We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Dublin”
Review of Buswells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buswells Hotel
Ranked #24 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Staff and cleanliness first class. Well positioned in the centre of Dublin. Would definitely come back, although friends thought the double rooms a bit small - hey you can't have everything! The bar was great with a real local buzz, breakfast okay.

Room Tip: Go for a triple room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Damian C, Thank you for your recent review of Buswells Hotel.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us last month and we hope we will haev the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
There are newer reviews for Buswells Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is lovely, the rooms are basic and a kind of have an 80's feel to them. The food is only OK, not much imagination but reasonable priced. The wonderful think about this hotel are the staff, they are extremely helpful and customer focused, I would go back for them alone. So if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Dublin with real charm and wonderful service, than this is your hotel. It gets 5 stars for their staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrasnaCH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

TrasnaCH2010, thank you for taking the time to give your feedback following your recent stay at Buswells Hotel. All comments are important to us as it enables us to improve on our product & service that we offer.
I am delighted to read how impressed you were with all our staff.
I hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you to Buswells Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at Buswells Hotel for two nights. The location is excellent - very close to several of Dublin's museums and galleries and also to the main shoppping centre. The hotel itself I would say is OK - it's in a lovely building and has very friendly staff but looks a little tired in places. My room was small and not that warm, but it was quiet, the bed was very comfortable and the shower good. Breakfast was again OK - a nice choice of fresh and stewed dried fruits, but the sausaas and bacon weren't thrilling and, the second morning I was there, both the orange juice and the soda bread had run out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
We look foreard to welcoming you back in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The good stuff - Great location! Close to the museums, the Temple Bar and Grafton Street shopping area. Close to a gazillion restaurants. Close to transit. Good walking neighborhood.

The stuff needing attention - No heat in the rooms during the day. The wifi is iffy, at best, and overly complicated to connect - basically, the wifi sucks. The parking options are encumbered - hotel supported parking is only good for the overnight and does not work during the day. Day parking is EXPENSIVE!!! The place is worn - carpets are bare, plumbing/fixtures are jerry-rigged to keep functioning. The concierge does not know what he is doing - he gave us directions to the Dublin airport after we said SHANNON (and he even said "here's how to get on the road to Shannon") - we went one block, figured out it was way wrong, circled around to the hotel and asked again. He acknowledged we had been given the wrong directions.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay at Buswells Hotel. All comments are important to us as it enables us to improve on our product and service that we offer.
I am delighted that you found our location so convenient to many attractions and restaurants.
It is regretful to read that you did not fully enjoy your time with us and were given wrong directions. We have started the refurbishment of our rooms and hope to have it completed by early next year which will include new carpets.
I sincerely hope that you do choose to stay with us again in the future.

Your sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a very traditional hotel - some would say "old fashioned". The ambiance was wonderful - particulalry with the Christmas decorations on display. Breakfast was a treat - the "full Irish" did not disappoint. I have a dietary difficultyand staff in the restaurant were very helpful with departures from the menu. The location is excellent for shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time and I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.

Your sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We came to Dublin to celebrate our daughter's 16th birthday and we had such a wonderful time. Buswell's was a perfect spot. It is centrally located within walking distance to many attractions and by both the Hop on and the Aircoach buses. The staff at the front desk were very accommodating about booking tours, restaurant referrals and reservations and helping decipher the phone numbers of our Irish relatives. Our room very comfortably accomodated the three of us. We pre-paid for delicious Irish breakfasts in the morning and had afternoon tea by the fireplace. We had a special time and would definitely stay at Buswells when we return to Dublin.

Room Tip: We had a room with a double and a single bed facing the street (#218) and it was very roomy and comf...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3littlebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review of your recent stay at Buswells Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to the good food and servcie you experienced during your stay. I am so glad that you all had such a lovely time and found our location so convenient to many attractions.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Buswells Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Your sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel and although it is a little tired and could do with some redecoration it is a great hotel and in a superb location. From the moment we checked in the reception staff were superb and were very helpful. Our room was very large and comfortable and I agree with other reviews the plumbing for the shower was a bit hit and miss although the water for the bath was boiling and plentiful. The room was always warm as the heating was superb. The only complaint was the lighting which was very dull in the bedroom but was fine in the bathroom. Breakfast was great and you could have what you wanted by way of hot food. All in all this hotel is fantastic value for money and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulGallagherMngr, General Manager at Buswells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Lynn G, thank you for your recent review of Buswells Hotel. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our location and staff superb.
I hope you had a great visit to Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Yours sincerely,
Paul Gallagher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
0.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buswells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buswells Hotel

Address: Molesworth House 23-27 Molesworth Street | City Centre - Stephens Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $180 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buswells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buswells is centrally located, a short stroll from St. Stephen's Green, Trinity College, Grafton Street and many other visitor attractions. Relax and unwind after a long day in the busy city in our lounge. Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, BookAssist, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buswells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buswells Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing