We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay at the Gresham hotel on Dublin’s O’Connell Street. Location of the hotel is very good; it’s situated across the road from all the major bus routes and all the open top tour buses. And within a 2 min walk from a large variety of shops and places to eat.
We got an AirLink bus straight from outside the airport to right outside the hotel for €6.00 which is very handy, saves paying for an expensive taxi!
On arrival at the hotel we had a slight problem, reception staff told us that our booking had been cancelled for some reason, which was concerning. But staff saw our booking receipt etc and rearranged another room for us without any problems.
We had booked a standard twin room which was of an average size (room 228), room overlooked the back/middle of the hotel, all we could see was air conditioning machines etc but this wasn’t a problem for us at all, still pretty quiet. Room has en suite but the shower didn’t work, only had cold water but there was a shower attachment to the bath which we used instead. Rooms were very clean and cleaners came in every day to change towels and bedding etc. If there was a Do Not Disturb sign on the doors the cleaners would leave towels and toiletries in a little basket for you.
Our booking was for Bed and Breakfast, the breakfast was pretty good, good Irish fry up with sausages, beans etc and a good selection of cereals, breads, yoghurts to choose from. Waiting staff were slow in clearing tables but they were kept on their toes by the guy running about in charge!
Only issue I really has for this hotel wasn’t really for the Hotel itself but for the street its situated on, as a smoker I was outside the front a fair bit and was continually harassed by beggars, drunks and the like asking for cigarettes and money etc, about 3 every time we went out, I did noticed when people did complain to the hotel one of the staff would go out and shoo them along but it was very annoying! Apparently it’s a big problem on O’Connell Street (which is the largest thoroughfare in Europe) that isn’t really being dealt with.
Overall I had a very good experience with this hotel and would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kez999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,637 - 2,643 of 4,457 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have stayed in the Gresham previously and have always found the hotel to be of a high standard, however, this trip did not live up to my expectations.

I was visiting with my mother and sister and therefore had booked a studio room for 3 people. Upon arrival the the receptionist, seeing that there were 3 people checked us in and gave us room keys. We were placed in a room that was towards the back of the hotel and was a considerable distance from reception, only to find that it was a double room.

My brother-in-law had arranged to have non-alcoholic sparkling wine and chocolates left in the room which had been put into the fridge and 2 champagne flutes had been left on the bedside cabinet. I rang reception to explain that we had booked a triple room and the man said he would check the booking and ring me back. We waited around ten minutes and got a call back to say this was their mistake and a porter would be at the room shortly to give us our new room keys.

The porter did arrive promptly we explained that we would require 3 glasses to be left in the new room he said he would get these sent up and left without offering any assistance with moving our luggage to the new, correct room. We then had to cart all of our luggage to a room situated on the 5th floor, even further from reception and being 37 weeks pregnant I found this extremely tiring having already travelled all day.

Upon entering the new room which was this time a triple it was evident that we had been downgraded. About 5 minutes later I answered a call from a girl who said she had been told we wanted glasses sent to our room and that there would be a 4 euro tray service per glass for these to be brought up but that we could feel free to come down and collect these ourselves. I responded to this by saying I wasn't prepared to pay as it had been their mistake. The glasses were eventually brought and were not even wine glasses.

The room was clean but very basic, the air conditioning did not work hence the room was over 25 degrees and highly uncomfortable. We had an extremely poor night's sleep as we contended with the noise coming from the nightclub across the way.

I telephoned the manager and highlighted all of these issues and barely got an apology let alone any offer to solve these problems. I was told that because we had booked through NIR railbreaks the hotel were not aware of how many guests would be checking in they were only told the standard of room we had paid for.

This response doesn't make any sense as all our documentation stated the room was a studio for 3 people and surely if they were told a standard of room then why were we downgraded as we had obviously paid for a superior room.

Breakfast was also mediocre, the range of food and drinks advertised on the menu was not available and service was poor. Overall, extremely disappointing in comparison to previous visits and I would not stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: try to avoid room 540 noisy from nightclub across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank illest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a very friendly and well located Hotel, we arrived via Ryan air and were able to buy a bus ticket on the flight which meant we were able to hop straight on the bus which dropped us right outside the hotel. Check in was simple and friendly, the room was lovely, very clean other reviews say a little dated, I would say very comfortable with everything that you needed. The rooms were very clean. We were right on O'Connell street which gave us great access to everywhere. The breakfast was a buffet but it was all hot and tasty. One of the really good things was at the weekend you could have breakfast till twelve which meant a nice sleep in and we even had a checkout that was twelve this made the whole weekend very relaxed. We left our bags until we needed to get our bus which was again right outside back the airport. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back if you can although there are very thick walls and we didn't hear a th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was really disappointed. Perhaps for Dublin this was a considered a 4 star hotel, but I really would consider it perhaps a 3 or less. Tiny rooms, noisy street and just nothing to write home about. Yes - clean but is that enough to recommend something?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylynn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Very central location, ideal for exploring Dublin, service was very good all staff very friendly. Rooms however were a little dated but were spotlessly clean. When we mentioned to friends that we were staying here they commented that it was supposed to be very "Grand" and posh but to be honest we didnt find anything "posh or grand" about it even though we were staying in deluxe rooms. With that being said we had a very pleasant stay, rooms were clean but nothing to get excited about design/furniture wise. Breakfast was nice too but it was a little annoying having to wait in a long queue for hit food. Overall, we had a pleasant stay in the Gresham and might return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frosty3Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Myself and my husband have just recently stayed at The Gresham for the fifth time so far this year. We have already booked to return again in September. It's such a wonderful, magical, absolutely charming hotel to stay in. Mr Andrew Walker and his fantastic team of staff ensure that the hotel runs like clockwork. The atmosphere of a warm and welcoming stay hits you as you walk through the revolving doors. The staff are so pleasant and helpful and the food is absolutely delicious. The room was beautiful and more than I had hoped for. The fact that we are returning next month to the Gresham says it all. Keep up the good work Mr Walker. You have a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location in Dublin.

Room Tip: The penthouse suite is a real luxury, highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Travel with a tour group. Nice location but the ship has sailed on style and upgrades. Our bathtub was so small and narrow that getting in and out was a safety hazard and real work. They sort of have A/C but it is centrally controlled by room, and you have to call the front desk (typically twice) each time you want to adjust the temperature 1 degree. What is up with that? Room was tiny, very small. Bed was OK. Noise was not bad. Restaurant was horrible, staff was new and grasp of simple English was poor (OK, not poor, non-existent). Rubber chicken and when my wife asked for a salad instead was told "No" This was once a great hotel but they need to revamp and start over, close for 12 months and upgrade. Recommend you look elsewhere (and the water came out brown from the faucet! They said plumbing work but they might have told us in advance?)

Room Tip: Front of hotel can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonomuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $110 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing