We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visa debit = 2nd rate service and discrimination???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Write a Review

4,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,900
    1,252
    605
    294
    140
See reviews for
579
1,904
218
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here on business recently and was really pleased to have booked the Gresham. My room was large with a seperate seating area and the free wifi worked brilliantly. The location is perfect with the airport bus stopping right outside and its only a short walk toTemple Bar which saved.

The breakfast was about average for a hotel breakfast but did offer a couple of Irish dishes which was a nice touch. I didn't try the bar but it did look a cut above what I would have expected at this price range. Overall excellent value and would definitely recommend as a base for a trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombledavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

we stayed her for one night while going to a gig in temple bar. we arrived at 11.45am, hoping to leave our bag off but was told that they had a room ready. check in staff were very nice. room was a good size with double and single bed, not overly warm but that suits me. comfortable bed. very good breakfast with large choice of fried and continental. this is a lovely old hotel with a grand lobby and is very well known. have always wanted to stay and we got a very good deal including breakfast on the net. great location. the only slight downside was that our room (556) was overlooking a narrow street which was not that busy but buses appear to use it to access o'connell street and this was quite noisy from 5.30am on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letterkenny1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked a room at the Gresham a year in advance of the 2013 St. Patrick's Day celebrations and am glad I did as the Gresham was the only hotel I could find on the parade route that would guarantee (for a modest fee) a room overlooking O'Connell Street. Knowing how thick the crowds on the street are for the parades and how contrary the Irish weather can be, it was a pleasure photographing both the People's Parade and the traditional parade from the comfort of my room as I sipped Tullamore Dew. The room was spacious and warm, the bed was extremely comfortable and both breakfast in the restaurant and dinner in the bar were more than adequate. This is a 4 star establishment which means it isn't inexpensive but, when I go to Ireland, I go to have a great time and money is no object. I would highly recommend the Gresham to anyone with a like attitude.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanquhar04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A quite high price for the general service and room. Lack sympathy on check-in.
The toilet shampoos behind the mirror... difficulties in finding.
The first night is noot god due the sort duvet. We need ask for more blanket in the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ana Filipa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Gresham while away for work and was delighted with my stay. I found very pleasant staff, polite housekeeping and a lovely comfortable room. The location is perfect for the city centre ameneties, there are always plenty of taxi's and the airport coach also drops off right outside.
The bar/ lounge is lovely and I can recommend the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura201127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have just returned from a trip to Dublin, and had a great time! During my stay in Dublin, I stayed at the Gresham Hotel. The hotel is in a great location in Dublin. Everything is within walking distrance from the hotel. Temple Bar is about a 5 minute walk, the Guiness Storehouse is about a 15-20 minute walk, and St. Patricks Cathedral is about 15 minutes away. The hotel itself is very comfortable. Check in and check out was very quick and easy, and the rooms in the hotel are nice. Our room had an outlet for American style electrical sockets, and 110v electricity. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again. The best thing about the hotel is definitely the location, but the rooms and ammentities of the hotel are also nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiadawg96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#52 of 151 in Dublin
3,340 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing