We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here on saturday night having booked room only through travelrepublic at a great rate of 84euros only for my daughter and myself.On arrival to our room it was a double and we had booked a twin,but this was rectified quickly and got a huge room with a double and single bed plus a sofa.We went to see the brilliant dirty dancing musical at the grand canal theatre and the taxi rank just opposite hotel was very handy.I will return if i get the same deal again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,349)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,180 - 3,186 of 4,350 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

Have known this hotel for many years, this was the first time to stay in it, on a weekend break. Excellent central location. It was better than expected, being much improved after a makeover a few years ago. Still a wee bit old fashioned, but that's what's nice about Dublin's character. We had a good comfortable room at the back, no view but very quiet. Be aware some Dublin hotels can be very noisy with rowdy revelers, not conducive to a good night's sleep. Air-con heating worked fine and WiFi free. Breakfast substantial with good choice. Didn't sample evening food. Staff very friendly. 149 Euro per night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erudite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed three nights from Friday to Monday for my Partner's birthday, requested a nice room overlooking O'Connell st.Got the view but the room was disappointing a little on the small size and the toilet seat was battered and the flusher broke on a couple of occasions .We were offered a change of room on the last night but we decided to stay put as i got it working myself.The staff at the reception area very friendly and helpful,but the same could not be said for the bar staff in Toddy's bar no Irish welcome here then maybe they were not Irish i don't know for they never spoke enough to tell.The whole set up could do with a good shake up to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

There is nothing wrong with the Gresham - had I stayed here 10 years ago I'd imagine I'd have been more impressed; however, in Post-Celtic Tiger Ireland we're accustomed to being a little spoiled for choice when it comes to hotels here - it's hard to find fault with this hotel other than the fact that is it a little tired and dated looking in places and fails to compete with some of its more modern contemporaries. However what it does have is history, charm and a location that no novelty can match so if you go with the idea that it is an old hotel and keep an open mind then you won't be disappointed.

The location is fantastic, the check in staff were welcoming and efficient and the room was clean. We were in the Lavery Rooms which are newer I understand - on the walk there you can see that the walls in the hall are worn in places and there is a musty smell. The room was fine although the decor was dated in the bathroom - again I'm clutching at straws...

Breakfast was fine with a large variety of options although I thought it would have looked better if the juices were with the rest of the food rather than being left for the staff to dispense as the we had to get our own from a booth with some dirty and clean dishes on it. Thought the bar was lovely and the staff were great - however they permitted me to drink far too many of the divine champagne cocktails on for Valentine's Night - for which the hotel suited as it is quiet, relaxing and has an air of sophistication

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed overnight at the Gresham on a realtively cheap deal - 89Euros for two. This was a room only deal which suited us as we had an early flight from Dublin Airport the next day. Although we arrived very early having come down on the first train from Belfast we were able to check in to our room (around 9.30 a.m. - it probably helped that it was February so the hotel was proabbly not too busy). Our room was in the Lavery corridor - looked recently refurbished. Very nicely decorated with ample space. Bed very comfortable. Room was at the back of the hotel so pretty quiet. Another plus for the hotel is that there is an Aircoach stop (to and from Dublin Airport) just outside the hotel on O'Connel Street - although a taxi driver approached us in the morning at the stop and offered to take us for the same cost as the Aircoach fare - which we accepted.
It's a very pleasant hotel - quiet and understated but from my experience, efficiently run.

Room Tip: The Lavery 'corridor' did appear to be reurbished - new carpet down on the main corridor com...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pillhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Fantastic Hotel, great service and a warm welcome upon arrival. The hotel also offers secure parking which is very affordable. Something almost impossible to find in the centre of Dublin! The staff were all pleasant and we got a room at the front of the building looking right down O'Connell Street!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The hotel facilities, employees and food were excellent. i would definately advise anyone to book a short break to the gresham.

Room Tip: if you are a smoker the 5th floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 150 in Dublin
4,574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#39 of 150 in Dublin
2,874 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $137 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing