We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything absolutely excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything absolutely excellent.”
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Excellent - everything absolutely fantastic. Location awesome. Staff excellent. Rooms stunning, beautifully appointed - shower AMAZING. Loved it. Gorgeous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_bmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,676
    635
    222
    69
    44
See reviews for
402
1,218
117
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Lovely hotel ,beds v comfortable.
Our room was quiet-thought would be noisy as location is just on Stephen's Green. The green can tend to be a bit noisy as there is a large nightclub about 6 doors down but was pleasantly surprised.
Lovely toiletries in the bathroom
Good hotel but lacked warmth and if you are going for drinks I wouldn't bother having one here are there are far better bars and pubs around than this one

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Hotel checking in was excellent, room perfect, bathroom and linen totally spotless. Nice toiletries. Bed very comfortable indeed.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HarrogateGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Stayed at the Fitzwilliam Hotel in Dublin recently - the location of the hotel is fantastic from being so close the social & shopping scenes, to just watching the world go by Stephen's Green in the lobby sipping a glass of vino. The staff are very professional, friendly, and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble for them. Loved the bedroom, with 4 poster bed, plasma tv and stereo system - not to mention the comp apples by the lift! Would recommend this hotel for any type of stay in Dublin - accommodates all!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommentGirlIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Was in town for St. Patrick's Day from the states. Second year in a row but first time at the Fitzwilliam. After an all night flight we arrived at the hotel around 7 am and was very surprised to be shown right to my room.

Smaller room but plenty big enough and lots of nice amenities. For instance a cd player, free wireless and more.

You cannot beat the location, being at the top of Grafton Street. And I thought the staff was fabulous.

I really loved the power/rain shower in the bathroom. Everything was very clean and I loved the turn down service and nightly treats.

Breakfast was included and fantastic. Very enjoyable and good service.

I ordered room service one evening at it was magnificent. I was embarrassed to find out that they don't make provisions to add a tip on to the room service bill you sign and did not have anything smaller than a 50 euro. The room service waiter was so gracious, assuring me that the hotel paid him for his services and I should not feel bad at all.

The next day, I tracked him down through the management and made sure he got his tip but he was so polite and understanding.

I highly recommend it all the way around.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesehead88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I have recently returned from a hort break in dublin. The Fitzwilliam is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. My husband and i do like a nice hotel and always book a 5 star hotel. The hotel, the staff, the service etc was second to none. I can highly reccomend this hotel. It is close to bars, shops, resturants, transport tourist bus, tourist attractions etc etc..............

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyfunbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

I traveled to Dublin Ireland March 26-29, 2009 because I had never been there and decided I wanted to get away somewhere I had never been. I selected the Fitzwilliam from a travel site that had rated it an "Insider Select". When traveling in Europe I try to stay at more modern hotels. I am use to the comforts found in American 4-Star & 5-Star hotels. So when traveling around Europe I am usually a wee bit dissapointed in my accomodations. The Fitzwilliam was cetrally located to all the Major Tourist Sites, close to exciting nightlife, just off Grafton Street (shopping), overlooking St. STephen's Green. I did pay extra so I would be overlooking the park. The room itself was a bit small which is why I did not give it 5-Stars. However I was prepared for this. Most rooms in Europe are small. The view was great. My room was on the 4th floor and had a small deck I could have my breakfast croissant on. The bed was comfortable with down pillows and comfort. The Flat screen TV was large and easily seen from the bed.

The bathroom which I tend to rate hotels and restaurants on primarily was fantastic. You can hide a world of sins with dark carpet, bleached sheets and a large painting but it is very hard to cover up neglect in the bathroom. There was no mildew, it had recently been renovated, the water pressure was excellent, towels clean, fresh and replaced daily. There were some complaints on-line about the size of the shower curtain. I did not understand this complaint before I arrived. The tub is an oversized tube, about 6' long and about 2.5' deep. The shower curtain only extends about 4.5' of the stub from the shower head end. It is a contemporary design and only people that can't walk and chew gum would flood the bathroom! I did not get so much as a drop of water on the floor.

The Staff was friendly and accommodating. I arrived at 10 am and figured my room would not be ready till at least Noon at the absolute earliest. To my surprise my room was ready and I could take a nap by 10:15. I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone 25 - 60 years old or loves the modern contemporary style. The tubs are a little tall for the elderly to easily get into and out of.

The Internet was free in the rooms. It was a bit slow at times but I could still get my e-mail and Google information. The bar was hopping and the restaurant was good. The fresh flowers in the room were a nice touch. The Gym is very small. A Cycle, treadmill and a set of weights but I don't travel to workout.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChaseChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,938 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 127-128 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing