We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Blue Steak Memories” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gresham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gresham Hotel
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
accra
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Blue Steak Memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff of the Gresham are very obliging and generous. This means everything. It's an expensive hotel, but Ireland has its infrastructural limitations which come as a surprise from--well, from anywhere else. You may be surprised that you are dressed in every piece of warm clothing you brought because attending a conference in the Gresham could mean you are sitting for hours in an unheated room, in November! In two days I developed chapped lips but I never left the hotel environment.
The internet didn't work but the people on staff were terrific. Sangor especially, who insisted he and his team had a solution to everything at any hour of the day or night.
The best bit was an evening at Toddy's where Adam took me by the metaphoric hand and showed me a good time--at the bar, at the table. Had the best steak of my life. Perfection service.

Room Tip: Be ready for internet connectivity dodginess, the business centre is expensive and unheated. In the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,730
    1,101
    536
    260
    124
See reviews for
518
1,685
193
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went over for the rugby and this was out first stay in the Gresham, which is very well placed on O'Connell Street. The airport shuttle literally stops outside and the return stop is opposite.
Staff were friendly and helpful, especially the concierge Charlie.
We had a lovely suite, which was very large, with a separate sofa and dining table with a second TV. The room was onlyl et down by some shabby decorating and finishes in the bathroom.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Séamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel has a great location, looks elegant and the staff are very pleasant. However I had a double room on the 5th (top floor). Because of its Georgian facade, by the time you reach the 5th floor the windows are small and are set high in the wall meaning no view. The double rooms are snug. The heating control kept cutting out which meant the room was frequently chilled. The Saturday night was busy in the hotel so on Sunday morning even quite early the hot water for the shower did not reach the 5th floor and I had to use the room kettle for hot water to enable me to shave . I had friends staying on the 1st and 2nd floors who did not have the same problem. There was no bottled water supplied in the room and the mini bar was empty which is usually a sign that the hotel does not trust its guests. The coffee mugs in the room were not washed properly and rubbish was left for hours in the room passageways.
I think the hotel will slowly descend to a 3 star and then be turned into a department store. If it was my hotel I would give the GM a kick up the bottom and tell him to sort these issues out. It can get back to its former glory but it needs to change now.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We ended our trip in Ireland with a splurge, staying at the Gresham hotel. Their prices are a bit high but the rooms were great and the location was ideal. Being right on O'Connell street, we were centrally located for everything we wanted to do on our last day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My daughter and I came to Ireland to celebrate her 17th birthday last month. We stayed 3 nights at the Gresham Hotel which is centrally located in Dublin. The experience was a delight. We were allowed to check in early upon our arrival and had a spacious room with a double and single bed. Flat screen TV and free wi-fi to boot. We were steps away from the shopping of O'Connell Street and a short walk to the bus station. The hotel has the charm of old world Dublin rather than the sleek modern look that seems cold. The desk staff were wonderfully pleasant and helpful. We put the DO NOT DISTURB sign out while we were on a day trip and returned to find a large wicker hamper full of clean towels, new soaps/shampoos etc.just outside the door. I could not say enough nice things about the Gresham...give it a try on your next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tpabucsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Me & my husband try to get to Dublin a few times a year. We have stayed in a few other hotels for convience to maybe the O2 arena once but we always seem to come back to The Gresham. As this was yet again another wonderful stay, I felt I should actually sit down & let others know just how good the hotel & staff actually are. As soon as we arrived we were told our room would be up-graded for simply booking through the hotels website. The rooms are always lovely but this room was amazing. Breakfast every morning is the best I've had in any hotel I've stayed the selection is fantastic & the staff are always so friendly & helpful. I look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in a few hotels in Dublin but the Gresham Hotel is the one we will definitely go back to. Driving in Dublin is not easy if unfamiliar with Dublin; but the directions provided by the hotel were detailed and easy to follow. On arrival at the hotel in O'Connell Street and at reception we were dealt with quickly and efficiently; the receptionist was helpful and informative. Our room was bright, it was spacious, with two lounge chairs and table to compliment the large comfortable bed. The en-suite bathroom was also spacious with a bath and separate shower enclosure and had a selection of toiletries. Information about hotel and other local amenities was provided in the room. The only fault with our room was a wardrobe door which needed some fiddling to close; a minor issue for the hotel maintenance staff to fix. The hotel is centrally located with easy access to all the local tourist attractions and shopping areas. We had an excellent evening meal in the hotel served by very friendly bar-restaurant staff. We fully recommend this hotel and as stated previously will definitely go back.
Glenn, Lisburn

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#26 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wynn's Hotel
Wynn's Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gresham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gresham Hotel

Property: Gresham Hotel
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell St., Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gresham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €16.50 overnight rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gresham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing