We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gresham Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Gresham Dublin”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

A perfect location right in the centre of Dublin. The room was spacious and comfortable, the food was superb, the staff were pleasant and helpful, Toddys bar was a large modern bar that was also intimate. We will definitely be returning to the Gresham and would heartily recommend it to anyone travelling to Dublin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,901
    1,253
    605
    294
    140
See reviews for
579
1,905
218
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wonderful hotel, very conveniently located, excellent staff, smoothly and professionally run. This is a gem in the heart of Dublin. And they have even improved the internet connection, which, to top it all, is free.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having read some of the reviews here I am wondering did I stay at a different hotel, I made a point of trying to get the names of those who looked after us as they really did well.
this is my second visit and I have to say from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, we had a little more time on this occassion so we made the most of the amenities on site, breakfast was very good better than last time and the waitress looking after us Jodie or Joanne? was very helpful and gave us lots of ideas about the various Xmas activities on in the city,
We returned later that evening and ate in Toddies Bar the fish and chips is substantial delicious, the staff were very warm and welcoming especially Angel, the Xmas decorations are simply stunning.
We had difficulty with hubbys phone not charging and a blonde lady manager didn't get her name helped us to contact Vodaphone and even checked with us later to make sure we were ok.
Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean, albeit noisy but we wanted to overlook the main street so expected as much,
All in all we had a lovely time and have booked to return in the new year, might also give the Gresham in Cork a shot if this place is anything to go by.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Second stay at the Gresham this year. Excellent location in the heart of O'Connell St., but can't help thinking it is beginning to rely on its reputation. Room was clean and adequate but my TV did not work. I reported this just after arrival but nothing was done. As it happened I didn't need it as I was out most of the time, but it should have been attended to. Breakfast was adequate - typical 3star type buffet and not freshly cooked to order, which one would expect from a hotel like this. Left a comment card but have heard nothing. Worst of all the Gent's loo on the ground floor, by mid afternoon on the Friday was, to say the least, not in a good state. Plenty of competition and competitive rates in the centre of Dublin and I shall, reluctantly, look elsewhere next time. Shame because the Gresham is a bit of an icon and great location for shopping. Also the airport bus stops outside. Let's hope they can improve because I'd like to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a great stay. Very relaxing. Great location. Food out of this world on all three courses and great value. Hotel great value for money and car parking for 15euro from check in til we departed excellent value. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lippstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed four nights in The Gresham in December. was a great location with helpful and very friendly staff.
The food from the Bar was lovely and the Afternoon Tea really really great. Special thanks to John the waiter he was so kind to us.
Breakfast very good.
The only negative thing was that our room was very warm, was no chance for a good sleep.

We`re sure we come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I would like to premise this by saying that the Reception Staff on check-in were lovely and the Hotel itself magnificent.

Last week I stayed in the Gresham for one night with my boyfriend who happens to be black. As I queued to check into our room my boyfriend was going to just have a look at the Christmas decorations in the foyer when a porter came from around the reception desk to block his entrance, at this point it was not obvious we were together. He stared at my boyfriend for a while before aggressively asking: "Can I help you?" as if he were some kind of criminal about to try and rob something. I then called my boyfriend over to stand with me so the hotel staff could see we were together, it was a very uncomfortable situation.

Once the staff could see we were together they were more polite but began to keep watch of me also, I felt I was being looked at, judged and felt like I was unwanted. It was so horrible I can't even begin to explain, my boyfriend being South African and sensitive to race issues it just put a huge dampener on our stay which should have been so romantic.

Subsequently I left behind some very expensive cosmetics and when I phoned; housekeeping said they had my belongings, and would leave them at reception for me to collect. But when I went there today to pick them up, they were nowhere to be found.

I am utterly disgusted.

Room Tip: Must request a quiet room as soom rooms overlook O'Connell Street and can be incredibly loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROwens1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,739 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing