We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Morgan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Morgan
Ranked #35 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Morgan is placed slap bang in the centre of Temple Bar. We went on (unbeknown to us) Pride weekend ~ which was a fantastic bonus. The hotel seems to have about 6 "designer" rooms per floor, judging by the floorplans. We got one of these on the 3rd floor and despite it being a really popular hotel with an even more popular bar on the ground floor, no noise from the 3rd floor could be heard. Although checking in was a bit tricky due to the noise but still, not a problem. The room was lovely, well kept and a delight to walk into, the bathroom and fittings were kept immaculately on a daily basis. Yes, a little peeling in the ceiling/bathroom but when it's so clean and tidy and busy it does not affect the experience of a great stay. Loved the room, loved the look and feel of the bar, design, toilets. All in all a great little place to stay, if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissrmeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaFlood, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, August 17, 2009
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments are greatly appreciated. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team here at The Morgan Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you had a most memorable visit and should you wish to revisit again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Martina Flood,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    779
    324
    144
    101
See reviews for
158
1,204
97
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Booked the Morgan Hotel 6 week in advance of Bruce Springsteen concert in Dublin as we knew it would be a very busy w/e for getting accomodation. 3 days to go and the hotel informs us that they are over booked but they were offering an alternative - Bewleys in Leopardstown!! To say we were not best pleased would be an understatement.

The Morgan Hotel is located in Temple Bar within walking distance of most night life and access to public transport for everything else. Leopardstown on the other hand is 7 miles south of Dublin city centre, no bars, restaurants etc in immediate vicinity and it costs between €20-€30 for a taxi between there and city centre.

At this late stage it was impossible to book anything else closer to the city centre or the RDS no matter price you were prepared to pay.

However, after much negotiation The Morgan agreed to provide taxis for us to and from Leopardstown. They also invited us to the hotel for complimentary food and cocktails which we availed of and both were excellent. The part of the hotel we did get to experience looked really cool, the decor is fab and we were only sorry we weren't staying there as guests. Hopefully we will get to experience it fully the next time we are in Dublin.

A special word of thanks to Joanne in Reservations for her effort in trying to arrange alternative accomodation and also especially to Dave (duty manager / concierge) who was a pleasure to deal with and took excellent care of us with regards the food & cocktails.

Hoep to visit again at a near future date.

Michele Frawley.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muggles77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaFlood, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, July 27, 2009
Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I wish to offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your visit to Bruce Springsteen, however I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short time spent in the Morgan and in particular liked the funky and boutique design of our hotel.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and I will ensure that they are cascaded to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Morgan Hotel next time you are in Dublin to fully experience our chic four star, city centre hotel.

Kind Regards,
Martina Flood

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST LONDON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

We arrived at the hotel to find that there was a mix up with the rooms, we were offered a free upgrade to an amazing room after having a choice of two to chose from. The room was very spacious, clean tidy and certainly lived ut to it luxury it promised we had a super King size bed, a raised bath set in pebble stones in the centre of the room (romantic), and a seperate shower room. The room service was on point with fresh towels, flannels, and complimentry white company goods daily. The hotel is very stylish so perfect for the fashionista amongst us and ideally located in the centre of Temple bar, which can nbe noisy if your room at time but so much as to ruin any element of our stay. Dublin is not a very large city and most of the attactions can we reached easily by foot form the hotel. The airport coach and bus stop is located seconds from the front door thought you may find with the hotels bar and cocktails this is the 'the place to be seen in' you may not even need to leave the premises. One thing I found that seperated this hotel from a lot of other we have stayed in was the front desk service, We were first greeted by Malcome who was second to none at his job, welcoming, helpful, kind and funny we wouldn't leave to return home until we were able to thank him personally for making our stay as fantasic as it could have been. he was prepared to find us tickets to the theatre, booking for resturants and inform us of the best attaction to go and see. If i owned a hotel i would not hesitate to hire him. The rest of the front desk staff (Lavia and Laura) where also particulary helpful we had absolutly no complaints. In essence this hotel has it all, great rooms, relaxing patio area, lively bar, quirky decor, and superb staff If i was to change anything it would have been to increase the length of our stay. for those who have complained about the temperature of the room there was aircon and large windows so this shouldn't be too much of a problem

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherri84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaFlood, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Thank you for your kind review in Trip Advisor.

Malcolm has worked for our hotel for just under a year now, and I think I can safely say that his level of customer care is rarely found within the hotel industry and I am certainly very grateful that he is with our team. I will ensure that your kind comments are cascaded to him and the rest of the staff.

As you mentioned, the hotel is ideally located in the centre of Temple Bar and is just a short stroll away from Grafton Street, Dublin's main shopping thoroughfare, theatres and only seconds from the airport coach and bus stop.

I am also delighted you had the opportunity to spend time in the award winning Morgan Bar and sample some of our amazing cocktails.

If you do decide to visit The Morgan Hotel again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Martina Flood

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

We went to a birthday party here and stayed in one of the smoking rooms- they have a balcony so there was no problem with the heat, but the hallways are very warm. Decor great and atmosphere very young loud and trendy. The bar has a great smoking area and the staff are fast to serve. Rooms not overly big, our friends had the suites and penthouse and these are very cool but expensive. They each have a dinning area , and glass walls that move to reveal other parts of the rooms. The penthouse has a american type mobile home on the roof of the hotel which has a smoking area and heaters inside, but a little tacky, the roof top tables and garden are much nicer. Every thing in this hotel screams trendy and loud, including the crowd in the barr at night but the entertainment in great and if you want to stay in the centre of everything and party, this is the hotel for you. However it is kinda expensive for the younger crowd to be staying in @ €200+ for a standard room and €1200 per night for the penthouse, which they will only let two people stay in??
But I would definitely stay there again as it's got a great stmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaFlood, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you generally enjoyed your stay and your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

If I can be of any assistance to you in the future please do not hesitate to contact me. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Morgan Hotel next time you are in Dublin.

Kind Regards,
Martina Flood

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

We arrived in Dublin on a Friday evening just in time to catch the beginning of the Party that seems to be ever present in the Temple Bar area, bit worried at first as we had to shout at the top of our voices to make our selves heard to the receptionist over the live band playing in the bar. We were even more worried when we were told that it will go on till 01:45. As it turns out as soon as we entered the lift up to our room on the Second floor, it all went silent, and stayed that way so no complaints. The room was like a very expensive dress shop, very stylish and clean, minimalist to the point that we spent 10 mins looking for the kettle. Everything about the hotel is beautiful, if you have ever seen that horror movie, Hostel, remember that hotel when every girl was beautiful, even down to 2 girls getting dresses with the curtains wide open in the room opposite (they are quite close), fortunately our trip had a much better ending than the Film. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaFlood, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, June 16, 2009
Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Morgan and in particular liked the funky and boutique design of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you are in Dublin again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Martina Flood,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

I had been familiar with this hotel before I stayed in it recently. Currently living in NYC, i had lived in Dublin for two years.. point being that i think my expectations were very high to begin with.

All i can say, is that the Morgan was a joy and pleasure to stay in.
I was there for a romantic mid week escape with my partner and we both loved the (upgraded!:-) suite...

From the very comfortable bed (with lighting beneath to give the impression that the bed is floating) to the full kitchen, breakfast bar and living room... ALL within the suite.. it really was the perfect escape.
It also made for a great work environment - between relaxation.

I must thank thank the Manager, Colin McCusker, who made us feel very welcome and went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that every aspect of our stay was a memorable one.

The hotel is situated in a perfect area for exploring Dublin City (its located in the heart of Temple Bar), and everything is walkable (Guinness Factory, Grafton St, Trinity, Docklands)

Overall the Morgan is a great place to stay, wonderful staff and coming from NYC... we felt it could teach the big apple a thing or two about putting on a show.

The hotel has a great vibe throughout... and i would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 112410g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed at the end of May, and the hotel was pretty good overall, the lobby and bar was great, front desk staff polite and helpful.

The room was a little disappointing (room 319), whilst large with a great balcony, the furniture was worn and damaged. The cupboard was broken and the chair was also broken. But the bed was comfortable and the shower was great .

For the price and location I really cant complain and would stay there again. I just hope they repair the broken items in the rooms sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmsieYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaFlood, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this review, June 16, 2009
Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit to the Morgan Hotel and found the staff polite and helpful, as well as enjoying the great value and location of the hotel.

With regard to room 319 that you stayed in and some other rooms in that block, I am pleased to inform you that there will be a major refurbishment carried out on these rooms. This should commence shortly.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and constructive comments which I feel have been very beneficial to the hotel.

If you do decide to revisit The Morgan Hotel in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I can ensure that your visit is most enjoyable!

Kind Regards,

Martina Flood,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan

Property: The Morgan
Address: 10 Fleet Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
#59 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morgan 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in The Morgan Hotel, in the heart of Temple Bar. The Morgan holds host to chic guestrooms, a funky cocktail bar, crazy outdoor spaces, cool meeting rooms & an amazing Penthouse with rooftop garden. Sophisticated fun, ultra stylish, modern chic and Dublin's best loved boutique hotel The Morgan has 129 deluxe guest rooms, offering a celebration of contemporary design, clean, simple lines, uncluttered elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing