We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moira K Lovely Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very central for shopping or for sightseeing. The staff were so friendly and helpful they made you feel right at home. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in Dublin.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,349)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,363 - 2,369 of 4,350 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are finished to good standard with everything working as expected. well lit. Beds comfy. Staff are very accomodating. Location is ideal.

Will be going back. Definitely pop in for afternoon tea if you are passing or staying. Good atmosphere all round.

Oh and Dublin was great too.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

A perfect location right in the centre of Dublin. The room was spacious and comfortable, the food was superb, the staff were pleasant and helpful, Toddys bar was a large modern bar that was also intimate. We will definitely be returning to the Gresham and would heartily recommend it to anyone travelling to Dublin.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wonderful hotel, very conveniently located, excellent staff, smoothly and professionally run. This is a gem in the heart of Dublin. And they have even improved the internet connection, which, to top it all, is free.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having read some of the reviews here I am wondering did I stay at a different hotel, I made a point of trying to get the names of those who looked after us as they really did well.
this is my second visit and I have to say from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, we had a little more time on this occassion so we made the most of the amenities on site, breakfast was very good better than last time and the waitress looking after us Jodie or Joanne? was very helpful and gave us lots of ideas about the various Xmas activities on in the city,
We returned later that evening and ate in Toddies Bar the fish and chips is substantial delicious, the staff were very warm and welcoming especially Angel, the Xmas decorations are simply stunning.
We had difficulty with hubbys phone not charging and a blonde lady manager didn't get her name helped us to contact Vodaphone and even checked with us later to make sure we were ok.
Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean, albeit noisy but we wanted to overlook the main street so expected as much,
All in all we had a lovely time and have booked to return in the new year, might also give the Gresham in Cork a shot if this place is anything to go by.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Second stay at the Gresham this year. Excellent location in the heart of O'Connell St., but can't help thinking it is beginning to rely on its reputation. Room was clean and adequate but my TV did not work. I reported this just after arrival but nothing was done. As it happened I didn't need it as I was out most of the time, but it should have been attended to. Breakfast was adequate - typical 3star type buffet and not freshly cooked to order, which one would expect from a hotel like this. Left a comment card but have heard nothing. Worst of all the Gent's loo on the ground floor, by mid afternoon on the Friday was, to say the least, not in a good state. Plenty of competition and competitive rates in the centre of Dublin and I shall, reluctantly, look elsewhere next time. Shame because the Gresham is a bit of an icon and great location for shopping. Also the airport bus stops outside. Let's hope they can improve because I'd like to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a great stay. Very relaxing. Great location. Food out of this world on all three courses and great value. Hotel great value for money and car parking for 15euro from check in til we departed excellent value. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#39 of 150 in Dublin
2,874 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $137 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing