We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gresham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gresham Hotel
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel - perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hotel impressed from the outside and even more so in reception, the staff were friendly and our room was available even though we arrived early at 10.30am. Twin room at the back was smallish but quite adequate, it was very clean and very quiet at night. Room service was fast when we requested extra tea bags and milk at 11pm. Breakfast expensive at eu19.50 (eu 15.00 when ordered with booking) we found the Kylemore cafe 2 blocks down the street and only paid approx eu12.50 for breakfast for both of us- not big eaters we felt we could not do justice to the large buffet breakfast at the hotel. The location was great at the top of O'Connell St within walking distance of everything and especially as all the tour buses from various companies stopped just yards from the front door. We came in on the airport bus (eu7.00 each) which stops outside and when we purchased the 2 day open top bus tour tickets @eu20.00 each (Red Bus) we got free return airport bus tickets - which was great..

Room Tip: Room 303 small twin - was fine and most importantly very clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,730
    1,100
    536
    259
    124
See reviews for
517
1,684
193
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Huge breakfast with amazing choice. Centra, grt location & great value for money. Hard to fault. Advise booking directly with the hotel and people watching in the lobby . I Will be back without a doubt

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taraohARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is grand on the outside and does not disappoint inside. The staff were OK at check-in, not overly welcoming but not rude either; we had arrived earlier than the standard check-in time and were given a room, which was great.

Our double room was at the back of the hotel, it was a nice spacious room and we liked that there was a separate shower cubical rather than just a shower over a bath (there was also a bath). Plenty of soft white towels and toiletries (which is handy for those travelling on restricted luggage allowances). The bed sheets were lovely and you could indicate if you wanted them changed or OK to sleep on again.

Breakfast was a full choice of hot and cold options and would cater to all tastes. The only thing that let the hotel down was that the breakfast staff seem busy and not focused on the customers: we had to wait until our breakfast was almost over on one day before we could get anyone’s attention for tea or coffee, on another day the restaurant was almost empty, but the staff were more focused on setting up new tables rather than clearing tables of customers. A small thing for the hotel to work on for an otherwise lovely stay.

Very handy when arriving that the AirCoach stop is straight outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolly_Dreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Gresham has been dispensing gracious hospitality for perhaps a hundred years now, and it retains the character of a 19th century hotel while providing 21st century amenities and comfort. The service is exquisitely courteous, helpful, and friendly without being over-familiar. The twin room was small but comfortable; the bath could do with an update but was adequate; and the location could not be better. The hotel is convenient to shopping, sightseeing (the hop-on/hop-off bus is just steps away), theatres, pubs, and restaurants. For a major city hotel, the cost is well within reason, especially in terms of value. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtadams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

just returned after 3 nights at the Gresham It was an excellent Hotel We had a room at the back not much of a view but as it was only used for sleeping in there was no problem The room was large and quiet, clean and comfortable with towels changed daily and sheets as often as you wanted. The breakfasts were one of the best we have had at any Hotel the choice was great you could have a full Irish choosing what and how much you wanted or continental again having a good choice or if you wanted some of both you could. All the staff were polite helpful and nothing was too much trouble The Hotel is situated on the main street and is only a minute from the bus stop for the hop on hop off tour buses(at the side of the Hotel) It is also only a two or three minute walk from the main shopping area If I return I will most certainly stay at the Gresham again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meganWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights recently on a bed and breakfast basis. Check in was quick and efficient. I had e-mailed asking for a quiet room and that's what we got. Room 448 was very comfortable with everything we needed for our short break. However, for a hotel which claims to be one of the top in Dublin it could do better.

The duvets on the single beds are very narrow so when you turn in bed you get cold. The bathroom is in need of an update, the shower needs to run for 5 mins + to warm up.

My worst gripe was at breakfast the first morning. We both went to get hot food and left our tea on the table, when we returned a waitress had put our tea on a tray of dirty dishes. When I said to her that we weren't finished she proceeded to lift our cups off the tray of dirty dishes and place them back on the table and left. My cutlery had also been lifted so I had to go looking for a knife.

I have to say I did expect better from a hotel of this standard.

We had no further problems and we did enjoy our stay and the Gresham and if in Dublin again I would have no hesitation in booking again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

my friend and i stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and nothing went wrong. The rooms were nice and big and so were the bathrooms. Everyone that worked there was extremly friendly and helped us out on everything we needed, from calling us a taxi to telling us where we should go for dinner. Also you could just walk straight to temple bar within 5 minutes or less!! Would deff. stay here again on my next trip to dublin

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessparis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#47 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#26 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wynn's Hotel
Wynn's Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Property: Gresham Hotel
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €16.50 overnight rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing