We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fitzwilliams was a perfect fit for a perfect weekend in Dublin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fitzwilliams was a perfect fit for a perfect weekend in Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

This 5 Star luxury hotel was exquisite in all aspects of my stay.

Wonderful location - Right next to the beautiful St. Stephens Green, at the bottom of the very lively Grafton Street.

Accommodations were tastefully decorated, comfortable beds/furniture, nicely sized and very quiet.

I loved the breakfast! - The chefs gladly cooked to my requests even off menu/buffet choices. We enjoyed a scrumptiously special champagne brunch for The Royal Wedding!

The staff was so accommodating and went out of its way to ensure my stay was perfect from providing me with extra linens, having my room cleaned early to securing tickets at the last minute for events.

The Fitzwilliam was a perfect fit.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, request a courtyard facing location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavisEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanVallely, Quality Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear DavisEM,

It is my pleasure to acknowledge the positive points you have outlined regarding your most recent stay with us at the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Our location, in room experience, food and beverage offerings and most importantly our service are aspects of the guest experience which are central to our success.
It is a delight to all staff and management that on this occasion you experienced a "perfect fit" of these individual aspects of our service.

I thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your most recent stay and trust that future guests will benefit from your experience and insider tips!

Warm regards,
Alan Vallely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    579
    201
    61
    41
See reviews for
347
1,115
106
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Just checked out this morning. Ideal location for walking to the sights and there is a tram stop right outside. Nice touches, such as candles, orchid, turn down, and tea/coffee (instant) in the room. The beds were really comfortable. The room and bath were clean. Bath products are H20 from Chicago. The lobby has a fireplace and couches for lounging. Overall a comfortable, convenient stay. Note: the noise from neighbors can be somewhat disruptive- the room doors close loud and hard, creating a "bang". If you stay, catch your door, please!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyplatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanVallely, Quality Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear crazyplatter,

Thank you for taking time to post feedback on this stay in our care.

I thank you for noting, appreciating and providing positive feedback on our location, comfortable beds, hotel cleanliness, our luxury amenities and appointment of public areas.

I apologise for the noise you have referenced from neighbouring rooms.
Thank you for the insight which we will be sure to act upon to ensure a serene stay for our incoming guests.

crazyplatter, I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam hotel on your next trip to this side of the globe.

Warmest regards,
Alan Vallely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

we stayed two nights. the location could not be better. we had a quiet room on the courtyard so no view, but really quiet. extremely comfortable beds. amzingly helpful concierge and door staff. Chocolate on the pillow at night. but a martini cost 12 euros. we went to the bar immediately next door for better martinin prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanVallely, Quality Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Judi H,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin!
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our location, sleep quality and the efficiency and helpfulness of our front of house staff.

I am heartened to read you have also enjoyed "Martini shopping" in our locality and trust that potential Fitzwilliam Hotel visitors and guests will enjoy your insider tips!!

Judi H, I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.

Kind regards,
Alan Vallely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel is pretty, in a great location and offers everything you will need. What makes this hotel stand out is the people who work there. They are constantly there for you without being scarey. Knowledge, friendliness and the ability to anticipate your needs is a great quality for a hotel to achieve. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the garden courtyard in lieu of a building or street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationJunkie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanVallely, Quality Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear VacationJunkie001

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.
I trust you have arrived home and take with you fond memories of your most recent stay in Dublin city.

I am delighted to read that you have found the hotel location and more importantly service levels to be the lasting impression of your stay with us.

It is a source of pride for me that our ambition to provide a dedicated yet unintrusive service has come across clearly and I am delighted you enjoyed our attention, when appropriate, during your stay.

VacationJunkie001, I thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you or friends and family back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent three nights in the Fitzwilliam while touring Dublin with friends. It is in a great location with transportation hubs very near. We were ably assisted by our young but knowledgeable concierge, Anthony, who guided us to the hotel when we were confused by the maze of one way streets. His advice on restaurants and venues was spot on and enabled us to make the most of our time. The hotel rooms are neat and functional with all the amenities one would expect from a top notch hotel. The only minor negative was that the steam table food on the breakfast buffet was stale the morning we sampled the buffet. Management apologized and removed the buffet charge when we mentioned the problem. We give this hotel our unqualified recommendation.

Room Tip: We had a nice view of the rooftop garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmie1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanVallely, Quality Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear jimmie1941 ,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.

I am delighted to read that you have found our concierge service levels, guest rooms, location and overall quality of stay to be in line with your expectations.

However I would like to apologise for the breakfast experience in our Citron restaurant whilst breakfast was presented in a buffet style. I am glad that the challenge was rectified in a timely manner by our restaurant management team, but acknowledge it is disappointing that such a case arose.

Guest feedback of a constructive nature allows us to realign our efforts to ensure the provision of a consistently high level of service.
There is also no better motivator than acknowledgement of a job well done and I assure you that the positive sentiments expressed will be passed to our team and particularly Anthony our concierge.

jimmie1941, it is a pleasure to understand that you would also offer our hotel your recommendation based on your most recent experience.
The team and I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind regards,
Alan Vallely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent our first night in Ireland here, and we were so impressed with the room. We had travelled for almost 10 hours, and we were more than ready to relax for a little bit before going out to see Dublin. We arrived to the hotel at noon, and sadly, they could not check us in until 2pm, which was not what we wanted to hear, but they were at least kind enough to hold our bags. Once we finally got up to the room we were blown away- what attention to detail! the bed was so soft and comfy, and the TV offered more channels than any other hotel in Ireland that we stayed at. I know it's not about watching TV, but after a long day it is nice to relax and not have to think too much! The bathroom was my favorite part of the room- the tub was made for a good soak!! As the other reviews said, the location was also perfect- so close to everything! And the staff was very helpful and friendly as well! overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dublin!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanVallely, Quality Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Matanda28,

Greetings from the Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin.

I am delighted to read that you have found our service levels, guest rooms, location and overall quality of stay to be in line with your expectations.

Whilst it is a pity that due to fantastic business levels in the city, we could not offer your room upon arrival. I am heartened to understand that this has not detracted from the overall enjoyment of your stay.

Matanda28, It is a pleasure to understand that you would also recommend our hotel to friends/family and colleagues visiting Dublin.
I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fitzwilliam Hotel.

Kind regards,
Alan Vallely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

really good hotel and thought the food was fantastic !
i will come back and stay there again !
great hotel ! 10 out of 10 for me .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanVallely, Quality Manager at Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear ruthwalsh,

Thank you for feedback on your most recent stay with us at the Fitzwilliam hotel.
I am delighted to read your positive sentiments regarding the hotel and specifically our food quality.

Rest assured that your comments will be conveyed to the kitchen team as acknowledgement of a job well done.

We look forward to your return visit and endeavor to provide another enjoyable and memorable experience.

Kind regards,
Alan Vallely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,696 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Address: 2 St Stephen's Green, Dublin D2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin’s most luxurious design hotel is located in the heart of the city. Experience the best of both worlds when staying at this chic haven, to one side the tranquility and calm of St Stephen’s Green and to the other, Grafton Street, Dublin’s finest shopping avenue.From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing