedding anniversary. We booked the Gresham for £205 for B&B, afternoon tea and a glass of sparkling. It was well worth this price and definitely deserves the 4star by us. Externally the hotel facade is grand and pretty impressive, although pleasant inside, it doesn't always seem the case internally. A few areas do need a slight cosmetic touch up.

Room, breakfast and afternoon tea were ideal, excellent location for shops, transport and temple area. I would make a slight suggestion with the welcome, reception staff, maybe a bit more enthusiasm, drive and passion for the place - on our experience this lacked slightly.

Anyway if you are looking at this hotel for a few days away I don't think you will be disappointed. Some service, cosmetic and consistency updated would take this place to a new level.

Enjoy Dublin. We did.

Room Tip: Upgrade! Some of the rooms were lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fgormanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel on a weekend trip to Dublin. Ideally located in central Dublin. Rooms spacious, clean and tidy. Friendly staff, good food, would highly recommend a stay here. Well located for Airport Coach, which stops outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonAnneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The exterior of the once grand Gresham belies the interior.We stayed for one night on a stop off before a family wedding and were 'upgraded' to a superior room in an annexed part of the hotel.
Very underwhelmed by how average it all was and can only wonder at what the standard rooms are like.
The buffet style breakfast was very poor and at 20 euros a head serously overpriced.
Stayed an extra night in Dublin as it is a great city and would highly recommend the Kingfisher townhouse B&B- very clean, good breakfast in the adjoining restaurant and only 60 euros a night

Room Tip: Ask to be put in main part of the hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear matt m

Thank you for comments following your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

I am sorry if you were not happy with your room. I will be more than happy to talk regarding the room and what made you underwhelmed.

The room you had stayed in was in our Lavery wing. Although it is not in an annex, it is part of The Gresham Hotel, this section houses 96 Lavery bedrooms, each measuring 33 square metres, separate bath and shower and a host of many features.

Breakfast can be added to your booking for €15 person. When purchased on the day, fill Irish breakfast is charged at €19.50 per person.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. Chose to stay somewhere nice for a birthday treat and thought this hotel offered a bit if luxury just a five min walk from temple bar. Well it was well located with airport bus stopping right outside, but we were let down from the moment we arrived. We had booked a double room sux weeks before but when we arrived we were told they were full and we would have to have a twin. When we complained we were finally given a family room which appeared at first to be a bonus but it turned out to be undergoing a refurb! The toilet didn't flush , there was a hole in the ceiling above shower, the phone was not connected and the lamp had a missing lightbulb! All in all disappointing and the staff attitude to us was far from friendly even though we didn't complain about any of the minor things, just the fact the toilet was not working. At least somehow they got the toilet to work! Best thing about this hotel is the location and the wee traditional pub next door which boasted wonderfully friendly staff and a great atmosphere. No wonder so many of the hotel guests could be found enjoying the atmosphere next door! Too bad they were probably not allowed to lie in beyond 7am as the morning cleaning staff sounded like a steel band going up and down the corridors!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lassiesonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Laasiesonthemove

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

I do apologise for the issues you had experienced around the room. Your reservation was delivered to us as a standard twin bedroom, however, it is the further issues I am more concerned with.

I shall, be delighted to speak with you about this matter and I have sent you a private message concerning this, as I will be honest and say we did make an error.

Yours Sincerely
Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#39 of 150 in Dublin
2,884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $137 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing