We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Good hotel, great location. The hotel staff were fabulous and even let us check in an hour early with no charge. The breakfast was great. My husband was sick the first night and the staff bent over backwards to help.

The room was nice, but the beds were a bit hard and uncomfortable. The room itself was very stuffy even with the windows wide open. My parents had a room down the hall and their room had plenty of air flow. You could definitely hear through the walls without a problem especially when someone was in the hallway. The bathroom was fantastic with a nice, deep tub.

The location was great and everything was within easy walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a quick stay, but not for more than a couple days.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Buswells Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2008

We stayed at the Buswells for five nights and were not very impressed. First, we were put in a tiny double room and, when we asked to change rooms we were told that no other doubles were available for the next three nights. Having no wireless connection and a collapsing ironing board - that needed to be exchanged when we tried to use it- did not help either.
Only when we informed them about our intention to change hotels, a bigger and nicer double room was suddenly available, and to their credit, we got complimentary wireless for the rest of our stay.
The rooms were nothing special and often not serviced before 3pm.
The most disappointing factor, however, was the staff. Each and every member of staff was completely unable to smile and we did not feel welcome at all. Despite the good location we will not be back and we are not able to recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gesitababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Stayed Saturday night the 12th July. Have stayed in this hotel before. Love it. It would be my first choice in Dublin. Yes, it is a little tired but I would be more inclined to describe it as shabby chic. Staff make the hotel. They couldn't be nicer. Perfect location for Dublin city centre. Rooms are a little small but for all the time you spend in them it doesn't really matter. As for air conditioning - this is Ireland - there isn't much call for it! Great breakfasts and best Irish coffee in Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Location is excellent - within 5 minute walk of Stephen's Green and in the opposite direction, 5 min. walk to Temple Bar. (And approx. 15-20 min. walk to St. Patrick's). The front desk staff is friendly and tries to provide good service. The hotel needs some work though. The carpets are worn thin and frayed. There is no A/C in the rooms, and they are very tight, with little room to walk around the bed. There were stains on the furniture and carpets. The bathrooms are small, but new and modern.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonnaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

My wife and I had a pleasant 4 night stay at this hotel.
The location is excellent and the room was clean and reasonably large.
Staff were polite and friendly and the breakfast was fine.
However, this is an 'old style' hotel - a converted Georgian building.
The room did not have double glazing (they are probably not allowed to fit it) and there was noise from the fairly busy road at the front of the hotel. The walls are very thin - could hear people talking (even yawning) in the adjacent room. Also, pipework behind one wall sounding like fountain whenever the room above flushed their toilet/ used the shower. The bed may be regarded as quite hard by some.
However, we did get 4 good nights sleep.
Overall, a hotel with lots of plus points but a restful stay may depend on who is in the next room.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorseyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

we stayed at buswells hotel for 2 days to go and see bruce springsteen in dublin and the hotel was friendly and clean the breakfast very good the staff from the front desk to the bar staff cleaners all very polite but we must mention ralph who we asked how far away the rds arena was he went and drew a map for us to help find the way and looked after are bags and bruce was fantastic as the norm

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moretonhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Just home from our stay in Dublin and delighted I'd picked the Buswells hotel.
The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The reception staff were extremely well trained and knew their job was to know you.
The food was really good and breakfast was fantastic.
The room was good size and spacious. My only complaint was the double bed is a standard double bed and it was hard but i like a hard bed. It could of been much comfier though. It would be nice if UK & Ireland caught up and got beds like USA & canada HUGE!!
The location is great too very quiet but only 5 min walk to Grafton street and 10 mins to Temple bar area.
Overall I really enjoyed my stay at Buswells.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Teritoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $180 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, BookAssist, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing