We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff but expensive for what it provides”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Small room, tiny bathroom with little room to move and I really don't like shower curtains. Clean but feels dated and a bit grubby. Traffic noise through night. Breakfast ok.
Nice bar, fires, all staff really friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Saveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Fishytale,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. All feedback is important to us as it enables us to improve on our product and the service we offer.

I do hope the next time you are in Dublin that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back. Each of our 67 bedrooms are different size and shape so please do email us and we will do our vest to allocate a more spacious room for you.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

We asked by email for a quiet room with good wifi. When we arrived our room was not ready yet, but since we were early we expected this. The lady at the front desk told us she had given us a large room. When we got to the room it certainly was big, but it was at the front of the building. Since there were roadworks going on and we were very close to the corner with Kildare Street (with lots of busses stopping and starting, from 7 in the morning) it definitely was not a quiet room. We thought about asking for another room but then we were settled and did not bring it up at reception. Our fault, but we had not expected it to be this noisy. Within hindsight we should directly have asked for a different room.
If they had given us a quiet room at the back from the beginning I would have given the hotel a 4 star rating.

The hotel itself is very nice. The staff is very friendly. We had booked a room with the full Irish breakfast so could choose a (different) egg option every morning which were made to order. We only had a drink in the bar once, no food, so I cannot comment on that.

The location is great. Very close to Trinity College, Dawson Street and Grafton Street.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are very noisy due to the busses on Kildare Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Dutchfemale,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us recently.
We appreciate all comments (good and bad) as it enables us to improve on our product and service offering.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your Full Irish Breakfast each morning - this is a great way to start the day.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here recently with 3 friends for a rugby weekend. Great location and very helpful staff. No complaints other than the prices were very expensive for rooms, food and bar - definitely taking advantage of the visiting rugby supporters, though it seems that prices in other Dublin hotels were similar for these dates. Fair enough but it still leaves you feeling you were taken advantage of.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear George H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff so helpful during your stay.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our trip to Ireland began with a two night stay at Buswells Hotel. We were three sisters traveling together and booked a triple room.
While waiting for our room to be ready (we were early for check-in) we had an excellent lunch in the hotel carvery.
Our room was overlooking Molesworth St. and while the room was a bit tight with a double and single bed (not unexpected when three in a room), the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a nice size and clean. The room did get very warm at times so we just opened the window. As mentioned in other reviews, there was street noise but that was not a problem for us.
The best amenities were the very friendly and helpful staff Throughout the hotel and its location. Easy walk to the Temple Bar area, Trinity College and Grafton Street and the Airport Bus and Hop on-Hop off bus stops were nearby also.
I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiverBirch1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear RiverBirch1106,

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us recently. I am delighted that you found our location so great for sightseeing and shopping - all just minutes from our door.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your sisters to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Just back after 5 nights in the lovely Buswells. The staff are excellent and always happy to help and we got a nice quiet room in the back after finding our initial room a bit noisy over-looking Molesworth street.

The reason I didn't give the review 5 stars is the infamous and useless WIFI system. The staff hate it as much as the guests! Please make it 21st Century for our next stay!

Room Tip: Room 97 is lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirrelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Squirrelfan,

Thank you for your lovely review and it is great to read you enjoyed another stay with us at Buswells Hotel.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you again later this year.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Family members who had previously stayed at Buswells recommended it strongly - and they were right! We'd booked a four night "long weekend" stay on bed-and breakfast basis, and I think we got real value for money.
Initial impressions on check-in were very positive. The Reception area was warm and welcoming, and we were shown to a spacious, characterful room. The whole ambience of the hotel was stylish and quirky - far removed from the blandness and uniformity of many city centre hotels.
We had asked for a quiet room - that's exactly what we got. It was well equipped, with a large bed, ample storage space, a room safe and a spacious ensuite bathroom. I had seen other reviews mention the temperamental hot water supply - we had no such problems in Room 99.
Breakfast was served in the comfortable dining room, and it was very good. Lots of choice, good quality, and with cheerful and friendly waitresses.
Buswells' location could hardly be better. we were right in the heart of the city, with so many attractions just a short walk away.
So what could have made it even better? Well, as other reviewers have noted, the wi-fi arrangements are a bit clunky. And - for a visitor from the UK - prices in the bar and restaurant seemed high - but that's a reality of Dublin, not just this very good hotel.
I would happily revisit Buswells, and i can honestly recommend its location, charm, and very helpful employees.

Room Tip: Room 99 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLonePoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear TheLonePoster,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review following your stay with us earlier this month. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed so many of Dublin's attractions on our doorstep.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in this classy hotel with great staff and central location in February 2014. I was preparing for an interview the following day, was staying on my own and requested a quiet room and a late check-out. I found all the staff to be very friendly but one person stood out for me, and that was Fionnuala, the most professional and helpful front of house person I have ever encountered. She helped make my stay both pleasant and productive and even came to my aid with a few useful printouts for my interview the following day! Absolutely wonderful service! Found the reception area warm and cosy, had a lovely single bedroom and a fabulous breakfast with all the trimmings, Buswells Hotel is an excellent hotel at all levels and I look forward to staying there again, hopefully more for leisure next time round!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gc0rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Gc0rk,
Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay with us last month. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and in particular Fionnuala.
I look forward to welcoming you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin and hopefully it will be for leisure and not work.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
2,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin D02 WR98, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $159 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, BookAssist, Agoda, Splitty, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing