We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location for City Centre in Dublin” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location for City Centre in Dublin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location was good. We were in walking distance to many locations. We never ate there so no review. The room was okay, but we were given a 6th floor room and the staff never mentioned that we had no elevator for that floor and had to take the luggage up stairs from the 5th floor. The shower temperature was hard to control, the floor was very slick when wet. But, mostly the room was on a street and since we had to have the window open (no AC), it was very noisy. It did have Wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,849
    1,192
    582
    279
    132
See reviews for
559
1,832
212
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Gresham has a really good location and the public areas are spacious and nice. Room was ok, a bit to modern in style for us. It does not match the atmosphere of the hotel in general. A big minus that there is no ac in the room, only ventilation. When we were there in July it was (unusually) hot in Dublin and Ireland and when you switched on the ventilation the room became even warmer. We had dinner in the lobby restaurant one night and it was good value for money. Not that expensive at all. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LottaBettan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Gresham. Room was nothing special at all, but ok and quiet. Breakfast was not included and I wasn't really going to pay 15 Euros for each one of us daily. There are a few options for breakfast nearby for half the price. Staff was very friendly, my girlfriend left her jacket and it was mailed to us (Switzerland) within a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael_Baur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Gresham last week for a birthday treat and given the cost of the hotel we were very disappointed with the standard of the accommodation. The room was very basic with a small double bed. The walls are paper thin and unfortunately the people next to us conversed loudly until after 3am. The sockets in the room didnt work so couldnt charge phones, use straighteners etc. Staff were just ok. I certainly wouldnt rate this as a 4 star hotel, its very run down. Only positive was location

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeGal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My 11 yearold son and i stayed at the Gresham in august .The only problem we had was we only stayed 1 night we had a twin room with two lovely big comfortable beds and all the staff we met were very nice and helpful and the hotel was in a great location cant wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine_b111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waringstown
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had booked a different hotel but there was a problem with the booking . Nearly every hotel was fully booked but the Gresham had a room . On our arrival the staff couldn't do enough for us upgrading us after a slight problem with the original room. There are parts of the hotel that could seriously do with refurbishment but in saying that our room was clean . The bed was great with lovely white bed linen. There's a great bar ( madigans) just down from the hotel . A lot of newer hotels in Dublin may be modern but they also lack the quality service that the Gresham has .

Room Tip: We had room 266 which was quiet and was at the back .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a posh hotel during a trip where we stayed mostly at time shares. It was spacious, clean, very modern and right in the center of the city. It is an easy walk to most of the local sights. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €17.00 overnight rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing