We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad location but could do much better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leeson Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leeson Inn Downtown
Ranked #126 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Dundas, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a bad location but could do much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

This place is close to downtown but do not expect a quiet nights sleep. There is a nightclub righ beside the hotel, which is squeezed into a row of buildings. There is nothing really bad about this place but the rooms are very tired. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay then this will work but you may want to look around. We booked this on Hotwire since it was one of the very few listed downtown. Worked out to a 20% discount so not a great deal. After we booked, we were disappointed to see the reviews but we were already committed at that point. There is a small area to park your car. The breakfast was adequate but pretty standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DundasRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    70
    85
    44
    92
See reviews for
22
135
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I thought that considering the price, i wasn't too bad a stay. The location was convenient and staff was mostly accommodating. The only downside I would say was the noise at night since it is in a clubbing area but if you can close your eye to that, it was alright. the room was spacious and nice. would definitely consider staying there again. food is easily found with Cafe Sol just around the corner, Stephen's Green just over a block away.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie9312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

for a cheap and cheerful no thrills stay then this is your hotel!! Its clean, comfortable and extremely good value for money and as for the location for the price we paid it was amazing! The only problem that could upset others is the noise, it was noisy until about 4am but for considering there are 2 nightclubs on the same street it was to be expected, for two girls aged 20-23 it wasnt a problem!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Unfortunately you canot give a rating of zero - or I would have done this (yes - it is that bad). Heating did not work (unable to resolve problem) and the room was freezing. Hotel is next to a nightclub, and despite assurances from staff before checking in that it would not be a problem, was kept awake until AFTER 3am. The decor shown in their photos is not representative of the hotel (quite grubby and cleanliness left a lot to be desired). In addition, they DO NOT have satellite TV (at least in the room provided). The hotel manager has not had the common courtesy to even acknowledge, let alone respond, to the complaints. Undoubtedly the WORST accomodation I have the stayed in - DO NOT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EB2011London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Mistake No 1) I booked myself and three others into the xxxx hotel.
Mistake no 2) I checked into my room and shut the door behind me. What struck me most as I surveyed the room (apart from the shocking state of the decoration) was the oppressive heat. I could barely breathe.
I crossed to the window but it had been either nailed shut or whoever had painted the room 40 years previously hadn't bothered to open the window when they painted it. Subsequently, window and frame had, to quote the Spice Girls, "become one".
I decided the best thing to do was ask for another room and crossed the room back to the door, rehearsing in my head as I did, the conversation I was about to have with the woman on reception. My hand reached for the doorknob and twisted it but it refused to turn. I tried again but nothing. Started yanking but it wouldn't budge. Nothing left to do but PANIC. Banging on the door, screaming for someone, anyone to open the bloody door.
Back to the window. Still glued shut.
Back to the door. Wouldn't open.
Shouting. No, BELLOWING.
I was sweating, hyperventilating. I would have thrown a telly out of the window just to get some fresh air, let alone escape. This was a full-on panic attack.
Would I ever be found alive? Or dead for that matter? I was ,after all, in the remotest part of the hotel, (or so I thought).
It only took another 7 mins of fiddling with the door knob for it to suddenly spring open, whereupon I thanked God for my salvation.
My colleagues bedlinen was unchanged from the night before's previous occupant.
My other colleague had no seat on the toilet.
Still, the local bar did stay open all night, allowing me the opportunity to down enough
G and Ts to face the prospect of actually going to bed.
I went to bed at 2 am and was woken at 5 am by some girls on a hen night banging on my door under the impression that I was in their room.
On a positive note, the Leeson Lounge bar was nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cork-Crooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Certainly no frills! Good location and reasonably priced. Room small and rough around the edges, but on the plus side the bed was comfortable, sheet clean and decent bathroom with good powerful hot shower. All in all probably would consider staying there again if looking for a place to kip for a few hours after a Saturday night out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Only positive is the location. Room was too hot, tiny and overcrowded with unnecessary furniture. Bed and bed sheets were uncomfortable. Bathroom was dirty and shower door was broken. Tiles were covered in stains and half of the bathroom was unfinished. Nightclub beside the hotel meant crowds of drunken people in the street in the early hours. Staff did not inform us of secure parking at the rear when asked. Horrible experience and would not recommend this hotel. It's cheap but not cheerful. Not worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pebz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Trinity College Campus
Trinity College Campus
#74 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
My Place Dublin Hotel
#129 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Maple Hotel
#133 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#90 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#111 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeson Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeson Inn Downtown

Property: Leeson Inn Downtown
Address: 24 Lower Leeson St, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeson Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Leeson Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeson Inn Downtown Hotel Dublin
Leeson Hotel Downtown
Leeson Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing