We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Crack! Great Holiday! Great Hotel! Great Guiness!”
Review of The Morgan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Morgan
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I travelled to Dublin with my husband and two other friends to celebrate a 30th Birthday. The flights to Dublin from Newcastle were very cheap paying in total £28 per person. I was recommended the Morgan Hotel by a friend therefore i booked with confidence not noticing some of the comments on this site before i booked. Due to some of the negative comments posted by other people i contacted the hotel to ensure we were allocated a nice room. After speaking to Livia in the reservations team she was very helpful and immediately put my mind at rest and offered us a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room which i was very grateful for. The flight only took 50 minutes, just enough time to have a cup of tea or a glass of wine before landing. We arrived in Dublin on the Thursday morning and stayed for 3 nights. When entering the hotel the staff welcomed us with a smile and booked us into our rooms prior to the allocated check in time. First impressions of the hotel was very funky and modern with a nice friendly atmosphere. When arriving at our rooms we then discovered that we had been upgraded for a second time to a Suite, this included a kitchen and living room area and a separate bedroom with glass doors separating the rooms but still allowing you to watch the large plasma TV from your bed. The rooms were perfect and ideal for friends to join us in having a drink before we went out on the town. The rooms were made up every day with fresh towels and clean sheets. I felt the room upgrade really did make our holiday extra special as we didn't even want to leave our rooms. We went shopping on most days (more expensive than Newcastle), went to the Guiness Factory (excellent views of Dublin), went on the Viking Tour (worth 20 euro, the driver was very funny), found a hidden treasure called Cafe Siene (beautiful bar with lovely food and cocktails at reasonable prices) and on the last night (Saturday) went to a bar called Fitzgeralds where there was a double singing / comedy act which was excellent (the best night we have had in a long time - I have never laughed so much in my life). The only negative thing i can say about our trip is that we should have stayed in Dublin for longer and took a little more money as a pint of guiness was costing us around 5 euro a drink . We had an excellent time and it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_hood78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,358 - 2,364 of 2,949 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2010

1. Will never go back to that hotel
2. Overheated rooms
3. Staff is nice, but not very helpful, lack of manners.
4. Pity, that in such a great location, nice hotel itself, is screwed by service and no attention to details.

Hotel is perfectly located in Temple Bar area, where even midweek break was like a weekend away. On the arrival we were nicely surprised that we could checkin 40 min earlier to checkin time. Hotel is nicely, unusually, a bit funky designed, but in the room there is a feeling that they didnt have enough money for complete design , some furniture is not in style and old ...
Bed was very soft and cosy ,very satisfying... Before we found very very strange yellowy-brovn stains about 40 cm in diameter, on the duvet!!!Bedside lapm was broken and had Black Sellar Tape over it to hold it together. Chair had stains as well, but smaller and less noticeble.
We stayed in the room for 5 minutes and realised that heating was turned to max. Room was very small so it felt like in sauna, very hot and stiff. When we tried to open windows, realised that they are screwed in! I dont know what was the porpose of it but very dissapointing. We've managed to open one window for 10 cm only, it wouldnt go further. Anyways we reported the heating at the reception and were told they're going to fix it. 3 hours later we came back to the hotel , heating was still same. We were not happy with that, so reported heating second time, where got sincere promises that its going to be fixed soon. that never happened. Reported it third time to different receprionist, and got an answer that nothing could be done ! Did others just lie to us ??
Went to the coctail bar , which was very nice and modern, smoking area very comfortable and cosy. Everything is perfect BUT staff! Waiter came over to us and said : SO GIRLS? I don't expect that in 4 star hotel, I even would say it's rude to speak like that with customers.
Came back to the hotel at 1am it was still very hot in the room , even though window was half opened. Ok, if nothing could be done we just have to deal wit it. Fell asleep, not for a long time unfortunately at 4:00 am was awaken by HOWERING just OUTSIDE our room, VERY LOUD!!! Couldn't sleep at all! After my patience was gone at 04:30 , rang reception to complain that. At 4:45 howering finished. Night was ruined. Our room was facing same hotels building, and gap between was only about 1 meter so echo made all the sounds 10 times louder. That wasn't the end , at 06:40 was awaken AGAIN by strange noises as pushing trolleys and staff conversations (probably during breakfast preparation). Everything , just outside our window.
There was no "do not disturb" sign in our room, but i wouldn't expect anyone to knock the door. BUT at 08:00 am someone was knocking the door, for more than 5 min, until we answered. Roomservice to clean the room!!! It wasn't funny any more. Had a feeling that hotel staff is there on purpose to make my life awful! They were told no cleaning required, but at 10:00 am they knocked AGAIN.
Finally woke up exausted and very angry, night was ruined. On check out receptionist never asked how was our stay, she said thanks,bye ! So we did too and run from that hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aljusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

A warm Irish welcome got us off to a great start. Very helpful receptionist. Efficient check in. Hotel is very quirky. Some wonderful seats, a wacky lift and a bedroom all in white add to the atmosphere. The bed was supberb, the comfiest ever.
The hotel is right in the middle of all the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar - a brilliant location. The downside is, yes it is noisy but what do you expect in the heart of such a vibrant city. (After several pints of Guiness I could sleep anywhere!). Breakfast we lovely, Staff were so friendly.
Cocktails are very expensive but bed and breakfast was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suew00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as it was one of the recommended ones for a European Conference. The rates were NOT cheap. The check in was wonderful: what a wonderful concierge. Meals were another issue. The rate was all inclusive with breakfast. It was reminiscent of the Seinfeld "soup nazi": an imperious young man with a clipboard who gave us a severe reprimand when through the fog of jet lag we were a number off on giving him our room number. To be fair there were two young waiters there who were learning the hotel business...they were excellent. The decor was more appropriate for the set of the Mike Meyers Austin Powers movie...if it was not so drab and worn it could almost be retro...the bar district the hotel is located in is so noisy even with windows shut you would swear you were positioned above Dante's inferno. Overall I would not recommend this until it is cleaned up and some of the miserable staff are relocated or sent back to charm school.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icelandvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I've stayed at The Morgan many times over the years and when it was first refurbished it was amazingly trendy and the location can't be beaten if you want to go out in Temple Bar.
As with all European hotels the rooms tend to be on the small side but adequate and now in need of renovation or touch up. The bathroom flooded when we showered which was annoying but had obviously been happening for a while.
The hotel by it's nature and location is a buzzing place at weekends so if you are looking for somewhere quiet I'd suggest another hotel. if you are looking for somewhere you can stroll to after a nice meal and a few beers though you could do a lot worse for the price.
Oh and there is a car park (paid) almost opposite which I don't think they mention on their website.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8lettersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The Morgan is like stepping back in time. In the '90s the interior would've been trendy. But over a decade later it just looks tired and dirty. All the furniture in reception is chipped or stained. Not appealing on white chairs! The reception is very basic with unhelpful staff. Our rooms were dirty, I had a handwritten door number on a scrap of paper taped to the door. The bed was broken. Furniture and carpets were stained. Breakfast was a shambles with staff stood around staring at visitors rather than taking orders. AVOID. There are so many better hotels in Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whilster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

the morgan was a let down from start to finish!! the room was tiny and in need of renovation. The bathroom flooded when i had a shower. i had to ring down to get a robe, slippers, hairdryer and tea/coffee facilities. when the girl came with some of the missing items she couldn't get away fast enough and i felt i was really putting her out. i never got the tea/coffee facilities! i mentioned all this the next morning at checkout and the lady just shrugged!! not good enough!
orla

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orlaculligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,381 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,212 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,402 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan

Address: 10 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $151 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morgan 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in The Morgan Hotel, in the heart of Temple Bar. The Morgan holds host to chic guestrooms, a funky cocktail bar, quirky outdoor spaces, cool meeting rooms & an amazing Penthouse. Sophisticated fun, ultra stylish, modern chic and Dublin's best loved boutique hotel. The Morgan has 129 deluxe guest rooms, offering a celebration of contemporary design, clean, simple lines and uncluttered elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing