We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gresham - a proper hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Gresham - a proper hotel”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Gresham is a proper grown-up hotel, with a proper grown-up foyer and a proper grown-up bar that mixes proper grown-up drinks. The staff are welcoming, helpful and......grown-ups. Our room, a standard double, was not expensive, nicely laid out and very comfortable with (you guessed) a proper grown-up bath in a handsomely sized bathroom.

I have, however, three small reservations. It doesn't make enough of the literary connections, and that's a shame because I'd have enjoyed my stay even more if I'd realised I was sitting at a bar frequented by James Joyce. There was no tea and coffee in the room. The interiors are nicely laid out in deep red, tans and browns but the carpet in the foyer and bar is blue and should be in an airport.

I think we chose well. The 'boutique' hotels down by the river are eye-wateringly expensive, and while O'Connell Street isn't the Faubourg Saint-Germain it is a stylish start to a walking tour of what is probably the most welcoming city I've ever been to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dellzeqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,920
    1,267
    610
    301
    145
See reviews for
590
1,927
221
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff of the Gresham are very obliging and generous. This means everything. It's an expensive hotel, but Ireland has its infrastructural limitations which come as a surprise from--well, from anywhere else. You may be surprised that you are dressed in every piece of warm clothing you brought because attending a conference in the Gresham could mean you are sitting for hours in an unheated room, in November! In two days I developed chapped lips but I never left the hotel environment.
The internet didn't work but the people on staff were terrific. Sangor especially, who insisted he and his team had a solution to everything at any hour of the day or night.
The best bit was an evening at Toddy's where Adam took me by the metaphoric hand and showed me a good time--at the bar, at the table. Had the best steak of my life. Perfection service.

Room Tip: Be ready for internet connectivity dodginess, the business centre is expensive and unheated. In the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went over for the rugby and this was out first stay in the Gresham, which is very well placed on O'Connell Street. The airport shuttle literally stops outside and the return stop is opposite.
Staff were friendly and helpful, especially the concierge Charlie.
We had a lovely suite, which was very large, with a separate sofa and dining table with a second TV. The room was onlyl et down by some shabby decorating and finishes in the bathroom.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Séamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel has a great location, looks elegant and the staff are very pleasant. However I had a double room on the 5th (top floor). Because of its Georgian facade, by the time you reach the 5th floor the windows are small and are set high in the wall meaning no view. The double rooms are snug. The heating control kept cutting out which meant the room was frequently chilled. The Saturday night was busy in the hotel so on Sunday morning even quite early the hot water for the shower did not reach the 5th floor and I had to use the room kettle for hot water to enable me to shave . I had friends staying on the 1st and 2nd floors who did not have the same problem. There was no bottled water supplied in the room and the mini bar was empty which is usually a sign that the hotel does not trust its guests. The coffee mugs in the room were not washed properly and rubbish was left for hours in the room passageways.
I think the hotel will slowly descend to a 3 star and then be turned into a department store. If it was my hotel I would give the GM a kick up the bottom and tell him to sort these issues out. It can get back to its former glory but it needs to change now.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We ended our trip in Ireland with a splurge, staying at the Gresham hotel. Their prices are a bit high but the rooms were great and the location was ideal. Being right on O'Connell street, we were centrally located for everything we wanted to do on our last day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My daughter and I came to Ireland to celebrate her 17th birthday last month. We stayed 3 nights at the Gresham Hotel which is centrally located in Dublin. The experience was a delight. We were allowed to check in early upon our arrival and had a spacious room with a double and single bed. Flat screen TV and free wi-fi to boot. We were steps away from the shopping of O'Connell Street and a short walk to the bus station. The hotel has the charm of old world Dublin rather than the sleek modern look that seems cold. The desk staff were wonderfully pleasant and helpful. We put the DO NOT DISTURB sign out while we were on a day trip and returned to find a large wicker hamper full of clean towels, new soaps/shampoos etc.just outside the door. I could not say enough nice things about the Gresham...give it a try on your next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tpabucsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Me & my husband try to get to Dublin a few times a year. We have stayed in a few other hotels for convience to maybe the O2 arena once but we always seem to come back to The Gresham. As this was yet again another wonderful stay, I felt I should actually sit down & let others know just how good the hotel & staff actually are. As soon as we arrived we were told our room would be up-graded for simply booking through the hotels website. The rooms are always lovely but this room was amazing. Breakfast every morning is the best I've had in any hotel I've stayed the selection is fantastic & the staff are always so friendly & helpful. I look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,774 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,502 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing