We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and located near Trinity College & other sites”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is located just a few blocks from everything. It also in a nice part of town that allows you to walk to most attractions. As you can see from the pictures it is very nice and the breakfast was well done, and it has a bar for night time social hour. We were with a Rick Steves tour and so I don’t know the price, but for a nice place to stay, with good staff, it was great.

Room Tip: It is on a side street and is not noisy. Second floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you Voyles for your lovely review following your recent stays with us at Buswells Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and found our locations so central and our staff so accommodating.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great location. Small room, quite dated but clean. Lady on the front desk didn't have the typical Irish charm we are used too. A lot of stairs to get to our room. Relatively happy with our stay otherwise.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Laura B, thank you for taking the time to post this review following your stay with us at Buswells Hotel.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and our service and accommodations did not meet your expectations.

Thank you again for your comments and I would hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel again.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights was lovely hotel. Fantastic location. The room was a bit small and bathroom not the best. It's bar was delightful and very comfortable. But our favourite part was the restaurant very quiet but the food was amazing and the waiter Benjamin was absolutely lovely. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler12345D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us at Buswells Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal in Trumans Restaurant and I have passed your comments to Benjamin.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you to Buswells Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent the first three nights of our first trip to Ireland at Buswells. It was a wonderful experience. We got there before our room was ready, so they graciously stored our luggage. When we did get to our room, we found a nice room, with a very comfy bed and a large bath. The hotel is centrally located to Trinity College, Gafton Street, St. Stephens Green and the Temple Bar area. The staff are very hospitable and assisted us with restaurant locations, train station, etc. I would recommend staying in this hotel. I would however, skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Scnickel, thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read how much guests enjoy our great location and wonderful staff.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

booked 2 rooms in hotel (twin and triple). great location for shopping in grafton street, and near all the chic bars and bistros. no need for taxis and very safe area of the city to stay in. Its an old hotel but it has charm and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The view out to the Dail Eireann is beautiful but can be quiet noisy with street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for talking the time to post this review following your recent stay. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our great location.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely old style well located hotel with character in the centre of Dublin with friendly atmosphere. Located behind Grafton St and close to Temple Bar. Long-term and experienced hotel staff who are all very professional, helpful and friendly. Stayed here several times and never disappoints. Bar food very good and served up to 9pm. Tea and Coffee making facilities provided in the rooms. Def worth a visit if you enjoy old style charm and character. Large family rooms available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMLIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

BMLIreland, thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us recently. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoy your stays with us. Our location is great - so near Grafton Street and many attractions.

I am delighted that you enjoy our bar food and our old style charm and character.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Recently returned from a trip to Dublin with my husband and 3 adult daughters. We stayed at Buswell's for 3 nights. It is an older hotel with an old style charm and it is located in a very safe, quiet neighborhood. We got 2 triple rooms which were spacious with decent sized bathrooms. The wifi worked adequately well. There were no complaints from anyone in our party. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skiqueenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you Skiqueenbee for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to Buswells Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,402 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
1.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin D02 WR98, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $165 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookAssist, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing