We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for a night at the beginning of June... fantastic location at the top of Grafton Street,great parking under the hotel (Bit tricky to find but its behind the college of surgeons carpark entrance) and rooms(we were in rm 552 looking onto the courtyard)&staff were lovely....I would definately look forward to staying another time when in the Capital and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Kayla 9,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the central location of the hotel. We provide valet parking from the front of the hotel, for all guests arriving by car. I am sorry that you found it a little tricky to locate the car park; since your stay we have increased the directional signage to the car park.

Kayla 9, I am really pleased to read you found the team lovely and on behalf of all the team we look forward to the opportunity to welcome both of you back to the hotel in the future.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,555
    592
    203
    65
    42
See reviews for
365
1,137
109
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel was ok. Nice, clean, basic room. Nice use of small space. Good interior design. (One thing I also liked was that the safe can accommodate taking in a Mac.) The people at the reception and the concierge were all very accommodating and nice. Very helpful. What I liked about the hotel is that it is just walking distance from the must-see places in Dublin for tourists. Very near the theater where they had "Riverdance." Walking distance from numerous pubs, restaurants, churches, the castle, St. Stephen's Green.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Bernadette F,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the contemporary design of the hotel. We have a number of different room types and sizes and I note from your photograph that you stayed in an executive room. We have a number of other categories that offer a more spacious footprint and should you plan to visit us again we would be delighted to go through the various options with you.

The location of the hotel does make it very easy to explore the city on foot or indeed stroll down the street to The Gaiety Theatre.

Bernadette F, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam in the future.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh-Co.Tyrone-Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in the Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin. It is situated on St. Stephen's Green - great location for shopping on Grafton Street! I chose this hotel as I had previously stayed in the Fitzwilliam in Belfast and was happy with my stay there. We booked a dinner package using the hotel's website.
We parked our car at the front door and valet parking was provided-at an extra cost of €10. We checked in and were shown to our room. Features of the room were explained-mini bar with complementary water, CD player, safe, air conditioning, etc. Very clean and comfortable double room with plenty of space. Fresh flowers provided. Modern and clean bathroom with good quality toiletries and plenty of mirrors. Robes and slippers were provided also. Minor detail-the towels could have been of better quality/fluffier.
We ate in the Citron Restaurant-pre-theatre menu as we were attending the Michael Buble concert in the O2 and had to leave early. The menu was limited-3 choices for starter, main and dessert, but the food was excellent. Service in the restaurant was excellent also.
While we were at the concert, our room was checked and a couple of chocolates left on the pillow-nice touch.
The next morning we had breakfast-plenty of delicious choices. Good service again. Check out at 12pm-quick process. We collected our car from the basement and headed home after an enjoyable stay. We would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: We noticed when leaving that there are rooms with balconies overlooking St. Stephen's Green. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Alison-Michael,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your stay so much. I'm sure that the concert added to the memories of your visit to Dublin.

I was really pleased to read you enjoyed the location, room amenities, food quality and service received. I have passed your kind comments on to the team.

We provide a complimentary valet parking service and a preferential 24-hour parking rate of €10 to all our guests arriving by car and I am pleased that you availed of this service.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the towels; upon investigation it transpires that a few sub-standard towels were in circulation - they have since been removed.

Alison-Michael, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome both of you back to The Fitzwilliam and to a balcony room overlooking St. Stephens' Green!

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the Fitzwilliam for 3 nights over a weekend in July. Reception was efficient and pleasant even though our room was not available when we arrived at 11 AM. Our room was lovely with a view of St. Stephens Park and a balcony. The air conditioning worked great in spite of the unseasonal heat then prevailing in Dublin.

Location is great. Across the street from the park and a very short walk to Grafton Street with lots of shops and restaurants.

Service at the hotel was great. We had breakfast in the restaurant every day. Food was good, service pleasant and efficient. Concierges were helpful and knowledgeable.

All in all a positive experience.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with a view of St. Stpehens Park are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbjr1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear ctbjr1309,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. The temperatures have cooled down somewhat over the past day or so - however we still need our AC!

I am really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location and service great. Whilst we will make every effort to accommodate early arriving guests, if the hotel is full the night before room availability is completely dependent of having "early departing" guests. The only way to guarantee an "early check-in" at busy times is to reserve a room from the night prior to arrival.

I am delighted that you had the opportunity to stay in a balcony room overlooking St. Stephen's Green; they are wonderful rooms, particularly at this time of year.

Ctbjr1309, should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

with kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for business in July, 2013. I would highly recommend it to all considering it. It is in a great location - within walking distance to all sorts of attractions (Trinity College, Downtown Dublin, great pubs, restaurants, etc..) and across the street from the St. Stephens Green Luas (train) stop. Bonus: there is also a Starbucks and grocery store around the corner!

In addition to the location, the service at the Fitzwilliam is outstanding...some of the best service we have ever received. Every time we had a question or a need, it was answered immediately. At one point, we needed a converter for our flat iron. We called the front desk and requested one, and they had someone at our door in less than two minutes. Every request that we had was dealt with efficiently and in a friendly way.

The room was spacious (by European standards) and modern. We had a room that overlooked the garden, so it was quiet and peaceful.

If you are traveling to Dublin and looking for a centrally located hotel with great service, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel does sit on a busy street, so if that is a concern, ask for a room facing away from the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishIWasTravlngNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear WishIWasTravlng,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay so much and in particular that you found the service outstanding. I have passed your kind comments on to the team, as feedback such as yours makes our day!

WishIWasTravelng should business or leisure bring you to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We always tend to stay at the Fitzwilliam when in Dublin on business. It is very centrally located and has a boutique feel about it. Service is generally very good although checking in and out can take some time if you are unlucky to arrive when there are a few people already doing so.
Rooms are reasonable size and are well equipped. Beds and pillows are extremely comfy.
One piece of advice, stay away from rooms on the second floor numbered 230 and above. I have stayed in two of these rooms and there is noise from 5:30 onwards of trolleys being wheeled up and down nearby (I think in the hotel) that lasts for about an hour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mark A,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city and for your loyalty in choosing to stay at the hotel on each visit. The central location of the hotel certainly makes access to businesses and leisure facilities exceptionally easy.

I am pleased to read you find the service generally very good and that you enjoy the comfort that our bedrooms provide. Mark A, I am sorry that you have encountered some delays on check out as we have our reception desk fully staffed. I have noted your comments regarding early morning noise; I have determined that it came from outside the hotel in a nearby building and that the matter has been resolved.

Mark A, I would really appreciate if you contacted me directly so that I can update your details to reflect your preference for a different room and also to discuss some alternative options for check-out.

Should your travels bring you to Dublin again we would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were originally supposed to stay at Westin Dublin and had to change at the last minute. What a great surprise the Fitzwilliam turned out to be. Location is fantastic - walking distance to several Grafton Street restaurants, at a corner entrance to St. Stephen's Green and right next door to a mall. Rooms are compact, but elegantly decorated in rich plums and greens with built in window seats and a roomy tub. Candles and nightly chocolates a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKTravelingRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFitzwilliamDub, Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear CKTravelingRunner,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit to the city and last minute change of hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Our location is certainly very central and makes exploring the city very easy.

I was very pleased tor read you enjoyed the bedroom décor and the amenities contained within the rooms.

CKTravelingRunner, should your travels bring you and your family to Dublin again we would be delighted to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,

Corah Caples
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,753 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing