We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Rooms, Great Location, Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Rooms, Great Location, Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Buswells our first night in Ireland. We were exhausted after an overnight flight and were so happy when we could check-in to our room early and then go explore the city. Room was beautiful...nice big, comfortable bed...dark wood furnishings...clean...pretty bathroom with tub and shower (sorry I got water on the floor when trying to master the hand held shower device)....nice pub on the premises provided wonderful, quick lunch. The photos on TripAdvisor are true and accurate. We cannot comment on the breakfast....as we were so jetlagged we slept right through the breakfast hour. Great location for walking distance to all the major city sights. St Stephens Green is truly lovely...and just down the road. Parking is provided in garage one street over from the hotel. Would definitely stay at Buswells again. They do a great job!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k8iep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
K8iegrove, thank you for your lovely comments following your stay with us earlier this month. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and made use of our facilities.
I hope that your return journey home was a pleasant one and I look forward to welcoming you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    513
    140
    33
    14
See reviews for
284
569
84
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our first time in Dublin, couldn't have chosen a better location. Within just a few blocks of Trinity College, St. Stephen's Green (gorgeous), and the National Museum just across the street. Very safe. The staff was wonderful. Special thanks to Nikki and Paddy who were so sweet to us. Our first room was very small, so after our first night they graciously changed us to a larger room which made our stay more enjoyable. The room was very clean, everything worked well. Breakfast was truly a lovely experience, with buffet as well as cooked to order. Great selection.
The lobby was comfortable, open, and conducive to chatting with other guests. Good restaurants close by. Didn't need the A/C, did appreciate the free WiFi.

Room Tip: The two rooms were on the second level, one facing the street (no problem with noise), the second fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Celti, Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay with us recently. I am delighted that we could accommodate you during your stay with us and I have passed your lovely comments to all our staff especially Vicki and Paddy.
Our location is so great - only minutes walk from so many great attractions in the city.

I look forward to welcoming you to Buswells Hotel should you return to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times over the years. Still a lovely hotel decorated with its Georgian origins in mind. It's in a great, central location and is good value for money.

Bit of a grumble about service at breakfast - the employee put us virtually in the doorway, which we accepted as we were told there were no other tables available; discovered very quickly that there were in fact empty tables. This was attempted again the following morning, but we insisted and were put at a nice table - although this seemed to cause a little friction between two members of staff. Would still recommend Buswells though, as we have never encountered this sort of thing there before.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Buswells Hotel. I am delighted to read how much you enjoy your stays with us.
I have spoken with our Restaurant Manager with regards to your comments about breakfast and I would like to assure you that this is not our normal practice.
I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Buswell's Hotel is a good value for your money. You can't beat the location in Dublin, near Grafton Street, Trinity College and St. Stephen's Square. Lots of good restaurants in the area as well. Room was well appointed and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenkins_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you Jenkins_2004 for your lovely comments following your stay with us last month. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and of our great location.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. It's a lovely place located near Trinity College in Dublin. This places it with a short walk of many of the tourists spots in the heart of the city. The hotel is located on a quite street. The staff is very helpful and polite. The accommodations were neat and clean. We enjoyed our stay here and gladly consider it again the next time we are in Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you Whiskersr for your lovely comments following your stay with us last month. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our central location suited your requirements.

I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It had been a long time since I'd last visited Dublin, but I felt right at home as soon as I checked in - when the smiling lady who handed me my room key said my first name in her lovely Dublin accent. Buswell's is a simply wonderful place to stay in central Dublin. My single room was just a bit cozy, but very comfortable with a really nice bathroom. The hotel is lovely, the staff couldn't have been nicer and the breakfast was very good. I enjoyed several nice pints of Guinness at the hotel bar as well. Will surely return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omsibuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you Omsibuc for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and sampled some of our local drink.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

this was a great spot for touring on foot with easy access to Temple Bar area. It was quite near a bus stop so we were able to use the inexpensive option of blue Air coach from airport. Its very walkable also Good close to the Hop on/off buses and to a Fixx coffee shop on the corner. Many pubs and restaurants in the area too.
We found the staff very helpful and the rooms comfortable, clean and quiet.
Service and food at the hotel is quite good and everyone should try the big Irish breakfast!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you Linda A for your lovely comments. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Buswells Hotel and especially our Full Irish Breakfast.
We are so lucky with our location - in the centre of Dublin city and walking distance to so many shops and attractions.
I hope that your return journey to Toronto was a pleasant one and to welcome you to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and BookAssist so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing