We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Hotel but good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Crossmaglen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Average Hotel but good Location”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The rooms are very plain and even in the more expensive rooms in Lavery area would be the same in a normal good hotel elsewhere. I was given card keys to a room I was told had twin beds. Not only was it a double room but people where already staying there and we had walked in. Breakfast was cold and the night security guys were very rude and need to course in how to treat their customers correctly. I can say that my guests were shocked at the attitude of the night security staff We asked to use a photocopier but none was available. I had paid for 3 rooms 810 euro and had plans to run a seminar here in the future. Not now.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrossmaglenDiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,901
    1,253
    605
    294
    140
See reviews for
579
1,905
218
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here on a very wet ,windy night. The public rooms were very ornate but cosy.Our room was small and very ordinary. 340.I am happy with the Laterooms price considering the location but I would not have been happy if I had to pay the full room rate. Breakfast was ok.The waiting staff in the Writers Lounge were very efficent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slemishbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
243 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nignts in the Gresham.
The room was nice and warm, the staff were helpful and the location of this hotel cannot be surpassed. We dined in the Writers Restaurant and aslo Toddy's. The food was very good.
The breakfasts in the Gallery were great, especially the FRESHLY SQUEEZED ORANGE JUICE. (Other hotels should note this)
I would recommend the Gresham to anyone staying in central Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel is well located on O'Connell street. Brilliant for me as i was on my own as it meant that i was central enough and the buses dropped me right outside the hotel.
The lounge areas are beautifully decorated and make this hotel feel very grand. The room i was staying in was in need of some TLC but on the whole was well decorated and clean and presentable it just needed a few tweaks to make it prefect but nothing that detracted from the room. It was quiet and very comfy. The beds are extreamly comfy and I slept well both nights.
The one side of the hotel that i do think needs a bit of work is the food service. I waited in the lounge twice for over 20 minutes waiting to be served and when i asked if it was lounge service or if i had to go to the bar the waiter said he wasnt sure. I found it a little awkward as i was on my own as it meant leaving my table to go and order and not being sure if my table would still be there when i got back!!
Breakfast was ok and the food was general ok and well priced.
I will definitely be boking again for the hotel and will look forward to returning. If you go make sure that you have a Raspberry bellini

Room Tip: I ended up with a deluxe room which was lovely although didnt have the best view but then i wasnt th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Gresham Hotel with my boyfriend for my birthday and enjoyed an excellent overnight stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I enjoyed a delightful afternoon tea in the Writer's Lounge seated at the window looking over O'Connel street. We were served by a lovely woman named Deborah who was very polite and friendly. The decor of the foyer and lounge was beautiful and our bedroom was spacious with a comfortable bed and a view of O'Connel street. Unfortunately having a front of hotel room meant it was rather noisy at night and I did not sleep well in the early hours of the morning. I have stayed here previously with my mother and we had a twin bedroom (unfortunately a rather small room) at the back of the hotel and we both slept well that night. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Gresham and will happily return again the next time I stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My mother who is nearly 90 yrs of age stayed with her partner and had nothing but nice things to say about her stay at the Gresham. Good food accommodation was lovely and the staff were very helpful. She has stayed before and enjoys the central location for getting round the city. Th hotel car park is very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervilleashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on 30th of January the staff at booking in were very helpful and arranged a qiuet room for us .The room was very modern and comfortable Breakfast was great very good selection staff very friendly. Bar was lovely and quiet but restful will return in the future .hotel is in a great location for visiting the attractions which are nearby

Room Tip: the reception staff advised on where we would have a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneilldocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,739 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing