We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Gresham was one of the most luxurious hotels I've ever stayed. I'll be totally honest in that I was a little intimidated when I stepped into the lobby because it was so impressive. I was concerned the staff would be snooty or look down on me, as I was exhausted from my overseas flight and quite ragged when I first arrived.

I am pleased to say that this was not the case at all. The staff was quick to accomodate and happy to make me as comfortable as possible. The rooms were absolutely beautiful, even equipped with an American outlet so I could recharge my phone while I slept and recharged myself as well.

The location of the Gresham is so convenient to anything you'd want to do in Dublin. Nearly all the great attractions are within a few blocks walking distance, or if it's too cold, rainy (or snowy like when we were there) cabs are abundant right outside the door of the hotel.

I'm hoping to get to spend some time in Dublin again in the near future and I'll definitely want to spend time at the Gresham again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calencoriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,860 - 2,866 of 4,495 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hi! Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Gresham in February. Lots of our friends were saying this hotel is very stylish. And they were right, I think it was one of the best looking hotels I've ever been to. Atmosphere was amazing, high quality costumer service, very clean room and absolutely comfortable beds, such a good sleep :) Location?-Just couldn't be better! in the heart of Dublin city. Delicious breakfast. We had an option with late check out -around 2pm but still we could leave our luggage in the hotel and stay bit longer in town. Beside the entrance to the hotel is a pub with the smoothest and blackest pints of Guinness, pop in! Absolutely loved this place and looking forward to coming back in nearest future!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylwiaB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I have just spent Easter weekend at The Gresham. On arriving the staff were very friendly and helpful, and there was a relaxed atmosphere. We stayed for 3 nights, and found this to be a great central base, with loads of taxi's and bus stops nearby. There is a tour bus stop about 20 yards from the front of the hotel. All of the resturant and bar staff were friendly and made conversation. Food was delicious and reasonably priced for hotel. We had the best 3 nights sleep in ages.The rooms were to a very high standard, and very clean. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Dublin!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in the Gresham for 1 night Easter saturday night and had a a lovely room and all was great, friendly staff,breakfast top class and they let us stay unil 1pm as i asked about a late checkout f.o.c.
The noise was a bit much as we hada great view looking over O'Connell street but lots of noise from traffic. All went quiet at 8am Sunday morning as they closed the street and i was just falling asleep when the band started up to practice for the 1916 commemoration ceremony which we watched hanging out of our window. This was a rare treat to watch and the president and lots of folk was there.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tullymore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Gresham for four days over St. Patricks Day weekend. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was very nice. It was surprisingly large and well appointed, and had a modern look. The restaurant and bar in the lobby was also nice, with friendly, attentive staff and reasonable prices. The location, however, is by far the best feature of the hotel. It is on O'Connell, which is the main drag through Dublin city center, and the hotel is within walking distance of nearly everything you could want to see or do in Dublin. We had a spectacular stay, and can't recommend the Gresham Hotel enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie_and_Amber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Check in was great, all staff so pleasant and chirpy with a "hello and how are you" each time, room was small but really quiet and clean. 5thfloor so tucked away high up and far from noise! Restaurant food was great. Bar was nice. It's still got that old world charm and good service which is so lacking In more "modern" stuck up hotels. I'd stay again most definitely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAncientMariner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room was very clean and quiet as I got a room at the back of the hotel. Tea and coffee facilities available and tv with selection of channels. The bed was very comfortable. I ate in the restaurant twice and both times it was very good, with friendly service. I had breakfast in the lobby with coffee and a delicious scone served with butter and jam. I would recommend this hotel as it is close to many tourist sights and the airport bus stops outside the door.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmacl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $165 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing