We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old Favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed February 17, 2014

To be honest I wasn't expecting to be allocated a great room as we had booked a special deal and were advised that the room would be at the back of the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised when our room turned out to be more than adequate with a fridge, wi fi, flat screen TV and safe. The room was of a good size and the bathroom was also of a good size and had a separate bath and shower. No complaints about the bed either.

Regardless of their role we found all the staff to be pleasant and helpful. We had no complaints about the food either. There was a good choice at breakfast and the fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice were a nice touch.

We had heard that O'Connell Street had a problem with crime/drugs etc. When we were there the local Gardai were having a crackdown on these activities (Operation Spire) and we quite enjoyed the excitement of seeing police cars driving about with the sirens blaring!

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in staying in the Gresham again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnergeticSeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear EnergeticSeniors

Thank you for taking the staff to post a review of your recent stay at The Gresham Hotel.

We are delighted to read you had enjoyed your stay. Regardless of the room type, or price paid, we do offer LCD TV's, safe and free WIFI in all rooms along with a host of other features and the standard rooms are from 18 square metres. Upgraded rooms are 33 square metres and we even have a 4 bedroom penthouse at 279 square metres!

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Gresham when you are next in Dublin and please do not hesitate to contact me, where I will ensure you receive our best room rates!

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,372 - 2,378 of 4,495 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on February 15th for a Valentines weekend away. This hotel is right in the middle of Dublin centre, minutes walk away from all the sights and Temple Bar. The hotel is very old but absoloutly beautiful! Staff are so friendly. The rooms were quite small, but had everything that you needed. The bed was comfy, shower was AMAZING!

Brekfast was included in the morning and on a Sunday it is open until 12pm, which is great! It was a bufffet with traditional irish food and also continetal brekfast. The staff here was great too and the food even better.

Overall a great stay. Beautiful looking hotel- great location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear MSLLA

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

I shall be delighted to share your comments with all our staff at the hotel and we do look forwarding to welcoming you back on your next Dublin visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself where I will ensure you receive our very best room rates.

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Elaine And Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband have just returned from a two night stay at the Gresham !! We stayed in a standard double room on a room only basis!! Got a really good deal and was a bit apprehensive about what to expect for what we paid !! When we arrived we were immediately impressed, check in was very prompt and warming! The room was the best part, really spacious, mini fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, iron, safe, toiletries! Basically everything u would need !! Never really had any need to contact any staff during our stay but any that we did see or speak to were lovely and helpful !! I have been to dublin numerous times and this has been the best hotel I have stayed at by a clear mile!! In fact we can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryannD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewWalker, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear MaryannD80

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Gresham Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read your comments and I hope it is not too long until we welcome you again.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself, where I may ensure you receive our best available room rates.

Yours Sincerely

Andrew Walker
Front Office Manager
aw@thegresham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is located in O'Connell Street which is one of the main thoroughfares in Dublin's city centre. In the middle decades of the twentieth century, the Gresham was one of Dublin's leading hotels. Its glory days are long gone and the hotel could benefit from some refurbishment and updating. Nonetheless, it is a very convenient place to stay if you want to be in the city centre. My room was a reasonable size and looked as it if it had been refurbished in recent years. There was also a good sized bathroom. There is a very old fashioned heating system which is located at the back of the hotel. It hums at night and can be heard, I would think, in most rooms at the back of the hotel. If you opt for a room in the front of the hotel, you may hear the noise from the street (the receptionist warned me about this when I checked in). The breakfast was the standard buffet fare. Afternoon tea in the restaurant is good value and becoming increasingly popular.
I will stay here again but will make sure that I pack earplugs

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h1st0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights and we found it perfect. Our room was a superiour twin room with many extras. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel. Food in Toddys bar was excellent. The only complaint we had the breakfast (though very good )was a bit cold. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leslyn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed at the Gresham this past weekend with my teenage daughter. We had missed our airline connection and in addition our bags didn´t make it so we were understandably frazzled by the time we got there. It was so nice to be greeted by friendly staff, checked-in quickly, and to be given a brilliant, large and quiet room with 2 beds. The staff was wonderful including the wait staff at the restaurants/bar. The location is perfect as well. Had booked another property for a return trip to Dublin at the end of the month but have cancelled that and booked at the Gresham again. Looking forward to coming back. Thanks to the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHoegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $165 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing