We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only we could have stayed longer?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If only we could have stayed longer?”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

With hotels, the adage is usually quite true: you get what you pay for. With the Fitzwilliam Hotel, we got every penny's worth! Our room was comfortable, luxurious, and impeccably clean. Hotel staff were courteous and helpful, and dinner at Thorton's was the best meal I've ever eaten. Truly the stay of a lifetime--if only we could have stayed longer!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Natalie S,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am really delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thornton's is a very special dining experience and it is great hat you had an opportunity to dine there.

I have passed you kind comments on to the team, as feedback such as your makes everyone's day.

Natalie we look forward to welcoming both of you back for a longer stay the next time you visit Dublin!

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    599
    208
    65
    42
See reviews for
369
1,156
112
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here recently on a Saturday night. We got a lovely friendly welcome, beautiful 4 poster bed in our room which had a lovely view of St Stephens Green. The room was so quiet considering the city centre location. Its location for shopping is second to none, we could easily return to the hotel and drop off our shopping. The staff were exceptionally good from the front desk to the barman. Special thanks to Egle and her front desk team for their care and attention. The location of the hotel mean we could easily walk to some amazing restaurants and enjoy the city without the hassle of taxis. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinaman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear VincentHely,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you received a friendly welcome and that you enjoyed your quiet room, overlooking St. Stephen's Green.

The central location of the hotel certainly makes exploring all that the city has to offer really easy.

I was particularly pleased to read you found the team exceptionally good and in particular Egle and her Front Office team. I have passed your kind comments on, as feedback such as yours makes everyone's day!

VincentHely, should your travels bring you to Dublin again, we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

By far the most pleasant surprise in my many trips to Dublin. After traveling nearly 18 hours and arriving at DUB at dawn, I was rather exhausted and in need of a shower. The friendly and welcoming staff had a room ready for me, having anticipated my arrival time. I was taken to my room by a front desk staffer who was lovely and gave me the run-down of all the bells and whistles, including a fantastic stereo system with speakers throughout the room, bathroom and foyer. It was nice to have a foyer to simply keep my suitcase on a stand, as I was only staying in Dublin for a couple of nights. That said, there was plenty of storage space and a safe. The "garden view" was really unimpressive, but it's Dublin! You're not going to be in your room much.

There was a lovely seating area next to the window, complete with an orchid. The room felt very modern, yet warm. The bed was absolutely delightful, as were the pillows that you can select from a pillow menu! The bathroom is quite modern for an Irish hotel, but short folks should be forewarned – The shower/bathtub is quite deep, and I can only imagine how difficult it would be for someone shorter then say 5'8 to climb in and out. I'm 5'11 and was cautious. This is typical of any European hotel, though. I really enjoyed the little things like arriving back at the end of a long day to find chocolates on my bed with turndown service, and candles in both the guestroom and bathroom.

Located directly across from St. Stephen's Green and a mere block off Grafton St., the location simply couldn't be better. There's also a Luas stop practically at the doorstep. Additionally, Thornton's restaurant located above the hotel is one of the finest restaurants in all of Dublin. I highly recommend the chef's tasting menu and wine pairing. I did pop into the hotel's lounge/restaurant, and was rather unimpressed. I just didn't like the vibe. This isn't a big deal, as there is always Thornton's upstairs or a plethora of other fantastic pubs and restaurants right at your doorstep.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room facing the green if you plan on spending time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear pdx2006,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. Where possible we will always aim to accommodate early arriving guests, particularly when they have been travelling for many hours. I am delighted that the team took care of you on arrival and that we had a room ready for you. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the room design, décor and amenities.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your tranquil, "garden view". May I suggest that on future stays you reserve a room overlooking St. Stephen's Green.

The central location of the hotel certainly makes exploring the city sights, shops, restaurants and bars exceptionally easy. Thornton's is a Michelin starred restaurant and it is a very special dining experience and it is wonderful that you the opportunity to eat dinner there.

pdx2006, should your travels bring you to Dublin again, we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.


With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

There are not many high standard hotels that I have not staying in in Dublin, but finally I got to stay here.............it's one of the best at what they do, from the second you get the car parked for you to the minute you check out that whole experience is fantastic, the rooms are fresh modern and clean with all the amenities one could need for a comfort stay, the bar is of the same standard, breakfast is one not to be missed as they carry everything you might need to satisfy every palate.
I am already looking forward to my next stay

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Sean F,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I was particularly pleased to read you enjoyed the high levels of service you received, from the moment you arrived, to departure.

We believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we aim to provide as wide a variety of options as possible for our guests. I am really pleased to read you had the opportunity to have breakfast and that you enjoyed the experience.

Sean F, should your travels bring you to Dublin again, we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my nights at fitzwilliam. Staff and hotel are lovely and comfortable. Rooms are impeccable however a bit small with long long hallways to get there. However bathroom is delightful, clean and full of great amenities hard to find in Irish hotels. Candles in bathroom and bedroom are a lovely touch. Curtains are barely big enough for privacy and early morning light... However all else at Fitzwilliam hotel is divine. Comfortable bed, lovely linen and great lighting choices.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkleMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear SparkleMermaid,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the room, bathroom and the amenities contained within.

I note your comment regarding the curtains and I would appreciate if you would contact me directly as I would like to determine which room you stayed in, so that I can rectify this matter.

I am delighted that you found the team lovely and everything else in the hotel "devine"! I have passed your kind comments on to the team as feedback such as yours makes everyone's day!

SparkleMermaid, should your travels bring you to Dublin again, we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A lovely clean, central, friendly, outstanding hotel. Beautifully decorated room, upgraded upon arrival and parking included. The concierge "Jacob" from Finland is very helpful and nothing is a problem. All requests from room service were very prompt and never a problem. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Lovely room sunny side looking over Saint Stephens Green. Had the window open at night, the noise w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Jane C,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, overlooking St. Stephen's Green; it makes exploring the city's sights exceptionally easy. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your upgraded room.

I am delighted that you found the team friendly and prompt in their service delivery. Jarrko is a valued member of the Concierge team; I have passed your kind comments on to him as feedback such as yours would make anyone's day!

Jane C, should your travels bring you to Dublin again, we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were bumped from the Shelbourne at the last minute and placed in the Fitzwilliam, just a few blocks away. While it wasn't our first choice, it turned out to be completely fine. It's in an unbeatable location, across from St. Stephens Green and in walking distance to most attractions, like Trinity College. The rooms are comfortable. Service was perfect. Breakfast was tasty, too. It's a modern/chic hotel. While our preference was for a historic/venerable hotel like the Shelbourne, Firzwilliam turned out to quite nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Myrtleavenj,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, overlooking St. Stephen's Green; it makes exploring the city's sights exceptionally easy. I realise that your preference is historic buildings and it was really great to read you enjoyed the décor and comfort of the hotel.

I am really pleased that you found the service perfect and I have passed your kind comments on to the team.

Myrtleavenj, should your travels bring you to Dublin again, we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing