We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem”
Review of The Morgan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Morgan
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Retro hotel in a funky part of town, stayed mid week and had a great room, great service and friendly staff, no issues with noise pollution although maybe on the weekend but in fairness what else do you expect when you are staying in the heart of the Dublin party quater, all in all a fantastic quirky and a gem of a hotel in Templars crown.

Room Tip: Try to barter it's fun and you maybe surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISpy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,963 - 1,969 of 2,945 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Location is fantastic! If you like the night club next door outside your window. Emptying bottles early morning! The room we had was a nice but the old style tv on top wardrobe topped it off! Really could do with an update :-(

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeSmithMSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Loved the funky decor, the cocktails and the friendly staff, but hadn't bargained for the noisiness at night. The hotel sits on one of the main drags for late night carousing. Be prepared to listen to stag parties staggering past well past closing time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilyJiggPopsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A group of us visited in October, 2012. We were received with wonderfully warm hospitality and allowed access to our suites before the normal check-in time. The newly refurbed two-storey suite was made available to our group for a reception that afternoon, the highlight of which is likely the caravan on the roof, a very unique touch! All week, we had delicious food (late night goat's cheese sandwiches!) and the bar was always buzzing with a beautiful crowd. Delightful experience and highly recommended to anyone! The staff is really warm and location perfect for some fun. Definitely coming back someday soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the suites on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdekoninck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Met my husband here, after he golfed the prior week. We spent two nights relaxing here, before touring the rest of Ireland. Loved the art deco decor & ambience of the hotel, and our room was lovely. Huge bathroom, great shower. The bed was comfy, in a large room, huge window but the view seemed to be hostels. We're glad we paid for the room at the back, because on the weekend it was a pretty hectic street scene! Our room even had earplugs provided, so that should tell you something! We never had any problem with noise at all. Our two complaints - the lighting in the bathroom is very poor ... a man must have designed this - difficult putting on makeup in there! The desk chair is very uncomfortable & impractical. We didn't pay for the breakfast buffet, but it seemed busy in there. The location is fine, but probably for the younger set. Easy walking distance to the HoHo buses, Trinity College etc. Dublin is fun, & the people are terrific!

Room Tip: Pay the premium to get a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muskokajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. My room was spacious, but when I walked in the bathroom there was a water leak from the ceiling - I called front desk & they transferred me to another room "at the back of the Hotel". The staff were attentive, prompt, and caring.

The rooms (I'd been in two by now!) were tatty, e.g. a knob missing from a bedside table, tea/coffee making facilities - but no cups!, dirty windows, wall-mounted TV wouldn't move (it just hung against the wall), stains/marks on bedsheets. All that said, the bed was very comfortable, and I slept like a baby - it was really quiet where I was.

Breakfast was tasty & plentiful & varied as you'd want. Staff here were courteous and attentive too.

Overall: a quirky kind of place with a decorative theme I couldn't quite place (part boudoir, part designer, part sub-continent), in a good location, and with excellent staff.

Verdict: On balance, I wouldn't return at least until the place has had a serious refresh.

Room Tip: I was in room 426, which is - I think - at the back of the hotel, and was very quiet compared to col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricks_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went to Dublin and stayed at The Morgan Hotel for one night for our 6 year anniversary and had the most fabulous time! Our stay was made even better by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff particularly Alvydas who made our stay very special. The hotel bar was also fantastic, great cocktails!!
Should we return to Dublin we would go back to stay at The Morgan in a heartbeat.
Dublin was expensive in general but great for a short break.
Thanks again to the staff at The Morgan for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diam0nd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,376 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,210 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,401 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan

Address: 10 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $150 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morgan 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in The Morgan Hotel, in the heart of Temple Bar. The Morgan holds host to chic guestrooms, a funky cocktail bar, quirky outdoor spaces, cool meeting rooms & an amazing Penthouse. Sophisticated fun, ultra stylish, modern chic and Dublin's best loved boutique hotel. The Morgan has 129 deluxe guest rooms, offering a celebration of contemporary design, clean, simple lines and uncluttered elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing