We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Ranked #56 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad but noisy”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I've stayed in the Gresham before and it's been comfortable but not exceptional and this was my experience again.
The room and general environs are clean - spotless actually: I had the club sandwich for supper and it was really lovely and the waiter working the lobby was friendly and efficient. My main problem was the noise, which came from two separate sources. The first was the service lift, I was in room 300 and it was right beside a service lift that creaked and slithered up and down its cable all night accompanied with the opening and closing of doors that sounded like Hammer Horror side effects. The second source was the street noise, I had a front facing room which was lovely for the view over O'Connell Street but the noise was shocking, it was also a bit chilly. It's testament to the comfortable bed and linens that I managed to salvage about 5 hrs sleep. Breakfast was fine - I'm just a coffee and toast person so I don't get much insight into breakfast unless the service is horrendous. The wifi was free but the parking was 12.50 overnight and the car park is slightly inconvenient to get to.
I would stay here again but I would ask for a quiet room away from the service lift and you need to balance your need for a view with your tolerance of street noise.

Room Tip: Avoid room 300 which is beside the lift, front facing rooms are noisy but have a lovely view, parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    1,230
    593
    286
    135
See reviews for
575
1,877
216
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (823)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Stayed here and it was fantastic as always. Hotel itself is extremely clean and comfortable and staff are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

We ate in todds and although they had ordered the wrong dinner for myself they brough out a replacement within a matter of minutes and also offered discount. The food was absoloutely fab and the price was very, very reasonable.

Will def stay at this hotel again very soon :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psd
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We did go ahead and pay $50 more per night for an upgrade but it was worth it. The room was great and it was the best breakfast we had on our entire trip to Ireland. The location is convenient and within walking distance of 99% of everything you'd want to see in Dublin.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra money in order to get a Lavery executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed there on a 1 day trip to DUB. It's fine for those who just want a clean & quiet room. It's location is Ok with the major sites within walking distance. The front desk staff was super and let me check in early. There is a good pub next door. Ride the 747 bus in from the airport. It is 10 euros with return VS 40 to 60 for a cab. All in all I would stay there again. It would help if they put larger watt bulbs in the room lamps. The room is kind of dim.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vatoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I had previously stayed at the Gresham and the room I was given was good. This time however, despite being a superior room, it was noisy, overlooking the rear service lane and the windows are old and do not shut property therefore despite being 4th floor it was awful and smelt of cooking. The air con is not good and very difficult to control - old again, and it just turns around without changing the temperature. The bathroom was in need of a makeover with chipped wood door surround. Although the bed was comfortable and big this was the only good point. Waited over 20 mins for room service to answer the phone to be brought a very average turkey sandwich with thin turkey and cheap brown bread at extortionate price! Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one not overlooking rear service road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I am embarrassed to be Irish! honestly, i have travelled to some places through my career but this place. . . words fail me. For a D1 address i expected more. Service is shockingly poor, the food is below average. The rooms are very old and smell of stale smoke. No to little hot water! Again words fail me how bad this hotel really is considering you can head to the south of the city which is far nicer and you have the Radisson Hotel, Bewleys and so much more on your door step.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magnium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

First, this hotel is VERY large. I was here on business, but most of the clientel seemed to be here on tours (maybe large tour companies coordinated the booking?). My room had a slightly antique feel, but was clean and bathrooms updated. Internet was ethernet OR wireless which was nice. The front desk staff was nice and the location is GREAT (10 minute walk to Temple Bar and hotel is on a main street which feel active and safe at night). I felt completely comfortable as a woman walking by myself from the hotel to the temple bar district with all the restaurants and pubs. Some of the more historical touristy places (st. patrick's square, cathedral) are a little more south & might be too far to walk. Also convenient: there is a line of taxis that wait immediately outside the hotel. Easy transport to airport since on the northern side of downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Practicaltraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#45 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Property: Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing