We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Birthday Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stay at the Gresham for business and decided to book for a three night weekend stay to celebrate my Daughter's 21st Birthday. As always the service, relaxed atmosphere, cleanliness and charm of the Gresham were first class

A special mention to Andrew Walker, the Front Office Manager, who went the extra mile to ensure that our stay was pleasurable, including giving us extended checkout time on the Sunday as my son's Girlfriend is expecting a baby.

Our party ranged from ages 56 down to 21, and everybody loved the Hotel

Best place to stay in Dublin!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMc1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewWalker, Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for comments regarding your stay at the Gresham Hotel,

I was delighted that you celebrate your daughters 21st Birthday with us and that yourself and your family enjoyed the stay within the hotel.

I would also like to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,351)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,625 - 2,631 of 4,352 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at the Gresham in June 2013 for a concert.

Great Location very accessible to the shops and plenty of choice of restaurants nearby. Rooms are dated but it is an older hotel. Impeccably clean.

My problem with my visit was an experience in the bar where i witnessed a man "dine and dash" the man ran from the bar without paying for his food or drink, the bar manager then proceeded to take the glasses of whiskey from the table and pour them back into the bottle( the men had drank from these glasses) highly unprofessional and put me off both my food and drink for the remainder of my stay. Very inappropriate and certainly not the way a 4* hotel/ bar should be run.
Will not be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here one night and decided to treat ourselves to The Gresham. Sadly it didn't live up to any standards at all. The hotel is old but clean. The Rooms were again old but clean. However our room overlooked O'Connell Street and the noise drove up crazy! Between people roaring, traffic and the taxi rank right below we didnt sleep much! Room was stuffy but we couldn't open a window! Also we were going to treat ourselves to breakfast in bed but didn't as the charge was €60 per person!! Was very dissapointed and wont be returning.

Room Tip: I can only recommend a room at the back of the hotel for a nights sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireDagger2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewWalker, Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for comments regarding your stay at the Gresham Hotel, it is only with this type of feedback that we can strive to improve the service we offer to our guests and resolve any issues experienced.

In relation to the room with our city central location there is certainly an element of noise that is unfortunately beyond our control and specifically rooms facing onto O'Connell Street are subject to the noises that can be expected within the hustle and bustle of a thriving city central location.

The benefit of these rooms however is the views onto one of Dublin's main streets which some of our guests specifically request.

We would have however been more than happy to offer one of our many alternative rooms with a location overlooking something other than the main street.

In relation to the windows whilst we do restrict the opening and closing operations of the windows due to safety elements as well as noise. The room occupied does have Air Conditioning available which is individually operated within the bedroom.

In relation to Room Service Breakfast there is a card within the room that displays the cost of €25.00 per person for Full Irish Breakfast or €18.00 per person for Continental Breakfast with the additional message of an option should breakfast already be included to have breakfast delivered to the room at a cost for tray service of €7.50 per person.

I can accept there is an additional option at a rate of €30.00 which would be for a half bottle of champagne and jug of orange juice.

I hope I have been able to answer your concerns through this response however should you feel that you would like to further discuss these or any other matters then please feel free to contact myself through the hotel directly.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed in the Gresham for the first time in May 2013. Really enjoyed our stay, staff were very helpful, service was excellent, room was comfortable large and spotless, food was beautiful and there was a lovely atmosphere around the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The Hotel is very central with good parking facilities. Looking forward to our next stay already!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here once again as I do on a regular basis when in Dublin. Great hotel staff and a great breakfast. very well located on O Connell Street. Always stay here if available. Highly recommended for the craic and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bingo822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is an excellent hotel , ideally situated to explore the charms of Dublin City. The staff were very helpful with the numerous enquires we made and nothing was any bother to them. Food and drink were reasonably costed and of a very high standard.
I would recommend this to anyone - theQueen should stay here the next time she is in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed in the Gresham for the first time last weekend. After having a tyre blowout enroute to Dublin we were still quite shaken when we arrived. Our drama was quickly forgotten once we entered the hotel. We were greeted on arrival by name at reception by a very welcoming young trainee, within minutes we were showen to our room. Despite the hotel being busy I found the staff present very focused to their customers needs. The room is very well appointed, with a world class bed. I think some other reviewers look at this hotel agnst new hotels built in the boom and for get of all the history behind it (it oozes character). location is unbeatable with taxis outside and bus, luas and train stations within seconds walk.
One thing I found great as a regular hotel user was breakfast untill 12, I think theres nothing better than breaking the normal routine and having a nice lie and still making breakfast.
Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#39 of 150 in Dublin
2,880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $137 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing