We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buswells Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2006

We chose Buswell's because we wanted a central location without a lot of noise, and we were pleased. We walked to most of what we wanted to do, and the bus services stopped within a block for the rest. We put our car in the garage the hotel contracts with, and we felt safe with it there. Our room was large, quiet and comfortable. We ate in the bar one night, and the food, service and prices were what you expect in a hotel bar -- OK. We would stay again next time we are in Dublin.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank indenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    513
    140
    33
    14
See reviews for
284
569
84
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2006

We just returned from a lovely stay at the Buswells hotel in Dublin. We are a family of four so they accomodated us with a king size, twin and camp (roll-away) beds. The room was large so we all fit very well. The room was ready when we arrived and all set up for us. The room and bath were very clean. The hotel is nicely located accross from Trinity College and the National Museum. It is very close to Grafton street (2 blocks) with lots of places to eat and drink within a short distance. The staff was incredibley friendly and helpful. The irish breakfasts were delicious. We found the price very reasonable for what we recieved. We highly recommend the Buswell's and hope to return someday.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerLSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2006

Just returned from a two night stay in Buswells. Firstly location is great, close to Grafton St. etc.. Also, staff were excellent. However room was a disappointment. It was on the second floor, front of house. It got very warm in the room and with no air-conditioning the windows had to be open at night, but the hotel is on a busy street and the traffic noise was very loud.
The bed was a standard size and there was no bath.
Waste Water pipes, enclosed in mock walls ran down the wall right beside my husbands side of the bed and unfortunetly every flush of a toilet upstairs could be heard through the night.
On the plus side the room was quite large, very clean and shower was very powerful.
Also as other reviewers have said, when we spoke to reception we were told this is a city hotel. We have been in many city hotels but this is the first time we had problems with noise.
Overall the hotel is lovely but if staying ask for an air-conditioned room or one on the higher floors.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gg6217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

My partner and I decided to use backpacks instead of suitcases on our trip. When we walked into Buswells with our backpacks we found the staff to be extremely rude to us as if we shouldn't be staying there. Not what I was expecting from Irish hospitality!

We got put into a room which was next to the staff room which meant that it was noisy throughout the night.

The room was big and the bathroom was new and immaculately clean, so even though our welcome wasn't good, the room was comfortable.

Dinner at the hotel restaurant was excellent!!!

Location is great and it is very easy to walk to all the sites and shopping areas.

All up, I probably wouldn't choose to stay there again, but would recommend the hotel for those that are looking for a good 4 star hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front Desk Service
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Metzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

Just returned from a two night stay, have been to Dublin several times before but this was my first stay at Buswells and I won't be staying anywhere else in future. Great location, really central but away from the noisy Temple Bar area, in fact the only hotel in a fairly quiet Georgian(?) street. Lovely room with huge bed, period furniture and fireplace, impressive public rooms including a large bar area serving a wide range of very good food and an elegant restaurant where breakfast is cooked to order - a rare thing nowadays. All the staff are truly friendly with no hint of the stuffiness one might expect at such a refined hotel. If there is one criticism it is that the room (100) was not air conditioned and the weather was very hot, so it was necessary to open the windows, which allowed in a fair bit of traffic noise - but that's a minor quibble. Overall, it's a very special little hotel.

  • Liked — The warmth of the welcome
  • Disliked — Lack of air conditioning in the room
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit Kehoe's bar 5 minutes walk away
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2006

Just returned from 2 nights at Buswells, have stayed in Dublin several times before, this is the best hotel I have stayed in. Central but off the stag/hen trail. Airbus stops right outside on the inward journey and 5 mins walk away on the outward journey, well worth doing, comfortable coaches and 7 euros each way or 12 euros return.About a 1/4 of the taxi fare.
Rooms are very clean, hairdryer provided and lots of toiletries in bathroom. Good sized bathroom with very powerful shower. Whole hotel obviously recently renovated. Entrance very impressive, morning room with lots of comfortable sofas, a ready supply of free newspapers, comfortable and spacious bar. Competitively priced bar snacks.
The buffet breakfast was spectacular! Irish linen table cloths and napkins, tables well-spaced so no-one is overhearing your conversations! 4 different fresh juices,a selection of fruit, fresh and dried, cereals, croissants and pastries followed by full Irish breakfast all included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lynn2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2006

I have returned today from a three night stay at this hotel, having had a very good time. The hotel is located right next to the Parliament and you feel like you are at the heart of Irish politics. The bar is frequented by some well known Irish individuals.

Most of the attractions are within walking distance as is the hop on hop off bus service that will take you to further locations such as the Guiness Storehouse.

On the plus side:

The reception staff were excellent. They memorised my name and room number and were always pleasant.
The food at breakfast and dinner was very good.
A very good pint of guiness can be obtained in the Bar.
The room had all of the ususal amenities

On the negative side

The room (121) was rather hot.
On the Thursday night, the bar was packed.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookAssist, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing