We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

we sandwiched a two week trip to Ireland with a 2 day stay at the beginning, and a 1 day stay at the very end at the Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin. the location is ideal, being on one corner of St. Stephens Green. the Luas light rail train has one line that begins right outside the front door, and Grafton street is right around the corner! we were wowed by our welcome upon both arrivals, both at 6 am, coming from the airport, and at noon on our last day of our trip. the concierge services were outstanding, especially Viktor, who made sure we had reservations for afternoon tea at a competing hotel for our last day, even before we left for our around Ireland travels.
the rooms were very comfortable, we had a twin bedded room both times. there was a fresh orchid in our room upon our arrival, and chocolates were delivered mid afternoon, with a note welcoming us to the hotel. turndown service with more chocolates was another service provided!. there were nice terry cloth robes in the bathroom, slippers were in a cupboard, and all the possible amenities provided in the bath, including a tub deep enough to have a really nice soak, plenty of hot water, and a hand held shower along with the regular shower. they provided an iron, ironing board, and a pants press, and included a small sewing kit, shoe polish kit and qtips as one of the regular items. bottled water was in the cash bar, but offered for free, and a tea set and kettle was found in one of the many cupboards!
breakfast daily was one of the best we found in ireland, sundays they have a more complete buffet set up with hot dishes, but during the week anything you could possibly want could be ordered from the kitchen. some of the best scones we had were at the Fitzwilliam, and they had excellent service from very friendly staff in the breakfast room. we also enjoyed a light lunch on our last day in the bar, where the staff was also very welcoming and friendly, and the food was excellent! definitely a place i can recommend with no reservation!
oh and another thing we liked, the AC was excellent, which we appreciated on the 80+ degree days with no rain we experienced for 2 weeks in Ireland!

Room Tip: we didn't have any issues with either room, and don't know what to suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Kathleen G,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you enjoyed both stays so much. Our location is certainly very central and makes exploring the city exceptionally easy. I have passed your kind comments on to the team and in particular to Viktor and the bar team.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the comfort, décor and amenities of the bedrooms. AC is always beneficial and even more so at the time of your visit! Temperatures have cooled down somewhat since your visit.

It is great that you had the opportunity to have breakfast and lunch with us, as the chefs take huge pride in presenting a high quality and extensive breakfast and lunch.

Kathleen G, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,570 - 1,576 of 2,789 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for a night at the beginning of June... fantastic location at the top of Grafton Street,great parking under the hotel (Bit tricky to find but its behind the college of surgeons carpark entrance) and rooms(we were in rm 552 looking onto the courtyard)&staff were lovely....I would definately look forward to staying another time when in the Capital and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Kayla 9,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the central location of the hotel. We provide valet parking from the front of the hotel, for all guests arriving by car. I am sorry that you found it a little tricky to locate the car park; since your stay we have increased the directional signage to the car park.

Kayla 9, I am really pleased to read you found the team lovely and on behalf of all the team we look forward to the opportunity to welcome both of you back to the hotel in the future.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel was ok. Nice, clean, basic room. Nice use of small space. Good interior design. (One thing I also liked was that the safe can accommodate taking in a Mac.) The people at the reception and the concierge were all very accommodating and nice. Very helpful. What I liked about the hotel is that it is just walking distance from the must-see places in Dublin for tourists. Very near the theater where they had "Riverdance." Walking distance from numerous pubs, restaurants, churches, the castle, St. Stephen's Green.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Bernadette F,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the contemporary design of the hotel. We have a number of different room types and sizes and I note from your photograph that you stayed in an executive room. We have a number of other categories that offer a more spacious footprint and should you plan to visit us again we would be delighted to go through the various options with you.

The location of the hotel does make it very easy to explore the city on foot or indeed stroll down the street to The Gaiety Theatre.

Bernadette F, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam in the future.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in the Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin. It is situated on St. Stephen's Green - great location for shopping on Grafton Street! I chose this hotel as I had previously stayed in the Fitzwilliam in Belfast and was happy with my stay there. We booked a dinner package using the hotel's website.
We parked our car at the front door and valet parking was provided-at an extra cost of €10. We checked in and were shown to our room. Features of the room were explained-mini bar with complementary water, CD player, safe, air conditioning, etc. Very clean and comfortable double room with plenty of space. Fresh flowers provided. Modern and clean bathroom with good quality toiletries and plenty of mirrors. Robes and slippers were provided also. Minor detail-the towels could have been of better quality/fluffier.
We ate in the Citron Restaurant-pre-theatre menu as we were attending the Michael Buble concert in the O2 and had to leave early. The menu was limited-3 choices for starter, main and dessert, but the food was excellent. Service in the restaurant was excellent also.
While we were at the concert, our room was checked and a couple of chocolates left on the pillow-nice touch.
The next morning we had breakfast-plenty of delicious choices. Good service again. Check out at 12pm-quick process. We collected our car from the basement and headed home after an enjoyable stay. We would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: We noticed when leaving that there are rooms with balconies overlooking St. Stephen's Green. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Alison-Michael,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay so much. I'm sure that the concert added to the memories of your visit to Dublin.

I was really pleased to read you enjoyed the location, room amenities, food quality and service received. I have passed your kind comments on to the team.

We provide a complimentary valet parking service and a preferential 24-hour parking rate of €10 to all our guests arriving by car and I am pleased that you availed of this service.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the towels; upon investigation it transpires that a few sub-standard towels were in circulation - they have since been removed.

Alison-Michael, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam and to a balcony room overlooking St. Stephens' Green!

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the Fitzwilliam for 3 nights over a weekend in July. Reception was efficient and pleasant even though our room was not available when we arrived at 11 AM. Our room was lovely with a view of St. Stephens Park and a balcony. The air conditioning worked great in spite of the unseasonal heat then prevailing in Dublin.

Location is great. Across the street from the park and a very short walk to Grafton Street with lots of shops and restaurants.

Service at the hotel was great. We had breakfast in the restaurant every day. Food was good, service pleasant and efficient. Concierges were helpful and knowledgeable.

All in all a positive experience.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with a view of St. Stpehens Park are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctbjr1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear ctbjr1309,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. The temperatures have cooled down somewhat over the past day or so - however we still need our AC!

I am really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location and service great. Whilst we will make every effort to accommodate early arriving guests, if the hotel is full the night before room availability is completely dependent of having "early departing" guests. The only way to guarantee an "early check-in" at busy times is to reserve a room from the night prior to arrival.

I am delighted that you had the opportunity to stay in a balcony room overlooking St. Stephen's Green; they are wonderful rooms, particularly at this time of year.

Ctbjr1309, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

with kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for business in July, 2013. I would highly recommend it to all considering it. It is in a great location - within walking distance to all sorts of attractions (Trinity College, Downtown Dublin, great pubs, restaurants, etc..) and across the street from the St. Stephens Green Luas (train) stop. Bonus: there is also a Starbucks and grocery store around the corner!

In addition to the location, the service at the Fitzwilliam is outstanding...some of the best service we have ever received. Every time we had a question or a need, it was answered immediately. At one point, we needed a converter for our flat iron. We called the front desk and requested one, and they had someone at our door in less than two minutes. Every request that we had was dealt with efficiently and in a friendly way.

The room was spacious (by European standards) and modern. We had a room that overlooked the garden, so it was quiet and peaceful.

If you are traveling to Dublin and looking for a centrally located hotel with great service, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel does sit on a busy street, so if that is a concern, ask for a room facing away from the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishIWasTravlngNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear WishIWasTravlng,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay so much and in particular that you found the service outstanding. I have passed your kind comments on to the team, as feedback such as yours makes our day!

WishIWasTravelng should business or leisure bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We always tend to stay at the Fitzwilliam when in Dublin on business. It is very centrally located and has a boutique feel about it. Service is generally very good although checking in and out can take some time if you are unlucky to arrive when there are a few people already doing so.
Rooms are reasonable size and are well equipped. Beds and pillows are extremely comfy.
One piece of advice, stay away from rooms on the second floor numbered 230 and above. I have stayed in two of these rooms and there is noise from 5:30 onwards of trolleys being wheeled up and down nearby (I think in the hotel) that lasts for about an hour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Mark A,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city and for your loyalty in choosing to stay at the hotel on each visit. The central location of the hotel certainly makes access to businesses and leisure facilities exceptionally easy.

I am pleased to read you find the service generally very good and that you enjoy the comfort that our bedrooms provide. Mark A, I am sorry that you have encountered some delays on check out as we have our reception desk fully staffed. I have noted your comments regarding early morning noise; I have determined that it came from outside the hotel in a nearby building and that the matter has been resolved.

Mark A, I would really appreciate if you contacted me directly so that I can update your details to reflect your preference for a different room and also to discuss some alternative options for check-out.

Should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 151 in Dublin
594 reviews
2.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Address: 127-128 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D02 HE18, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $228 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing