We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First night in Ireland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #23 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First night in Ireland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent the first three nights of our first trip to Ireland at Buswells. It was a wonderful experience. We got there before our room was ready, so they graciously stored our luggage. When we did get to our room, we found a nice room, with a very comfy bed and a large bath. The hotel is centrally located to Trinity College, Gafton Street, St. Stephens Green and the Temple Bar area. The staff are very hospitable and assisted us with restaurant locations, train station, etc. I would recommend staying in this hotel. I would however, skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Scnickel, thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read how much guests enjoy our great location and wonderful staff.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    512
    140
    33
    14
See reviews for
284
569
83
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

booked 2 rooms in hotel (twin and triple). great location for shopping in grafton street, and near all the chic bars and bistros. no need for taxis and very safe area of the city to stay in. Its an old hotel but it has charm and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The view out to the Dail Eireann is beautiful but can be quiet noisy with street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for talking the time to post this review following your recent stay. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our great location.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Buswells Hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely old style well located hotel with character in the centre of Dublin with friendly atmosphere. Located behind Grafton St and close to Temple Bar. Long-term and experienced hotel staff who are all very professional, helpful and friendly. Stayed here several times and never disappoints. Bar food very good and served up to 9pm. Tea and Coffee making facilities provided in the rooms. Def worth a visit if you enjoy old style charm and character. Large family rooms available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMLIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
BMLIreland, thank you for your lovely review following your stay with us recently. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoy your stays with us. Our location is great - so near Grafton Street and many attractions.

I am delighted that you enjoy our bar food and our old style charm and character.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Recently returned from a trip to Dublin with my husband and 3 adult daughters. We stayed at Buswell's for 3 nights. It is an older hotel with an old style charm and it is located in a very safe, quiet neighborhood. We got 2 triple rooms which were spacious with decent sized bathrooms. The wifi worked adequately well. There were no complaints from anyone in our party. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skiqueenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you Skiqueenbee for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back again to Buswells Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Buswells Hotel in Dublin. The location is great for walking to all the major sights of interest to tourists. Our room was comfortable and quiet at night. We ate dinner both nights in the hotel restaurant as the first night was so good, we came back for more the second night. I liked the small scale of the hotel, nice lounge/bar area and convenience of being an easy walk to sight see. We felt it was a very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LRSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you LRSSeattle for taking the time to post this lovely review following your recent stay with us at Buswells Hotel.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and found our location so central. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal in Trumans and were happy with your accommodations.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you to Buswells Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Last summer several friends and I stayed at Buswells, having spent a couple of weeks in Spain and on our way to a week in Northern Ireland. We couldn't get two doubles so we got triples for the same price and that was great-a big bed and a smaller one. I had the smaller one and it was fine. The guest rooms have an old world charm. The hotel has the perfect location-close to everything. The staff were very helpful and answered all our questions graciously and made excellent recommendations. The public rooms are beautiful and breakfast was excellent!

We had a wonderful weekend in Dublin, going to River Dance where it all began as well as and getting to sit in at a traditional Irish pub with penny whistles etc. We loved all the music on the streets, the gorgeous buildings (especially the colourful doors) and there is just so much to see and do, a weekend is obviously not enough!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgkVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you mgkVancouver for writing this review following your stay with us last summer. It is great to read how much you enjoyed your short stay with us.
I am always delighted to read how much guests enjoy our old world charm, our great location and wonderful staff.

Hopefully we can welcome you to Buswells Hotel again if you return to Dublin.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for the Heineken Cup Final and booked nearly a year in advance. Turned out to be a great choice. The hotel has an olde world charm but doesn't feel dated, and the building itself is beautiful. The location is top notch for seeing all the sights Dublin has to offer. Breakfast was great, full Irish just had to be done. We didn't spend huge amounts of time in the hotel other than sleeping and breakfast, we were either in the pub or watching the rugby, so I can't really comment on the bar or restaurant. However I'm sure they're up to the same standard as the rest of the hotel. All the staff were great but a special mention has to be made of the reception staff. They helped us out when we needed it, above and beyond what we'd asked for, and even printed our boarding passes for our return flight for us! They are diamonds, I hope you appreciate what you have there! I'd have no hesitation in recommending Buswells and I know where we'll be staying next time we're in Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanny253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Swanny253, thank you for your wonderful review following your stay with us last weekend. I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend in Dublin and hope you enjoyed the rugby.
We are so lucky with our location - so central to a lot of tourist attractions and shopping.

It is great to read that our reception staff assisted you during your stay and could help with your printing - I have passed your lovely comments onto them.

I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Buswells Hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallagher,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
South City Centre
Harding Hotel
Harding Hotel
#27 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Property: Buswells Hotel
Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and BookAssist so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing