We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed last Saturday night with my boyfriend. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. We were upgraded to a delux room on arrival - a real treat! Lovely big spacious room. Did not have breakfast but did have lunch in the foyer which was good - service was a little slow - a minor complaint. Great location and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen7ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,916
    1,265
    608
    300
    142
See reviews for
587
1,924
219
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Gresham is a lovely hotel right in the heart of Dublin's main thoroughfare. Its old fashioned grandeur is mingled flawlessly with all the mod cons one could need. The staff are friendly, professional and efficient. The food is delicious and service very good. A great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetrave182l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Gresham is an historic grand old hotel which has been visited by many notables in its long history. Despite its age, it has been well maintained in impressive condition. The location makes it a perfect place to stay while exploring the friendly city of Dublin. The helpful staff and in-house restaurants and lounges make it a comfortable and handy place to stay. We would stay at the Gresham again, no question.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights (Thursday, November 8 - Sunday, November 11, 2012) visiting friends in Dublin/Drogheda

-Still a gorgeous gem of a hotel - I always stay here when I'm in Dublin
-As previously stated, central to everything being in middle of O'Connell Street
-I love that it's an old hotel & I like the charm it has. I love just being in the space.

-room 569 was in the Lavery wing which I highly recommend as opposed to the standard rooms as I have heard those can be (but not all) a bit lackluster & in need of a refreshment. Also, the Lavery rooms are much bigger.
-room was large, lovely bathroom (with separate shower stall) & no-steam mirrors.
-although I kept the "Do not disturb" on my door for the days I stayed, a bag of fresh towels/toiletries were placed outside my door each morning just in case I wanted to use them (nice touch!)
-nice tea/coffee making facilities. Well stocked
-free WiFi which was quick, no problems
-lots of closet & storage space in dresser drawers

Room Tip: Lavery Wing rooms are much better & although about 40Euro more expensive, I think it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NFgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

lovely hotel right in the center of Dublin. I felt it was a bit expensive as breakfast was not included for the rate of the room. The room was clean and comfy but it was noisy in the morning think we were next to a store room where you could hear cleaners rolling things around. We were on the fifth floor and the window was draughty and noisey. For convenience in Dublin we would stay here again staff very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: higher floors may have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Gresham is a proper grown-up hotel, with a proper grown-up foyer and a proper grown-up bar that mixes proper grown-up drinks. The staff are welcoming, helpful and......grown-ups. Our room, a standard double, was not expensive, nicely laid out and very comfortable with (you guessed) a proper grown-up bath in a handsomely sized bathroom.

I have, however, three small reservations. It doesn't make enough of the literary connections, and that's a shame because I'd have enjoyed my stay even more if I'd realised I was sitting at a bar frequented by James Joyce. There was no tea and coffee in the room. The interiors are nicely laid out in deep red, tans and browns but the carpet in the foyer and bar is blue and should be in an airport.

I think we chose well. The 'boutique' hotels down by the river are eye-wateringly expensive, and while O'Connell Street isn't the Faubourg Saint-Germain it is a stylish start to a walking tour of what is probably the most welcoming city I've ever been to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dellzeqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff of the Gresham are very obliging and generous. This means everything. It's an expensive hotel, but Ireland has its infrastructural limitations which come as a surprise from--well, from anywhere else. You may be surprised that you are dressed in every piece of warm clothing you brought because attending a conference in the Gresham could mean you are sitting for hours in an unheated room, in November! In two days I developed chapped lips but I never left the hotel environment.
The internet didn't work but the people on staff were terrific. Sangor especially, who insisted he and his team had a solution to everything at any hour of the day or night.
The best bit was an evening at Toddy's where Adam took me by the metaphoric hand and showed me a good time--at the bar, at the table. Had the best steak of my life. Perfection service.

Room Tip: Be ready for internet connectivity dodginess, the business centre is expensive and unheated. In the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#37 of 151 in Dublin
2,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,494 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing