We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of Ambience”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 12, 2009

A beautiful old style hotel with friendly staff and a great dining room and pub attached. Down side was that we must have had THE smallest room in the hotel! There was just enough room to get past the foot of the bed. The hotel walls are paper thin too so we could hear the person in the next room snoring. I believe the other rooms in the hotel are better though.
Very expensive (at about A$320 a night) for that room. We would stay there again though but would make sure at the time of booking that we had a different room.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oztraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,393 - 1,399 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2009

This hotel was excellent. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The hotel was clean, rooms were were comfortable and just what we needed for a weekend stay. Only minor gripe. The showers had curtains and not screens so taking a shower was less pleasurable than it might have been. That said I recommend this hotel. I definitely intend to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

A good hotel in a convenient spot! We were really impressed with the level of service we experienced from all the staff! The reception staff were lovely as were the staff in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner! The food in the bar offers a good choice and is nicely presented. The atmosphere is lively and you feel you are in the centre of everything.
We would recommend this hotel and look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JCMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Great hotel in a great location. Very close to Grafton Street, Trinity College and the National Museums. The room was spacious with high ceilings. Clean and tidy. Bathroom and shower were excellent. The bar was great, service was wonderful. Had breakfast each morning (included). Good mix of continental and hot breakfast. All staff were very attentive and helpful. Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Good hotel, great location. The hotel staff were fabulous and even let us check in an hour early with no charge. The breakfast was great. My husband was sick the first night and the staff bent over backwards to help.

The room was nice, but the beds were a bit hard and uncomfortable. The room itself was very stuffy even with the windows wide open. My parents had a room down the hall and their room had plenty of air flow. You could definitely hear through the walls without a problem especially when someone was in the hallway. The bathroom was fantastic with a nice, deep tub.

The location was great and everything was within easy walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a quick stay, but not for more than a couple days.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We stayed at the Buswells for five nights and were not very impressed. First, we were put in a tiny double room and, when we asked to change rooms we were told that no other doubles were available for the next three nights. Having no wireless connection and a collapsing ironing board - that needed to be exchanged when we tried to use it- did not help either.
Only when we informed them about our intention to change hotels, a bigger and nicer double room was suddenly available, and to their credit, we got complimentary wireless for the rest of our stay.
The rooms were nothing special and often not serviced before 3pm.
The most disappointing factor, however, was the staff. Each and every member of staff was completely unable to smile and we did not feel welcome at all. Despite the good location we will not be back and we are not able to recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gesitababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Stayed Saturday night the 12th July. Have stayed in this hotel before. Love it. It would be my first choice in Dublin. Yes, it is a little tired but I would be more inclined to describe it as shabby chic. Staff make the hotel. They couldn't be nicer. Perfect location for Dublin city centre. Rooms are a little small but for all the time you spend in them it doesn't really matter. As for air conditioning - this is Ireland - there isn't much call for it! Great breakfasts and best Irish coffee in Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 152 in Dublin
2,438 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 152 in Dublin
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin D02 WR98, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $163 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, BookAssist, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing