We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great location, the decor has contemporary touches yet manages to preserve the best of 'old' Dublin. Everything is on the doorstep of the hotel, traditional department stores, the Gate Theatre and the Savoy Cinema is next door. The hotel Writers' Lounge is wonderful for a coffee break, a wee drink or light snack. A delightful venue to meet people or just spend time reading or people watching. The staff are always at attendance with friendly exchange if wanted and plain good service if you want a quite time. I brought my mum to stay and apart from memories of her wedding reception at the hotel...some 60 years ago and recall of her first formal dance, the overall environment facilitated a great family break. Although out and about constantly over the few days our comfortable bedroom, tasty breakfast....with piping hot tea...they must heat the teapot in the old fashioned way.....set us up nicely for the day ahead. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,261 - 3,267 of 4,428 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

My two friends and I stayed in the Gresham on Thursday night. We loved the large seated area off reception and in the bar. Ideal place to site, chat and watch the world go by and when you step outside you are in the heart of the city center. We were very surprised at the large and very comfortable room and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was as good as you would get anywhere. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We booked this through a "grabone" deal and after reading that guests with vouchers usually end up in the cheap rooms we were a little apprehensive. On checking in I asked for a nice room and we ended up on the 4th floor. The room had been refurbished, no problems with being cold and the water was hot. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast as the hot food was lukewarm but the porridge made up for it - absolutely lovely. We found the staff really friendly and helpful. Having paid £73 for double room including breakfast, bottle of wine and late check out I really can't complain.

Room Tip: ask for a room on 4th or 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Gresham and loved every minute of our experience in the Elizabeth Taylor suite
Service was warm and friendly and the location puts it at the centre of everything Dublin has to offer.
We have been singing the praises of this hotel since our wonderful night there and will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briangoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time in the Gresham 8th to 10th December 2011.on our arrival we were greeted by Yvonne-a lovely Wexford girl who was helpful and gracious throughout our stay. Our room was clean and welcoming. During our stay the staff was attentive, courteous and always willing to help. The full Irish breakfast was a superb foundation for our day of shopping, site-seeing and then chilling. Lots of shops were within walking distance and if a taxi was needed-sure they're queued up at the front door of the hotel. In the afternoon/evening "the writers lounge" and cocktail bar provided a pleasant atmosphere to relax eat or drink. Our room's facilities-TV and internet allowed us to unwind before a peaceful/comfortable sleep. Every aspect of our stay was spot-on. Thank you to Michael O'Sullivan and the Gresham team. We hope to see you again soon. Kieran and Patricia Girvan.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girvan782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Some positives....got a great deal with Grabone, 85 euro for 1 night/2 people inc full irish PLUS bottle of wine.
Very pleasant and efficient staff at check in, breakfast was standard buffet fare, nothing special but perfectly acceptable.
It's been mentioned before here but some of the rooms are very run down and are a complete contrast to the imposing facade and elegant lobby.

We booked 3 rooms and all were on the 1st floor and all poorly maintained ...ok, we didn't pay a lot and didn't expect the Presidential Suite but bath panel hanging off, wall tiles broken, bathroom window handles broken, toilet seat sitting askew.......oh dear !

These faults should not exist in a four star hotel ....do the hotel management not carry out audits to ensure proper standards are adhered to ? What about the tourist board who administer the star rating system ?

Finally, we left feeling we had been shoved into "steerage" for daring to look for a bargain

Room Tip: avoid the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fierb0is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed in the Gresham Hotel at the beginning of January to celebrate the start of the new year and what an amazing place to do so. We had a fantastic stay!! The staff were very helpful and always with a smile, lovely food and great location. We will definitely be returning to the Gresham!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 151 in Dublin
4,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $114 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing