We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Fitzwilliam Hotel is by far, the best hotel I have stayed at in all my trips to Europe. The staff is amazing - friendly, attentive, and welcoming. The room was absolutely lovely! I loved the decor and seating by the window. The location was KEY! Walk outside and you have Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Temple Bar, and... Gino's for delicious gelato and crepes! There are great restaurants all in walking distance! Tons of Carrolls for all your souvenirs. The hop on - hop off bus tour is right there as well as the train if you want to visit nearby towns. Howth is a short distance on that train and you quickly get to see the countryside & water! Taxis are always available outside. Really, what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor viewing the inside courtyard. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Becky R,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I was delighted to read we were your preferred hotel out of all the European hotels that you have stayed in.

I was particularly pleased to read you found the team friendly, attentive and welcoming and that you enjoyed the room decor.

Our location is certainly central and makes exploring all that the city has to offer very easy. It sounds like you did a very good job exploring Dublin and the surrounding areas!

Beck R, should business or pleasure bring you back to Dublin in the future, we would love to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,


Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    579
    201
    61
    41
See reviews for
347
1,115
106
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is right on St. Stevens Green. It's in an excellent location. It's a newer hotel. The staff is welcoming and accommodating. The value for the room and service you get is right on. They provide apples on each floor. Let's face it, we don't get enough fruit while on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear LucyInLA,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Our location is certainly central to the sights, shops, restaurants and bars.

I was equally pleased to read you found the team welcoming and accommodating and the service "right on".

Our apples are certainly popular with our guests and I'm glad that you enjoyed them!

LucyInLA, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fitzwilliam in the near future.

With kind regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We travelled over to Ireland for my wifes's 40th birthday and had the good fortune to stay at this fabulous hotel. We knew that we were going to be treated well from the moment we received a call from Elisa in Reservations. She was lovely and so very helpful. We were treated to free cocktails, and the provison of chocolate birthday cake for my wife on our arrival at the hotel was a lovely touch. The fantastic service continued when we checked in and the manager at reception (Martin?) was so very warm and friendly, and we were extremely impressed when we returned to the hotel some 4 days later that he remembered our names. Unfortunately whilst we cant remember his name, that is no reflection upon him as he helped make our stay so enjoyable. Indeed, we had enjoyed ourselves so much the first time around that we returned to the Fitzwilliam after a few days away in Kinsale and again it was Elisa who made all the arrangements for us. We had a fantastic room with a balcony overlooking St Stephens Green and the hotel was perfectly located for shops, restaurants and bars. The bar staff and catering staff, along with the concierge were all equally helpful, friendly and welcoming. We loved our two nights at the Fitzwilliam and can't wait to return. We wouldnt consider staying anywhere else in Dublin.

Room Tip: Room 506 - a spacious balcony with views towards the Dublin mountains to one side, and towards the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear NWRC,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope that your wife thoroughly enjoyed her birthday celebrations!

Elisa is a lovely young lady and I have taken the liberty of passing on your kind comments to her. I have also ensured that the Concierge team received a copy of your kind feedback. It is a strong endorsement of your enjoyment that you returned after a few days in Co. Cork and we were delighted to welcome both of you back to the hotel.

The balcony bedrooms overlooking St. Stephen's Green are special and when the weather is behaving itself, they provide the perfect location for breakfast or indeed a glass of bubbly in the afternoon!

NWRC on behalf of all the team at The Ftizwilliam we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming both of you back to the hotel in the future.

With knid regards,


Gust_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Food, service, room servies are all with no fault. Especial thanks to Concierges and the GM who has looked after us very well during our stay in March and again in April. Reservations Department must be the most patient & efficient in Dublin, as with our demands and changes, they have always been very accommodating and polite, especially Lisa. We will be back again very soon, and I would highly reccommnd thsi hotel for small and big bookings! If I was to point out one weakness, it would be the Reception Staff who are all polite but would benefit from being more helpful(at the moment the Porters make up for it!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiO05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear BiO05,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the food, room facilities and service. I have passed on your kind comments to the relevant team members!

I am sorry that the reception team, whilst polite, could have been more helpful during your stay. Should you wish to discuss this matter in more detail, please feel free to contact the hotel directly and I would be happy to speak with you.

BiO05, we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin and The Fitzwilliam in the very near future.

With kind regards,


Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here many times now whilst working in our Dublin office. This time was for 8 days. I was spoilt previously and had one of the larger rooms with 4 poster bed looking out on to St Stephens Green therefore my standard room seemed too small. Well fitted out, comfortable bed and functional if small bathroom. Service was at all times impeccable from turn down service through to concierge opening the door for you. Breakfast service vastly improved since my last visit. Only small criticism in that room service menu very basic and limted choice. Would recommend highly but try to have your room upgraded if you are in a standard room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patchpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Patchpup,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your most recent stay. We have a number of different room types in the hotel, some larger than others. I am glad that you found the standard room well fitted out and comfortable.

I was equally happy to read you encountered impeccable service at all times and that the breakfast offering had improved since your last visit. We are constantly revewing and revising our service. With that in mind we would appreciate your detailed feedback on our room service menu. Whilst the offering to 10.30pm is quite extensive, it is more limited overnight. If there is a particular menu item that you would like to have, please let us know. If we have the ingredients in stock we would be delighted to make that dish for you.

Patchpup, I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We wanted to find a 5-Star hotel in Dublin at a great price that was in a good location. The Fitzwilliam lived up to the challenge. It's right across from St. Stephen's Green, and just past the southern end of Grafton Street. It's a ten minute walk from Temple Bar. The hotel is modern, but not over the top. It's probably the first 'modern' hotel we've stayed at, and I thought the room was great, though a little small. Although the lobby bar is nice enough, the service was pretty slow and the bar was empty when we visited. Also; if you order a martini (menu price: $11.25), expect to pay $14 for Grey Goose (Surprise!). I didn't care for that. We went to the Westbury Hotel nearby, and their $12.95 martini price from the menu was actually $12.95!That being said, I'd still recommend the hotel. Also the staff was great.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Stephen K,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel's central location, overlooking St. Stephen's Green. I was equally pleased to read you enjoyed the contemporary style of the hotel.

It was with regret that I read you found the service in the bar slow as there is no excuse for slow service in any part of the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor level of service you experienced.

Stephen K, I am delighted that you found the team great and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam in the near future.

With kind regards,


Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Very professional and friendly staff especially the porters . Great location as the bars and shops are just a short walk away but
It's VERY hard to find by car . The dinning area is nothing special neither is the menu . The room we had was ordinary at best . The Hotel once outside of the reception and foyer was in my opinion a three star Hotel .

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Frank B,

Greetings from The Fitzwilliam Dublin!

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I was delighted to read you found the team very professional and friendly and I have passsed your kind comments on to the team.

The hotel's location is very central and makes access to the sights, shops, restaurants and bars very easy.

I am sorry that you found it difficult to locate the hotel by car. Dublin city centre has a network of one-way streets; however we are always ready to provide detailed directions for guests arriving by car.

We have two dedicated dining spaces within the hotel and our bar also serves food. Thornton's is a Michelin star restaurant and Citron is a contemporary brasserie. It is not clear from your feedback which space you are referring to. I regret that our contemporary decor was not to your liking.

Frank B, we will always welcome the opportunity to welcome you back to The Fitzwilliam.

With kind regards,


Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing