We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't be swayed by the reviews......”
Review of The Morgan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Morgan
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2011

very friendly young staff.....room excelllent value £75.........food very good value compared to the touristy meateries nearby......location excellent and good car parking nearby. Yes we would use this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slemishbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,299 - 2,305 of 2,944 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2011

Last minute decision to stay in Dublin. Picked the Morgan and am I glad I did....reception staff were fabulous on Sunday last, pleasure to deal with, and a pleasure to stay there. So central, fab room, such a treat. Have booked to stay again already. Thanks for a great stay. Design in the hotel and the room was spectacular. Such a pleasant change to the normal boring hotel experience. Wow!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank SouthEastJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

When I inquired in person about this hotel, I was told they could provide a quiet room even though it is in the Temple Bar area. When we checked in, they had to search for one. The clerk found one on the fourth floor which sounds okay. It was hot, the carpet was very dirty, and the faucet was about to fall off the sink. We were able to open the window to cool off the room but at some point in the night, it was just too lound. The room was small but with a nice sized and very nice bathroom except for the sink issue. The room was quiet differently decorated and provided a chuckle for both of us. In the management's defense, when I complained about the condition of the room, they offered a better room but only had a king bed and since my friend and I don't sleep together, it wasn't feasible. They did give us complimentary drinks in the bar which was so noisy, we did not take advantage of. I think they want to be a good hotel, but have some work to do to get there. If you aren't keenly interested in partying all hours of the night, find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLBeachLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony_Smiddy, General Manager at The Morgan, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our Trip Advisor site following your recent stay. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Thank you for letting us know about the issues you experienced before you left the hotel and I realise that at the time we were unable to offer you a suitable alternative so that you could relax and enjoy the rest of your stay. In light of this, we would much value the opportunity to get in touch with you directly to discuss the issues that you raised personally with you. We value all feedback from our guests in order to ensure that we continue to improve our service and standard’s within our guestrooms at all times.

Many Thanks,
Anthony Smiddy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed at The Morgan when I woke up in a hostel with a terrible flu. I walked into the hotel at 6:45 am and the receptionist got me a room immediately, plus she upgraded me. I didn't really need an upgrade because I knew I would just be in bed all day and night but the gesture was generous. I enjoyed the breakfast, at least what I could put down and the bed was quite comfortable. Around 3 am the noise from behind the building was loud. Drunk guys were roaming the back streets I guess. Also, other peoples room doors shutting was exceptionally loud.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed for two nights. We chose a suite as we had read reviews about standard rooms being small, the suite had loads of space with glass doors seperating the bedroom and sitting room and a nice bathroom.
Bathrobes and slippers are supplied in suites but there was only one robe in the suite when we arrived , this was promptly sorted out by reception when we informed them.
Our room was on the 3rd floor and towards the back of the hotel so we didn't experience any noise from outside and the bed was large and very comfortable so we both slept well. We did notice that the white leather sofas in the sitting room could do with being cleaned ( I was wearing white trousers and had to wipe coffee splashes before sitting down).
The bar area is nice but some of the sofas are really tired looking and the drinks are very overpriced, even in comparison to other places in Templebar, there are lots of places to go to eat and drink just outside the door so this is not a problem.
If you are looking for a hotel that is central to everything the city has to offer we would recommend here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRLHolidayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Marketed as a classy boutique hotel.... Not quite.

On arrival it looked great and the staff member on reception was excellent (however they could definitely use at least two, there was always a queue and the phone was constantly ringing).

However when we got to our room (105) we noticed it was next door to their laundry room; the washing machine could easily heard in our room. Also the room was fairly cramped (really poor layout; easy to fix really). The ensuite bathroom was hilarious: so insanely laid out that you can't even sit on the loo facing forwards - you have to sit sideways!!! I'm only 5"4 and a size 8 so not massive! Also the door frame is too small for the hole, basically it looked rubbish! The decor as a whole is tired and disappointing, especially for the price!

The main issue, however, is the noise! Don't expect to fall asleep before 4:30am. They need some decent double glazing - the street noise and music from the clubs and bars is unacceptable. More noisy came from inside the hotel though! The noise of the water going the pipes, very loud banging, etc etc was terrible.

We heard other people complaining and we certainly pointed it out too, but the staff seemed 'surprised'.

A shame.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This place was so nice to stay at for a weekend. friendly staff and lovely rooms. Deffintely recommend this place to people visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laylaram87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#36 of 150 in Dublin
2,374 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 150 in Dublin
1,209 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,400 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 150 in Dublin
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan

Address: 10 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Business Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#59 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $151 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morgan 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in The Morgan Hotel, in the heart of Temple Bar. The Morgan holds host to chic guestrooms, a funky cocktail bar, quirky outdoor spaces, cool meeting rooms & an amazing Penthouse. Sophisticated fun, ultra stylish, modern chic and Dublin's best loved boutique hotel. The Morgan has 129 deluxe guest rooms, offering a celebration of contemporary design, clean, simple lines and uncluttered elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Hotel Dublin
Morgan Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing