We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a special place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed her for one night, a special night away before Christmas. This hotel was amazing, from the minute we arrived until the moment we left we were very well treated, we felt like nothing was too much. All the staff were attentive, friendly and seemed to be happy in their work. The room was well equipped, we had a view of St Stephens Green and a small balcony, the room was a good size for a city centre room. The bar was good and the lobby area had a lovely welcoming fire. Breakfast was excellent, all wrapped up with 24 hours parking for €10, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fidelma69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Fidelma69_12,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted to read the two of you enjoyed your stay so much! We always focus on having an exceptionally friendly and helpful team and it is really great that you experienced those values.

I have passed your positive feedback on to the team, as comments such as yours makes everyone's day!

Fidelma69_12, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 2,826 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for her 30th birthday last January ( I know it was a while ago!).

It was supposed to be one of those memorable trips, a lovely relaxing weekend in a lovely city. It was memorable alright....

Very long story short; Set off nice and early and by Monsterboice the car had almost expired, some running repairs go us a few miles, ( thanks to the Monsterboice hotel who provided lots of jugs of water for the car and zero thanks to the extremely grumpy car garage down the road from the hotel who barely could hold a conversation. The world owed that guy a favour! By Balbriggan it was dead completely. So like any normal person would do, (it's now about 6pm) we ditched the car and got a train to Dublin!!

Into the hotel looking like a pair of drowned rats, with my hands covered in oil, we had a good laugh at the Reception desk with very friendly staff who were probably glad it hasn't happened to them! It did manage to get us a room upgrade though!
The room was lovely, not huge but sufficient, there was a nice big 4 poster bed, super cool bathroom with built in speakers etc and a good size tv at the end of the bed. Bath had a massive rain shower over it, good pressure and loads if hot water. There were 2 big windows looking out over the Green and what looked like a balcony but it was too wet to try and venture out!

Down for dinner and it appeared the restaurant manager felt sorry for us too! We had originally booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package, but we had missed the set menu..... Not to be deterred, the manager basically told us to order 3 courses off the a la carte menu and after the day you have had it would be the least they could do!!
So feeling a little embarrassed that the world knew our story, we had a really really fabulous meal, topped off by the kind of strange but very very tasty Strawberry & basil soup. You have to try it!

There is a good cocktail menu in the bar downstairs, it wasn't very busy when we were there and there was no entertainment either but that was not a real issue for us.

It's in a pretty good location for shopping & sightseeing etc and really handy if you have a car as it has its own car park. I did not get to try this as mine was in Balbriggian waiting to get towed home, grrrrr......!

Give it a go. Dublin's great, so is the Fitzwilliam, there are cheaper hotels out there, but you do however get what you pay for!


  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oggie165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Oggie165,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your visit to the city last January. I don't think you'll forget your journey down to us for some time! I am really pleased you found the team friendly and helpful.

After the journey you had I'm not surprised that you decided to stay in the hotel and enjoy the facilities on offer. I am delighted you had an opportunity to dine in Citron and have a cocktail or two in the Inn on the Green; both areas have very creative teams and I have passed you kind comments on to them.

Oggie165, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Booked to stay Christmas period! Great location right at the city center, very clean with excellent quality of service. What really makes this hotel different and special apart from the 5 star rating is the great attention on details and at the same time the unique decoration of the rooms. Very clean and fully equipped. I recommend this hotel with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Superior Room was a pleasant surprise! Excellent quality and comfort, spacious room with a very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Nick K,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city over the Christmas period.

I am really pleased you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and the excellent quality of service. I have passed your kind comments on to the team, as feedback such as yours makes everyone's day!

Nick K, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Excellent hotel with amazing service.
The rooms are good and quite large. We were there for a conference and the service was perfect with all involved.
Breakfast and lunch we very good.
The location is very good right across from the park and beside Grafton St. with all the shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadieTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear SadieTO,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city for your conference. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service amazing. I have passed your kind comments on to the team, as feedback such as yours makes everyone's day!

Our central location certainly makes exploring the city very easy and I am really please that you had an opportunity to do so.

SadieTO, should business or leisure bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Booked a stay here for a special occasion and was not disappointed. Warm welcome and great service, right down to the little things such as chocolates with the optional turn down, door men opening the doors, porters calling the lifts, and more. Car parking was conveniently located in the basement. The central location gives you lots of options for going out.

Room Tip: Spend that little bit extra to get a superior room, and be sure to check out the options if you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoneOfYoBizness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear NoneOFYoBizness,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.

Our central location certainly means you can leave your car in our car park and walk out the front doors onto St. Stephen's Green and all that the city centre has to offer.

I sincerely hope that when you next travel to Dublin that we will have an opportunity to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Can't imagine a hotel in Dublin with a better location? The FitzWilliam is really in the best spot and the rooms, service and personnel are really nice. My only concern was the access on St Stephens Green, as there are major road works currently in progress, installing a tram or something, and finding the hotel with all the temporary one way roads was a bit confusing. But if coming in by taxi absolutely no problem!

On the bright side, I thought the front desk staff were extremely helpful and the pub was fun. Did not eat in the famous Michelin star restaurant but will save that for next time!

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th or 6th floor if I remember correctly, and it was very quiet. I think the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Hilly B,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, rooms and service.

The Luas (Tram) works are taking place on a phased basis; access to the hotel is maintained at all times and our concierge team are more than happy to assist with directions to the hotel.

I am delighted you found the front desk team extremely helpful and I have passed your kind comments on to them.

Hopefully you will get an opportunity to dine in Thornton's on your next visit to Dublin. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fitzwilliam in the near future.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights this December having stayed in the Westin in Dublin last Christmas. Although the service is probably 5 star, the rest of the hotel definitely isn't - the rooms are just ok (not much better than a Jury's and incredibly warm) and the bar is awful! It's like a 3 star cafe! Back to the Westin next time...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vegas0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Vegas06-08,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following recent visit to the city. I am pleased to read you experienced five star service during your stay.

I am sorry that you did not like the décor of the rooms or bar and I have passed your comments on the relevant parties for review.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,485 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Address: 127-128 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D02 HE18, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $228 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing