We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but doesn't feel like a five star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good but doesn't feel like a five star”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great stay here, clean, staff were very helpful - the bar was average with average food, not what you'd expect from a five star - infact I found it hard to understand why they are rated five star, when it's just like a four star. If it was rated as a four star I would give it an excellent rate.

Only issue was if you are staying in room 431 you are either underneath a staff room or a dance floor - lots of movement up there. Also you are right next to an exit that is used by staff a lot, at 2am I was awoken by it slamming at least 3-4 times - so just be aware of that!

Another bug was the plates, glasses, trays left outisde rooms for hours on end, and staff actually passing them by without picking them. Perhaps it has something to do with staff not being allowed to do other departments jobs, but they should at least let housekeeping know. We had a baby with us who nearly fell on top of wine glasses left outside a room. So just watch your feet when walking down the corridor to your room.

Room Tip: Don't choose 431 ifyou want a good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Muzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Jen_Muzza,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I was pleased to read that you found our rooms so bright & clean. It was also great to read that the team were so helpful.

Whilst from your review I understand that you believe there is room for improvement in our bar food & floor clearing system.

Let me assure you that both of these will be acted upon immediately.

I would also be delighted to act as your point of contact to ensure any return visit to the Fitzwilliam Hotel would be seen as our opportunity to provide the perfect stay.

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    623
    219
    68
    43
See reviews for
394
1,196
117
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muswell Hill
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here on the night of 28th November 2012. It serves a great pint of Guinness. The food was good the beds were comfortable , it was all very clean and the service was genuinely great. I stayed drinking in the bar until the early hours. The staff were not chasing us off to bed. They were very accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodesgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear rhodesgolfer,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you have really enjoyed your stay & found the team so helpful.

I look forward to the opportuninty to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our final stop in Ireland was Dublin. We assessed hotels in the area and found the Fitzwilliam Hotel the perfect one. Although trying to find this hotel in a car in the evening hours is practically impossible, this hotel is exactly as we expected: a nice find in a perfect location.
The staff was what most impressed us! The concierge, Manor,was amazingly helpful!! As we were trying to find the hotel, he was giving us step-by-step instructions on our mobiles. He also helped us throughout our 2-night stay with information and travel tips! He is a true asset to this hotel!!
The room was a decent size, very clean, and quite comfortable in spite of the low-lighting. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom amenities were an added inducement to stay longer. However, the highlight was our incredible view from our balcony of St. Stephens Green, a most charming park!
The Christmas lights had just been put in place throughout the shopping area, and the views were gorgeous!
This is definitely a business hotel; however, our reception from the staff at the desk all the way to the breakfast/dining room were both professional and warm, something you don't see too often in business-oriented hotels.
Another bit we don't usually see: the Food and Beverage manager, Mr. Kevin Carroll, greeted the guests personally, and even sat with us briefly to visit! What a pleasure that was!! He is an absolutely delightful chap who made us feel like family!! Can we say, "someone needs a raise"?
The location is centrally located allowing us to,park the car for 2 nights in the hotel garage (which was a Godsend, as well as a pleasant surprise to be charged a pittance). Everything is walking distance to all of the attractions.
Truly a nice find!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear izhands,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

The team and I would like to thank you for the very positive sentiments you have expressed regarding the quality & decor of our bedrooms, the amenities & our great location
I was also pleased to read that you found our staff so friendly & helpful.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel in the near future.

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here in early November. As others have observed, this hotel is wonderfully situated, just opposite St. Stephen's Green and adjacent to Grafton Street, the numero uno shopping street in Dublin. The staff are exceptionally pleasant people, right down to the good humoured chambermaid who pressed a couple of mouth-watering chocolates into my hand (despite the fact that I had declined to avail of the nightly turndown service).

However, the room (which overlooked an office building) was very small, the most miniscule I have ever experienced in a Dublin five star hotel. In fairness, however, I should add that - small and all as it was - it was very comfortable with an excellent bathroom complete with powerful shower (which really wakes you up in the morning) and top-of-the-range bath products.

There are many reasons why this hotel is classified as "five star", including the presence of a Michelin-starred restaurant in the building. However, I do not think it is is in the same league as some of the other Dublin five star hotels such as the Merrion, Shelbourne and Four Seasons respectively. Putting it bluntly, it is a mistake to label a room as "Executive" if it is very small in terms of its size.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Insightful,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you have really enjoyed our location & found the team so helpful.

I look forward to the opportuninty to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having booked this 5 star hotel - I felt a bit disappointed, although the room decor was bright and modern the room was small.
I know it sounds trivial but on making a cup of coffee in the room - there wasn't a biscuit or sweet to take along with it.
We went to citric on the mezzanine level for breakfast the next morning - well fistly it is too small to accommodate any kind of breakfast rush we had to wait 5 mins for a table to be cleared and re-set - I got the distinct feeling that no one knew what they were doing when we got to our table there was no salt and pepper or butter we ordered tea and toast on sitting - the tea came 5 mins later no toast - this arrived 10 to 15mins later we were told it was a buffett breakfast - so basically serve yourself and then on going to the hot food section all the clloshes were empty and had to be restocked and this was done in an add-hock manner. Imagine my surprise when 2 tables over the diners received eggs benadict delivered to their table to be told that then that yes there was a menu available for such items but where it was is anyones guess.Needless to say I wont return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Cotini,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I was pleased to read that you found our rooms so bright & modern.

Whilst from your review I understand that you believe there is room for improvement in our breakfast service. We also need to ensure that all our guests are aware of our system for serving of either buffet or a la carte items during breakfast.

Let me assure you that all of these will be acted upon immediately.

I would also be delighted to act as your point of contact to ensure any return visit to the Fitzwilliam Hotel would be seen as our opportunity to provide the perfect stay.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Terrific central location with easy access to shops and many restaurants. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, even down to the chambermaids.. Good sized bedrooms, well presented and large comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast, cooked just the way we wanted.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor overlooking the roof garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCountyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear gnowad,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us on tripadvisor.

The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to us and take heart from the positive sentiments you have expressed regarding the hotel & our location.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Was delighted with how close the hotel is to great restaurants and shopping. Unfortunately, do not remember too much about the rooms since I got back late and had a very early morning flight out of Dublin.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gnowad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_Fitz, Guest Relations Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear gnowad,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you have really enjoyed our location.

I look forward to the opportuninty to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Guest_Relations_Fitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,888 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 127-128 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing